« PreviousContinue »
was bought in Lichfield, where there was a Franciscan priory; but tradition says that it was once in the cathedral. The panels are finely carved out of the solid, and the tracery is of the Flamboyant character. GILBERT T. ROYDS.
Haughton Rectory, Stafford.
[We understand that the Rector of Haughton only bought the pulpit to save it from baser uses, and would be glad to dispose of it to anyone who would place it in a church.-ED.]
THE NAME-WORD " EDINBURGH."
My attention has been called to a notice, in the July number of the Antiquary, of a criticism of a paper of mine on the name-word "Edinburgh" in the Proceedings of the Antiquarian Society of Scotland for last year. You say that it is an "awkward fact that the oldest charters spell the words Eduinesburg, Edenesburg, and Edensburg, oftener than Edenburg, Edinburc, and Edynburg." That is a question of fact which you raise, not a matter of opinion, and can only be decided by a reference to the charters themselves. Now, the fact is that the charters tell us the very opposite of what you assert. The oldest charters contained in the chartularies of Holyrood, Dunfermline, and Newbotle, decide the whole question. In the chartulary of Holy. rood, the name-word for Edinburgh during David I.'s reign, Edwinsburgh, is only used in one, the foundationcharter granted in 1145, and three times Edenes, and three times Edeneburc. In the Dunfermline chartulary in David's time, when the name-word of Edinburgh is used, it is spelt six times Edenburg, and only once in a charter, near the close of that king's reign, Edenesburg. In the Newbotle chartulary, in David's time, the word is spelt four times Edeneburg, and two of these charters give us the dates 1140 and 1141, several years before the date of the foundation charter of Holyrood. The Dunfermline chartulary is unquestionably the oldest of the three, and it is always Edenburg. The result is, without going into the charters of a later date, that in those three chartularies, the oldest in existence, when the word occurs we have Edwinsburg and Edenesburg only five times, and Edenburg and Edensburg no fewer than thirteen times. The fact is patent on the face of the charters that Edwins and Edenes were forms of spelling introduced only after the old name Edenburg had been used for a long series of years; in the case of the foundation charter, the only charter in which the word Edwin is used, some sixteen years after David began to reign. You include Edensburc as one of the oldest forms of spelling, and it does not occur until late in King William's reign, and there may be some difficulty in finding it again.
Where and when is Eden used for King Edwin ?
8, Belle Vue Terrace, Edinburgh.
[Reply from the writer of the critique in October ssue.-ED.]
During the past month another instance of low sidewindow has come under my notice in a Shropshire church, that of Culmington, in the southern part of the county, about five miles from Ludlow. The window in question is situated, as usual, on the south side of the chancel, which, it may be remarked, is separated from the nave by an interesting oak screen of Perpendicular work. It is square in shape, and lies immediately under and in line with a very pointed lancet of Early English work, with which its masonry agrees in character, and appears to be coeval. It is entirely built up and hidden from the inside, but outside it is still fitted with an iron grating. Immediately to the east, in the interior, is a recess for a tomb.
As I am writing on the subject, may I add to your list of such windows in Derbyshire, which appeared in the Antiquary for May, the particulars of one at Church Broughton, which was brought to light when the church was restored a short time ago? In this case, the situation of the window is, as usual, near the south-west corner of the chancel, but its peculiarity is, that in shape it is a quatrefoil, and it has been partially closed by an outside tomb recess of later work. It is so small, that if used for the purpose of a sanctus bell, the ringing must have taken place inside. THOMAS AUDEN, M.A., F.S.A.
Shrewsbury, July 23, 1890.
Manuscripts cannot be returned unless stamps are enclosed.
Foreign and Colonial contributors are requested to remember that stamps of their own country are not available for use in England.
It would be well if those proposing to submit MSS. would first write to the Editor stating the subject and manner of treatment.
Whilst the Editor will gladly be of any assistance he can to archæologists on archæological subjects, he desires to remind certain correspondents that letters containing queries can only be inserted in the "ANTIQUARY" if of general interest, or on some new subject; nor can he undertake to reply privately, or through the ANTIQUARY," to questions of the nature that sometimes reach him. During the past month the Editor has been asked to furnish receipts for removing stains from linen, for restoring faded pencil drawings, and for making bread seals!
Communications for the Editor should be addressed "Antiquary, Barton-le-Street, Malton."
Notes of the Month.
THE Society of Antiquaries of Scotland is doing good work in circulating a "Preliminary List of Sculptured Stones older than A.D. 1100, with symbols and Celtic ornament, in Scotland." The object of the Council of the Society in circulating this list is to obtain information about new stones not as yet known to archæologists, and also about stones included in the list that have been lost, moved, or destroyed. It is intended to be preparatory to the complete descriptive catalogue of the early sculptured stones of Scotland, to which the funds of the growing fellowship have been devoted for the next two years. This rough catalogue has been compiled by Mr. J. Romilly Allen, and includes three classes of monuments (1) boulders, slabs, or pillars, with symbols incised; (2) crosses, cross-slabs, or recumbent copedstones, with symbols and Celtic ornament sculptured in relief; and (3) crosses, crossslabs, or recumbent coped-stones, with Celtic ornament, but without symbols. The list is arranged in counties; the total of the monuments enumerated is one hundred and eightyeight.
Mr. J. Romilly Allen, who is now busy with his survey of the sculptured stones of Scotland north of the Dee, has discovered a new inscribed stone amongst some geological specimens at Invergordon Castle. The inscription is in capitals of the same form as those in the Irish Gospels of the best period, say, eighth century. Only a fragment re
The collection of portraits of the Bishops of Carlisle at Rose Castle does not include one of William Nicolson, Bishop of Carlisle 17021718, Bishop of Londonderry 1718-1726, Archbishop of Cashel 1726, in which year he died. This hiatus is now likely to be supplied; a portrait of the bishop is in possession of his descendant, Colonel Lindesay, who proposes to send it over from Ireland to Rose Castle, in order that a copy may be made. This offer the present Bishop of Carlisle has accepted, and a second copy will probably be made for Queen's College, Oxford. It is also contemplated to reproduce the picture as frontispiece to Bishop Nicolson's diaries, now being edited for publication by Mrs. Henry Ware. These diaries are most interesting reading: they are so vivid that their readers get into touch with the writer, and feel that he is but little divided from the present day, and yet he records how, as Archdeacon Nicolson, he was presented at Windsor to Charles II., whom he calls optime regum.
Owing to the persistent inclemency of the weather, the excavations projected by Lord Muncaster and the Cumberland and Westmorland Antiquarian Society at the Roman fort of Hardknott, in South-west Cumberland, have had to be abandoned for this year at least. In our January number we reported a preliminary experiment made in October last under the direction of Mr. SwainsonCowper, F.S.A. Another was made this spring under Sir Herbert Maxwell, who had some ten men at work for three days, and found great quantities of Roman pottery and relics. It was intended to have seriously tackled the job this August after Parliament rose, but when Lord Muncaster and Chancellor Ferguson met to make arrangements,
they found the camp, which, though very high above sea-level, is in a hollow, soaked with water like a peat-bog; any excavations would have been at once drowned out, while heavy and blinding rain-squalls were ever sweeping over its exposed area. Under these circumstances it was decided to abandon operations for this year, and to try and make a systematic start early next spring. The exposed situation and its remoteness from habitations render the undertaking difficult, and the daily getting to and fro will take up much time; it will probably be expedient to form some sort of camp or shelter.
We are pleased to be able to say that the movement, which we mentioned in our April number, to rescue from destruction Tullie House, Carlisle, has been successful; the house has been purchased by public subscription, and presented to the town on condition of adopting the Free Libraries Act. This was done unanimously at a large meeting of ratepayers, and the matter is now in the hands of the Corporation of Carlisle, who propose to utilize Tullie House as a museum, and to build in its ample grounds accommodation for a free library, school of art, picture gallery, etc. So soon as the museum is ready for their reception, Mr. Robert Ferguson, F.S.A., of Morton, will present to the town his invaluable collection of pre-historic, Roman, and other antiquities, found in Cumberland and Westmorland, and now at his residence at Morton. Other people will probably follow this generous example.
The Newcastle Society of Antiquaries has lost through death another distinguished member, at the ripe age of 73. Mr. Robert Spence, banker, was a courteous, charitable, and well-known member of the Society of Friends. As an antiquary he was a diligent and discriminating collector of coins, engravings, autographs, and rare books. His residence at North Shields is described as "a very museum." His extensive collection of manuscripts included, among others of special value, many original writings of George Fox, the founder of the Quakers.
Linkinhorne, near Collington. The Western Morning News says that in peeling off the layers of white lime from the south wall, portions of texts, in old black letters, surrounded by scrolls, were noticed, and below these again indications of coloured figures; and on a careful and complete removal of these outer surfaces a life-size figure of our Lord was disclosed, with groups of smaller figures at each side and beneath His feet, representing the seven acts of mercy-to give food to the hungry, drink to the thirsty, clothing to the naked, harbour to the homeless, to visit the sick, to minister to prisoners, to "berry (the) ded." The groups with the words on labels above are imperfect, and have not yet been fully identified. The act of clothing and that of visiting prisoners seem to be included in one picture. The legends appear to be all in English. The dispenser of mercy in every act (excepting the last, in which a priest with a tonsure appears) is a woman in the dress of an abbess, with a peculiar bag at her waist, sometimes called a "gipsy bag." The figure of our Lord, under a canopy or tent, against a diapered background, is finely outlined. He is represented with a nimbus (enclosing a cross) surrounding His head, and with wounded side, hands, and feet. His bleeding hands are uplifted as if in blessing (“Ye have done it unto Me"), and the symbolical treatment of the subject throughout is of much interest. The fresco (for such, no doubt, it is, although executed on only a thin coat of plaster, and in a manner very different from Italian frescoes) is probably only one of a series which occupied the spaces between the door and window openings of the south aisle; indeed, further west is a portion of another painting, the subject of which has not yet been made out, and which was covered by the post-Reformation lettering alluded to. The words "King James" probably fix the exact period of this latter treatment. There can be little doubt that the frescoes are of the same date as the aisle itself (circa 1380), and that they are on the original plastered surfaces of the masonry.
Oxford, with reference to Silchester as possessing the only Roman forum to be seen in Britain, which was quoted in the last number of the Antiquary. He points out that every pilgrim to the Wall well knows the fine forum at Chesters (Cilurnum), which, with all its adjuncts, has been open for many years. Moreover, in 1874-5, the forum of South Shields was laid bare, and is now open to everyone visiting the station. This latter is not so large as the Chesters forum, but has like it the curiæ, etc., or rather the remains of them.
Peterborough Cathedral is to be re-opened with much ceremony, after the long process of restoration, on October 14. In the November issue of the Antiquary we hope that an analysis of the important work accomplished will be given by the competent pen of the able supervisor, Mr. J. T. Irvine. The love of notoriety and of cheap fame for very small deeds has been much on the increase of late years. These unworthy desires have been much pandered to by the builders of Nonconforming chapels, who are ready to supply as many inscribed "foundation stones" as there are Browns, Joneses, and Robinsons to find bank-notes. It is melancholy to note that this same catch-penny expedient has now reached even to our historic cathedrals. At the last meeting of the executive committee of the Peterborough Cathedral restoration, it was agreed, "Mr. Pearson having been consulted, that the names of the donors of the honorary canons' stalls should be placed on the misereres." And yet the total cost of all these stalls is only £125! It is a little comfort that these names will be out of sight, but we should like just to hear the robust Bishop of Peterborough speak out his mind for five minutes on this subject.
lish one is that of Elizabeth Pindar, 1608, of which an example remains in the British Museum. Among other notable ex-libris are those of Robert Harley, Earl of Oxford, with seventeen quarterings; Matthew Prior; Laurence Sterne; David Garrick; Horace Walpole; John Wilkes; and Robert Bloomfield. The taste for ex-libris plates has pleasantly revived of late years, many of our best known men and women of letters having book-plates that often show much originality and careful design. Some of the most charming that we have seen are those designed by that rising young artist, Mr. Leslie Brooke.
The second International Folk-lore Congress, under the presidency of Mr. Andrew Lang, is to be held in London in September, 1891. It is proposed at this conference to
constitute an International Folk-lore Council. The first list of nominations to this council is a thoroughly catholic one, including wellknown names of distinguished "folk-lorists" (a term of their own coining) of English, Irish, French, Danish, Portuguese, German, Russian, American, and Anglo-Indian nationality. Mr. G. L. Gomme, F.S.A., is the chairman of the organizing committee of the congress.
Mr. Morgan S. Williams, of Aberpergwm, Neath, writes to us: "In 'Notes of the Month' of April's issue of the Antiquary mention is made of an old English silver teapot, exhibited at the meeting of the Leicestershire Architectural and Archæological Society, with date mark 1691, that being six years earlier than the earliest teapot mentioned by Mr. Cripps in his Old English Plate. I thought it might interest some of your readers to know of one still earlier, which I have, with London hall-mark and date 1682."
commanders (naval and military), and the representatives of art, literature, and science. The period is particularly rich with eminent statesmen and commanders, commencing with Marlborough (who died in 1772), Prince Eugene, Stanhope, Bolingbroke, Harley (Earl of Oxford), the Walpoles, the Pelhams, Chatham, Wolfe, Clive, Anson, Rodney, Pitt, Fox, Burke, Sheridan, Perceval, Sir John Moore, Keppel, Duncan, Nelson, and concluding with Wellington. In literature we find the names of Addison, Pope, Johnson, Swift, Chesterfield, Defoe, Goldsmith, Cowper, Burns, Hume, Gibbon, Wordsworth, Shelley, Keats, Byron, and Scott; in music and the drama those of Handel, Haydn, Boyce, Arne, Burney, Garrick, Colley Cibber, Foote, Quin, Macklin, Kemble, and Mrs. Siddons; and among men of science Newton, Halley, Macclesfield, Herschel, Hunter, Watt, Davy, and many others. The committee are confident that it will be possible to bring together one of the most remarkable and instructive series of portraits of public characters ever displayed; and they feel, moreover, that the artistic success of the exhibition will be assured by the presence of the works of such eminent men (besides those already named) as Kneller, Thornhill, Ramsay, Raeburn, West, Flaxman, Lawrence, Cosway, and Wedgwood. It will further comprise miniatures, prints, drawings, books, manuscripts (including autographs), embroideries, plate, porcelain, coins and medals, seals, and personal relics.
A portion of the old silk mill at Derby has collapsed. The Corporation have now condemned the whole structure. This is unfortunate; but it would be hard to blame them, for the building is in so dangerous a condition that without great expense it cannot possibly be repaired. The whole of one side has been shored up for some time past. This is the mill erected on an island in the Derwent by John Lombe, in 1718. It was the first successful silk mill in England. Lombe succeeded in bringing over from Italy models of the machinery in use in that country, which had hitherto been kept a secret.
recently been explored. Much ancient pottery had been found round about it previously, and considerable hopes of a "find" were entertained. The mound, on having its true inwardness disclosed, has been found to consist of a very large mass of stones piled to a height of fully 30 feet. After a deep, broad trench had been driven into the western side of the structure, "a neatly-formed stone cist was discovered, and on the freestone cover being removed a cinerary urn was exposed to view, containing bones and wood ashes. The cist was 2 feet long, by 18 inches in breadth, and 15 inches in depth. It is composed of four flat and carefully-dressed stones set on edge, and it seemed to have been carefully puddled above and below with clay. It was found at a depth of about three feet below the surface of the mound. The urn, which is quite entire, is remarkably perfect in shape, formed of a bluish clay common to the district, and is entirely covered outside with the usual rude ornamentation. It is 5 inches in height, 20 inches in circumference at its greatest girth, tapering to 9 inches at its base. The bones in the urn were much decayed, consisting only of a few tiny fragments-even the teeth being so soft that they crumbled on being touched, thus testifying to the remote antiquity of the deposit." Still further exploration is projected, and it may be hoped that Harelaw has still other secrets in its keeping to reward the archeologist.
de Our contemporary, the Reliquary, has recently stated that the Llanelltyd chalice and paten "would find their proper resting-place in the national collection in Bloomsbury." Welsh archeologists will be grieved at the proposed removal of these interesting relics to the British Museum. Surely they would find a fitting place beside that valuable manuscript, the "Liber Pontificalis Domini Aniani Bangoriensis Episcopi" (A.D. 1268-1306), in Bangor Cathedral Library? If it be true that the date of the chalice and paten is not later than 1300, Bishop Anian's pontifical is contemporaneous. This plate would be consecrated according to the "Use of Bangor," and it is interesting that after the lapse of five centuries plate and book should thus be reunited. We hope that it is not too late. for their reunion to be maintained. If these