« PreviousContinue »
The following are on the south side and close to the church.
John Loftus, Parish Clerk 17 years, died Dec 24, 1847, aged 66. His father and grandfatner held the same office many years.
I'm Pinder, innkeeper, died April 20. 1803, aged 46. Eleanor, his wife, Feb. 23. 1301, aged 47. James Pinder, May 6, 1801, aged 41.
George Loftus, son of Thomas and Ann Loftus, died Dec. 1. 1849, aged 72. Mary, wife of George Loftus, died 20 Jan. 1818, aged 40. William, son
Mary Thos. Loftus
Motto. Loyal au mort. Arms. Sable, a chevron engrailed between 3 trefoils slipped argent. Motto. Preod mois tel que je suis.
John Bagley died May 18. 1812, aged 32. Wm, his father, died Dec 3, 1804, aged 72. Mary, his sister, died April 19. 1808, aged 29. James, his brother, died Sept. 16. 1808, aged 39. Hannah, his mother, died March 8. 1809, aged 75. (Mural tablet.)
Elizabeth, wife of Robert Skelton of Pocklington, died April 1. 1836, aged 26. (Mural tablet.)
Thomas Staveley died May 31. 1808, aged 67. Ann, his widow, Oct. 31. 1831, aged 83. (Children.) Thomas, died March 1. 1850, aged 62. Mary, March 1. 1850, aged 66. Stephen, Feb. 14. 1851, aged 79. Wm, June 25. 1856, aged 66. (Mural.)
Richard Bell died Oct 1. 1755. Richard Bell jun July 7. 1756, aged 31. Hannah, his wife, March 27. 1786, aged 62. John Bell, surgeon, son of Richard and Hannah Bell, died April 10. 1836, aged 90. Mary Bell, his wife, née Fotherby, died Feb. 19. 1820, aged 70. (Mural.)
Eliza, daughter of John and Elizabeth Jackson, died Jan. 16. 1823, aged 2.
Harriet, wife of W- Thirkell of Scarborough died at Pocklington, Nov. 28. 1852 aged 30.
Thomas Staveley, butcher, died June 12. 1847, aged 75. Elizabeth, his widow, Jan. 17. 1848, aged 71.
James Askham died Sept 24. 1840, aged 67. Elizabeth, his wife, June 7. 1864 aged 86. Wm and George, their sons, died in infancy.
Jane, wife of Joseph Pbilips Esq, of the Inner Temple, barrister-at-law, died Sept 7. 1859, aged 47. Jane, their youngest daughter died Dec. 18. 1856 on her gth birth. day.
In the corner formed by the intersection of the chancel and the south transept is an altar-tomb having on it a shield of arms, and a long inscription—both much weather-worn. It is to the memory of a “Mr Gyles Bateson" and "M"* Isabella Bateson,” his widow. (See inscr. on 2ud bell) (Many years ago a house was broken into at Pocklington, and the thieves removed a pannel from the side of this tomb and hid the stolen goods therein, where they remained for a long period. Some passerby seeing a pannel was loose gave it a push and the nefariously hidden articles were thus discovered.)
The Grammar School at Pocklington owes its origin to a religious society consisting of a master, two wardens, brethren and sisters, incorporated by the title of “The Fraternity or Guild of the Name of Jesus, and of the Blessed Virgin Mary, and of Saint Nicholas the bishop, in the parish church of Pocklington, in the county of York ; founded by John Dowman, Doctor of Laws.” The licence was granted by Writ of Privy Seal, dated 23 May, 1514. Dr. Dowman also left lands to the value of 20 marks (£13 6s. 8d.) to the master and wardens "to find a fit man sufficiently learned in grammatical science to instruct and teach all scholars resorting to the town of Pocklington, to be taught according to the statutes and ordinances of the said John Dowman, and to perform other works of piety at the discretion of the master and wardens, and to maintain other duties from time to time incumbent on the said fraternity or guild.”
None of Dr. Dowman's statutes now exist, and there are no records left of the guild, which continued until 1547, when it was dissolved by Act of Parliament in the first year of Edward VI., and later on its revenues were devoted to continue the Grammar School.
One relic remains : a handsome seal in excellent preservation, and now used as the School Seal. The matrix is brass, and weighs nearly four ounces. In circumference it measures 81 inches, its diameter being 2 inches. In the centre is a nude figure of the child Jesus standing on a bracket, the head surrounded by a glory, the hands raised in benediction, and on the breast is a plate bearing the
My best thanks are due to the following gentlemen for their kind and courteous replies : Rev. J. R. Lunn, B.D., vicar of Marton-cuin-Grafton ; Rev. C. R. Manning, M.A., F.S.A., Diss Rectory,
Norfolk ; Rev. Canon Sparrow Simpson,
letters i. h. v. To the right on a bracket is the Holy Virgin crowned, and holding in her arms the infant Jesus. To the left, on another bracket, stands St. Nicholas. He wears a mitre, is vested in chasuble, alb, and stole, the right hand grasps a crosier, whilst the left is held up in benediction. Below the left arm is a tub in which stand three naked boys, a late medieval way of illustrating a miracle attributed to this saint, who is said to have restored to life some Christian children, who had been killed, and then cut up to sell as salted meat. Beneath all these is a floor of tile pattern, in
the centre of which is a prayer-desk, and upon it is laid an open book. Before it John Dowman is kneeling, clad in a doctor's gown and hood, with his hands clasped. On the right side of the altar is a small shield, diamond shaped, with the letters J.D.m.a.n. so arranged as to make Dowman. The background is powdered with the sacred monogram, and small objects meant for rude crowns. On a quarter inch marginal rim is this legend :—"A rose—Sigillū : coie : fratēr : nois : ihū : bte : marie : sci : nicħe : de : Poklinton :' The Common Seal of the Brotherhood of the Name of Jesus, the Blessed Mary, and St. Nicholas of Pocklington. The date is circa 1514.
The founder of this guild, John Dolman, or Dowman, was the son of William Dolman, whose ancestors had long
resided at Pocklington, and were lords of the manor here.? He was in holy orders, and evidently a man of both learning and note in his day. He is said to have held the Rectory 3 of Pocklington, but for how long is not known. On 4 April, 1506, he was admitted rector of St. Nicholas Acons in the city of London. Resigning that benefice in May, 1507, he was made Archdeacon of Suffolk, prebend of Portpool in St. Paul's Cathedral, and one of the residentiary canons. On 31 March, 1509, he was instituted prebend of Offley in the Cathedral Church of Litchfield, and about this date the degree of Doctor of Laws was conferred upon him by the University of Cambridge. In 1514 he resigned the stall of Portpool, and was collated to that of Twyford, which he held until his death. He was also Auditor of Causes under Cardinal Wolsey. In 1525 he resigned Offley, and the year following must have failed in health, for on Thursday, November 8, he made his will, and before the 11th the good Archdeacon had passed to his rest. He bequeathed “his body to be buried in the chapel of St. Catherine, on the south side of St. Paul's Cathedral, against a pavement under the altar there by him made.” His will was proved in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury, 6 December, 1526. This generous and distinguished Yorkshireman not only founded the School here, but also five scholarships and nine sizarships in St. John's College, Cambridge, to which boys of his name or kindred, or from Pocklington School, had special preference. He also endowed a chantry in St. Paul's Cathedral
, for which two priests were to be provided, who were both to be scholars of St. John's. The name Dowman is said to have been spelt Doveman, and a rebus, carved upon the school beams, was existing early in this century :-three doves with the letters —M•A•N—under them.
His arms :"Azure, a fesse dancette between 8 garbs or, banded gules," are in the old oriel window of St. John's College Hall, and are worn by all Pocklington Grammar School boys as their badge. They are also over the entrance to the school-house, surmounted by his crest ;—“a garb
2 Foster's Yorkshire Pedigrees, p. 86.
3 Cooper's Athenæ Cantab. 1858 ; New
court, I. 200; La Neve ; Dugdale's St. Paul's, 1818 ed. ; &c., &c.
argent, eared and banded or,” and below is this inscription :
A Joanne Dolman
Fundata. A.D. MDXIV.
An Act of Parliament, passed in 1551,4 vested the nomination of master in the Master and Fellows of St. John's College, who were to appoint a “discreet and learned man." An usher was to be chosen by the master, vicar or curate, and church wardens of Pocklington. If the vacancy was not filled up within two months, the Archbishop of York was to appoint both master and usher without delay. The master was to receive two-thirds of the emoluments, the usher onethird—the two forming a close corporation. Of the School, Carlisle 5 says “it is open to the boys of
5 the parish of Pocklington and indeed to any other boys without limitation, but it has not been considered that they (that is those from outside the parish) are entitled to their education free of expense, although the school is designated the Free Grammar School.” It was handsomely endowed by Archdeacon Dolman, and during the reign of Elizabeth it was further endowed by the Rev. Thomas Mountforth, who left an estate at Wetwang, but there is good reason to believe that property has been lost by sheer neglect. The income at the time of the Charity Commissioners' Report (1820) was £1020 9s. 8d. from various properties—683A. 2R. 2p. in extent, but both before and since that date there have been many sales and exchanges. The Rev. Kingsman Baskett, master from 1754 to 1807, had about 50 boys at
4 A copy of this Act is before me. It is very lengthy, and refers more to St. John's than to Pocklington School. It appears, however, that Thomas Dolman, the Archdeacon's brother, was seized of the property bequeathed to the Guild, and meant to stick to it, but this Act
clearly pointed out to him his false posi. tion, and he had to yie.d the estates, though much against his will.
6 Endowed Schools, p. 863.
6 Charity Commission, 19th Report and Appendix, &c., pp. 541-46.