« PreviousContinue »
November 11, 1621. His father Henry sent him to University College, Oxford, in 1639, where he proceeded B.A. in 1642, and M.A. in 1648, when he was elected a Fellow.
He married Jane daughter of Dr. Simpson, who resigned his benefice in favour of his son-in-law. Tonge took the degree of D.D. in 1656. It is said that being "much vexed with factious Parishioners and Quakers" he vacated Pluckley. He afterwards settled at Islington, and Lentwarden, and subsequently at St. Mary's Stayning, with St. Michael's, Wood Street, retaining the two last till his death. He was the first to inform the King of Oates's plot in 1678, having been told thereof by Titus.
Ezrael Tonge died December 18, 1680, and was buried at St. Mary's Stayning. Letters of administration were granted to his brother John Tonge, January 1681 (f. 14).
Dr. Tonge studied chronology and alchymy, and wrote A Short Compendium of Grammar; The Royal Martyr; The Jesuits Unmasked; Observations on Sap in Trees, etc.
(Repertorium, by R. Newcourt, i., 458; Athene Oxon., by A. A. Wood, ii., 671.)
1657. THOMAS DAFFY, was admitted June 17, 1657, upon a nomination from His Highness the Lord Protector under his seal manual, and certificates from thirteen gentlemen whose names appear in the Book of Admissions to Benefices, now at Lambeth. The same document mentions that Pluckley had been sequestered from Mr. Copley. The appointment of Daffy was ignored by the Archbishop, because when John Bargrave was inducted into the Rectory of Pluckley in 1662, it is stated that the benefice was vacant by the death of John Copley, the last incumbent.
(Augmentation of Livings, Lib. 998, 55; Sufferings of Clergy, by Jo. Walker, ii., 330.)
1662. JOHN BARGRAVE, S.T.D., who had received his education at Peter House, Cambridge, was collated by Archbishop Juxon, July 3, 1662 (f. 134 a); and in September of the same year admitted a Canon in Canterbury Cathedral. From 1660-1670 he was Rector of Harbledown. Dr. Bargrave married Mrs. Frances Osborne, a widow, March 26, 1665, at Canterbury Cathedral He resigned Pluckley in 1676, and died May 11th, buried 13th, 1680, at the age of 70 years. A marble stone marks the place of his burial in Canterbury Cathedral:
NORTH CROSS OR MARTYRDOM, N.W. TRAnsept.
Hic asservantur exuviæ
JOHANNIS BARGRAUE, S.T.D., hujus
Qui Obiit XI die Maij. MDCLXXX,
By his will he desires to be buried in the earth, and the chain which he took from one of the English slave's legs that he redeemed, he orders to be hung aloft over his grave. Mentions his nephews Isaac and Robert Bargrave. May 28, 1680. (Consist. at Canterbury Registry, LIV., 481.)
Describes herself as
Frances Bargrave, his widow, was buried August 26, 1686. Her will was proved August 30, 1686 (lv., 227). widow of John Bargrave, the late prebendary. in the Cathedral, near her father Sir John Wild. sisters Dame Anne Willis and Elizabeth Wilde, and pictures of herself and her two husbands.
(Wood's Ath., ii., 152; Walker, ii., 152; Ped., Berry's Kent, 2 ; Arch. Cant., IV., 252.)
1676. NATHANIEL COLLINGTON, M.A., was Incumbent of Godmersham in 1663, this he resigned for Kenardington. Was afterwards collated, November 7th, 1662, to Tenterden, then "a parish much corrupted." He is spoken of as "a very good man (Cat. of Benefices Lamb. Lib., MS. 1126, 38). Was collated to Pluckley by Archbishop Sheldon, February 24, 1676 (373a; Inductions, f. 36). Whilst Vicar of Tenterden, being then a widower, he married December 22, 1663, Catherine Becknam, a widow, of Berstead
A flat monument at one time existed in the chancel: "To the memory of Nathaniel Collington, who was Rector of this parish 63 years, and died 1735, aged 93." There is apparently a mistake on the monument, as Mr. Collington held the Rectory 59 years. He was buried in woollen. This entry is found in the Parish Register : "1735. The Revd Mr Nathaniel Collington, Rector of Pluckly, dy'd December 14th, and was buried the 18th of the same month. Etat. 93" ("Parsons' Monuments," Gent. Mag., v., 737; Hist. Reg., xxi., 9).
1735. JOHN HEAD., D.D., youngest son of Sir Francis Head, Bart., of Canterbury, matriculated at Christ Church College, Oxford, in 1719, at the age of seventeen. Was ordained deacon in 1727, and priest in 1728, and in the following year appointed to St. George Martyr, and St. Mary Magdalene, Canterbury, and 1729 to Woodnesborough. With these he held Pluckley, to which he was collated December 29, 1735 (Wake, 276 b). Was presented to a prebendary at Hereford and to a canonry at Canterbury in
1759. The following year he was appointed to Ickham, when he resigned Pluckley, also his benefices at Canterbury. He held the Rectory of Ickham from 1760 to 1769. On the death of his brother Sir Francis Head he succeeded to the title of Baronet. He was also installed Archdeacon of Canterbury in 1748.
He married, first, Jane, daughter of Rev. Peter Leigh; and, secondly, in 1751, Jane, sister of Wm. Geekie, D.D., prebend of Canterbury. He died s.p. December 4, 1769, and was buried at Ickham (Hasted, xii., 74, 594). His burial is thus recorded: "Dec. 11. The Revd Sir John Head, Baronet, D.D., Archdeacon and Prebendary of Canterbury and Rector of this Parish, aged 68." In his will dated 1766, and proved December 12, 1769, by his widow, he describes himself as "Archdeacon of Canterbury, and desires to be buried in the family vault at Ickham" (Bogg, 417: P.C.C.).
(Act Books, viii., 45; ix., 365, 390; Lamb. Lib.; Cant. Cath., by J. Duncombe, 137; Gent. Mag., v., 738; Le Neve Fasti, i., 52; Arch. Cant., XIV., 132.)
1760. JOHN FROST, M.A., son of John Frost of Granby, co. Notts, was nephew to Archbishop Secker, and his chaplain. At the age of twenty-one he matriculated at Exeter College, Oxford, in 1740, taking his B.A. in 1743, and M.A. in 1746. Already possessed of Bishopsbourne with Barham, Frost applied for a dispensation to hold Pluckley, to which he was collated by his uncle June 23, 1760 (Inductions, 216). Mr. Frost held this benefice till his death, April 28, 1765. The Parish Register at Bishopsbourne contains this entry:-"The Rev. John Frost, A.M., Rector of this parish, was buried May 1, 1765."
(Acts, ix., 391; Lamb. Lib.; Gent. Mag., xxx., 347, xxxv., 247.) 1765. WILLIAM JONES, M.A., F.R.S., was the son of Morgan Jones, a Welsh gentleman, and became eminent as a man of letters. At the age of eighteen he matriculated at University College, Oxford, where he graduated B.A. in 1749, and afterwards took the degree of M.A. at Sydney College, Cambridge. Was ordained priest in 1751 by the Bishop of Lincoln, when he accepted the Curacy of Finedon, and a few years later that of Wadenhoe, where he married Mary daughter of Rev. Nathaniel Bridges. Archbishop Secker collated Jones to the Vicarage of Bethersden, and two years afterwards preferred him in 1765 to Pluckley. After holding it thirteen years he resigned to take the Rectory of Paston, Northamptonshire. He is best known as Jones of Nayland, Suffolk, where he died January 6, 1800, aged 75 years. Davy in his MS. gives a pedigree of his family.
STOKE BY NAYLAND. IN CHANCEL, N. WALL.
In sure and certain hope of the resurrection to eternal life,
The Remains of the Revd WILLIAM JONES, M.A.,
and Perpetual Curate of this Parish,
who resteth from a Life of unwearied labour
in the service of God, and the church,
His good deeds will be had in remembrance and his various writings will be read and admired as long as Wisdom, Honour, and Truths are held in esteem amongst Mankind.
Here also rest the remains of ELIZABETH his wife,
Arms below. (Arch. Cant., XVI., 93.)
The whole of his writings were published in 12 vols. in 1801. Bishop Horsley in his Charges said, "He had, beyond any other man I ever knew, the talent of writing upon the deepest subjects to the plainest understandings."
Among his most celebrated works were: The Catholic Doctrine of the Trinity; Dissertations upon Life and Death; Sermons on Moral and Religious Subjects; Memoirs of the Life of Bishop Horne.
(Imp. Dic. of Univ. Biog., iii.; Davy MS., Brit. Mus.; Add. MS. 19,137; Anti-Jacobin Review, vii., 439, 459-462; Noble's House of Cromwell, i., 402; St. James's Chron., January 8, 1842.)
1777. WILLIAM DISNEY, D.D.; B.A. 1753; M.A. 1756; ordained deacon in 1754, and priest in 1758, by Matthias Manson, Bishop of Ely; was collated by Archbishop Cornwallis, July 24, 1777, to Pluckley, void by the cession of William Jones. Wa as Regius Professor of Hebrew at Cambridge 1757-1771.
(Acts, xi., 163; Lamb. Lib.)
1807. CHARLES BARTON, D.D., ordained deacon in 1789 by the Bishop of Gloucester, and priest the following year by the Bishop of Oxford. Was collated to Pluckley June 8, 1807. He had previously held the Rectory of Halstead, Kent, having been appointed thereto in 1806. Barton resigned Pluckley in 1816.
(Acts, xiii., 259, 296; Lamb. Lib.; Inductions, f. 28; Lib. Inst. Record Office, iii., 75.)
1816. CHOLMELEY EDWARD JOHN DERING, M.A., only child
of Cholmeley Dering of Brighton, and grandson of Sir Edward Dering, the sixth Baronet, was born March 18, 1790. He was educated at Eton, and afterwards at Christ Church, Oxford, where he graduated B.A. in 1812, and M.A. in 1815. Was ordained deacon in 1813 by Bishop of Salisbury, and priest the following year. He acted as curate at Pluckley, and was collated to the Rectory September 4th, 1816. The following year he married Maria Price.
In 1819 a Faculty was granted to remove the old Rectory, which was then near a public-house, and erect the present one.
Mr. Dering was a county magistrate, also a prebendary of St. Paul's, and chaplain to King William IV. and Queen Victoria. After holding Pluckley for thirty-two years, he died at the Rectory August 12th, 1848, in the fifty-eighth year of his age, leaving a widow, two sons Cholmeley Edward and Edward Heneage, also a daughter Maria, who married July 27th, 1848, Rev. John Branfill Harrison, late Rector of Great Mongeham. Both Mr. and Mrs. Dering are buried at Pluckley, where there is a tablet to their memory.
Mr. Dering was author of several works: Sermons; Poems, entitled, Bygone Hours; Sketches of Human Life; and Sacred Melodies; all published in 1842.
(Pedigree of Dering, Arch. Cant., X., 327; Berry, 400.)
The Parish Register thus records his burial: "1848. Cholmeley Edward John Dering, Pluckley, buried August 19, 58 years, by Julius Deedes, Vicar of Marden."
1848. ASHTON OXENDEN, Right Reverend Bishop, D.D., like his predecessor, was descended from a very old Kentish family. From the History of my Life (published 1891), one of Bishop Oxenden's numerous works, it appears he was born September 28, 1808, at Broome Park, Kent, where he spent the first thirty years of his life. His father Sir Henry Oxenden had twelve children. In 1821 or 1822 Ashton went to Harrow, and in 1827 at the age of nineteen was entered at University College, Oxford. B.A. 1831; M.A. 1859; D.D. 1869. He was ordained 1833 to the Curacy of Barham, where he undertook the sole charge till 1840. Health however failed, and he remained silent for seven years, In 1848 Archbishop Sumner presented him to Pluckley, the squire of which was the late Sir Edward Dering, a Harrow schoolfellow.
Mr. Oxenden married at Bournemouth, June 14th, 1864, Sarah daughter of Joseph Hoare Bradshaw, by whom he had a daughter,