« PreviousContinue »
ved by some whimsical man, for taking rather a better view of the river Orwell, than can be had on the neighbouring hills. 189 inhabitants,
HARKSTEAD. Odo de Campania, was lord here at the taking of Domesday survey. Edward III, in his charter to the nunnery of Dartford in Kent, gives or confirms to it the manor of Brandeston, in Herkestede in Suffolk, And the manor of Brandiston, late belonging to that nunnery, was granted 31 Henry VIII. to sir Percival Hart, knt. It came afterwards with the advowson of the rectory to a family of Cocks, in Worcestershire; who had it some time, and then sold the manor, hall, house, &c. to Knox Ward, Esq. Clarencieux king at arms; whose heir sold them to Thomas Staunton, of Holbrook, Esq. who was editor of the second edition of this work. Besides the parish church here was formerly a chapel dedicated to St, Clement. It is now wholly down; but the spot where it stood is still to be seen at the southeast corner of a field, from thence called chapel down. A legacy was given to this chapel of St. Clement, in the year 1528. And a house was bequeathed in 1685, with the garden and one pightle abutting south upon St. Clement's Church-yard, and upon the Mill way towards the north. The site of the chapel is 301 inhabitants.
now ploughed up
HIGHAM. This was given to Trinity priory in Ipswich, by Maud de Munchensi, and was impropriated thereto. But the impropriation was purchased by Mr. Gibbs, or Mr. Smith, and given to the ministers. 252 inhabitants.
HINTLESHAM,-Was anciently the lordship of the Talbots; and for very many years of the Timperlys. The hall, &c. was bought of them by Richard Powis, esq. sometime member for Orford. From him it was purchased by sir Richard Lloyd, knt. one of the barons of his Majesty's court of Exchecquer, but is now the seat of the Misses Lloyd. The church was impropriated to Kings-Hall, now part of Trinity college, Cambridge, about the year 1349, but before the year 1400, the impropriation was given up, and the minister presented and instituted into the rectory as formerly. Here was formerly a chapel in this parish, and there is yet a place called Chapel Field.
Here was another manor, which belonged to Bury Abbey, and was granted to Robert Downs, by Henry VIII. and came afterwards to the Veseys. Here was a third manor or estate, which belonged to St. Peter's priory in Ipswich, and was granted with that to Cardinal Wolsey, 19th Henry VIII. In the chancel of the parish church are several monuments of the Timperleys, and it has been said a tomb of blue marble, on which was the portraiture in brass
of a man in complete armour, and a woman with a hound at her feet, with this inscription, Here lyeth the venerable man, John Timperley, esq. heir and lord of Hintlesham, and Margaret his wife, which John died, an. 1400.” This tomb, if such it ever was, is now reduced to a stone in the pavement, the brasses all gone, except a single shield. The inscription was in Latin, and may be found in Weever.
sham contains 562 inhabitants.
HOLBROOK. This in the time of Henry 111. was the Lordship of Richard de Holbrook, who paid fines to Ipswich for himself and villains in Holbrook and Tattingston; afterwards it was Mr. Daundey's then it was the Clenches; Judge Clench, who died in 1607, lies buried in the church. 641 inhabitants.
HOLTON. The Lordship here belonged formerly to a family of Fastolf, then to the Mannocks, and afterwards to sir John Williams. This parish contains 213 inhabitants.
RAYDON. Robert de Roydon had a grant of a market and fair here, 4 Edward 11. or in 1310. John Hasting, earl of Pembroke, died seized of the manors of Ottley, Raydon, &c. 43 Edward III. afterwards the manor and chief estate here came into the hands of the same owner who had that of the next parish. 501 inhabitants.
Robert de Tattershall died seizeu of Shelle, in Suffolk, 1 Edward I. The church was impropriated to the priory of Battle; and the Impropriation and two Closes called Kernelscroft and Wytherseys alias Gerwayes, were granted as late belonging to that priory to Laurence Baskervile and William Blake The ball in 9 Edward 11. was the seat of John de Appleby, afterwards to the Tilneys; it afterwards belonged to Thomas Kerridge, Esq; and was purchased of his heirs by Samuel Rush, Esq. to gether with the contiguous monor and estate at Raydon. 130 inhabitants.
SHOTLEY. Here was anciently a hamlet, called Kirketon; a market and a fair were granted at this place to William Visdelieu, who was lord here, 31 Edward I. sir Thomas Mosel was lord here afterwards; the Feltons had the lordship for some ages, and at last it came with the other estate of that family to the right honourable the earl of Bristol 339 inhabitants.
SPROUGHTON, A good part of this parish is within the liberties of the borough of Ipswich: but the manor, hall house, and advowson of the rectory, &c. was part of the Felton estate, and came with that of Shotley last mentioned to the earl of Bristol, in whom it is now vested. Within this parish two good seats have been built; one called the Chantry, from its being built
on lands given by Edmund Daundy, for endowing a chantry in the church of St. Laurence, Ipswich. The present house was built by the late Edward Ventriss, esq. master of his majesty's court of king's bench; of whose heirs it was purchased by the late sir John Barker, bart. it is now the seat of C, S. Collinson. Near to this place was the seat of admiral Harland. Sproughton hall is now the seat of J. Smyth, esq. 506 inhabitants.
STRATFORD. William de Munchensi died posessed of an estate here, 1 Edward I. Michael de la Pole procured a special charter to hold a court-lete in his lordships of Stratford and Heigham, 7 Richard II. likewise for a market here on the Thursday in every week; and a fair on the eve, day and morrow of the translation of St. Thomas the martyr, 3 Henry V. The advowson belonged formerly to the dukes of Suffolk; but ever since the time of Henry VIII. it has been in the crown.
The north isle of this church was built about A. D. 1500. Edward Mors and Alice his wife, and Thomas Mors and Margaret his wife, were: so great benefactors towards it, that their names were expressed in the stonework. In 1524, and 1526, two legacies were given towards building the porch. The parish contains 614 inhabitants.