Page images

ments were parts of a border of earlier date than the coat of arms, and bunches of fruit. These last were placed in the corners of one of the windows of the south aisle in 1844. When Sir Richard Hoare visited the church, he observed hanging in the nave an iron frame, with some pieces of tattered ribbon attached to it. This he says, is one of the last memorials of a custom now disused in this part of England; viz., that of carrying a garland decorated with ribbons at the funeral of a young unmarried woman. It was afterwards suspended in the church. Sir Richard says, "in this case the custom which had long become obsolete, was revived at the particular request of a person buried 30 years before, and the remains of the garland still exist." The remains have since disappeared; but some of the old parishioners remember the garland in tolerable preservation. Until the year 1833, the pulpit was covered with what had been a splendid pulpit cloth of rich purple velvet, edged with narrow gold fringe. In front of it were the initials of the donor, and the date of the gift (J. T., 1681), in massive gold embroidery. It was the gift of one of the Topp family who were liberal benefactors to their parish church. This pulpit cloth was removed in 1833, it being so much decayed as to be no longer a decent ornament. The gold letters and date were placed on a piece of the velvet which retained some of its colour, and hung up in a frame in the church as a frail memorial of the donor. He has no other monument. The velvet cover of the cushion had long disappeared, and a new cover of handsome crimson cloth, was presented by Mr. St. Barbe, who at the same time gave a crimson cloth for the communion table.

The church is indebted to the piety of the Topp family for a very beautiful altar-cloth, and for a massive service of communion plate. Few village churches can boast of such an ornament as this altar-cloth, which is still in good preservation. It is of large size, and covers, not only the table, but the wall behind it, being suspended from brass hooks in the string course below the cill of the east window. The ground of the cloth is a kind of rich yellow satin, on which is a pattern of purple and red velvet. It is joined together in broad stripes, the pattern being alternately red and

purple. The communion plate presented by the Topps, consists of two massive flagons, which stand a foot high, on each is the arms of Topp. On the covers is inscribed "Deo et Ecclesia," and round the bottom of each, "The gift of John Topp, the elder, Esq., 1640.” The chalice and paten were presented by another member of the Topp family. These are also massive; the chalice stands nine inches high, and on it is engraved the arms of Topp, impaling argent, on a bend voided, three fusils ermine; and this inscription, "Ex dono John Topp, Esq., to the Church of Stockton in the County of Wilts." A handsome silver alms basin was presented to the church by Mr. and Mrs. St. Barbe in 1844.

Stockton Church contains more monuments than are usually found in so small a church. There are six in the chancel. The oldest is on the north end of the east wall. It is a black marble slab, enclosed in a frame of alabaster, formerly painted and gilded, supported by a small cherub. It has this inscription:

"If men should be silent, this stone shall speak the due praises of God's grace in John Terry, lately a faythful, paynful, vigilant and fruitful Minister of God's truth in this Church of Stockton. He was born of substantial parentage at Long Sutton, in Hampshire; bredde a well deserving Member of New College in Oxford; freely presented to this charge by the Right Rev. Bishopp of Winchester, Cooper, An. Dom. M.D.X.C., and now in his ripe age of LXX. An. Do. M.DC.XXV., May xxx., sleepeth happily in the public Cemetary of this Church, till the last trumpet shall awake him to a joyfull resurrection in Christ!

He lived, he learn'd, he wrat, he tought,

Well, much, truly, duly, he brought

Hoame the lost sheep, which Christ's Blood bought,
Against Hell's power he stoughtly fought.

Terræ Terra datur, Cælum sed spiritus ornat,
Mundus habet famam, lusa Gehenna fremit."

On the north side of the wall is a stone monument to the Rev. Samuel Fyler and his wife. It was originally placed before the centre-light of the east window, and the cherub which supported it remained there till the wall was rebuilt in 1840, when it was placed on the outside of the wall, over the window. The monument was removed by Mr. Good, to the centre of the north wall, and from thence it was removed to its present situation, when the chancel door was made in 1832. The monument is thus inscribed :

"Hic infra conduntur mortales exuviæ Samuelis Fyler, A.M. hujus Parochie per quadragenta prope annos Rectoris, et Ecclesiæ Cathedralis de Sarum Succentoris, Pastoris fidelis, Patris optimi, verà in Deum et Proximum charitate imbuti, inter primos docti, et Fidei vere Catholicæ contra Arii et Socini Sectatores assertoris studiosi. Qui pluribus annis morbo chronico fatigatus Astmate tandem correptus a laboribus quievit 13° idus Maij anno salutis nostræ M.DCC. iij., Etatis suæ 74."

"Jacet sub eodem tumulo Maria Fyler, uxor ejus, unica filia Tho. Hyde S.T.P., et Ecclesiæ predictæ Cathedralis Precentoris; Quæ obijt 6o idus Maij An. Dom. 1676."

On the south wall between the two lancet windows, is a handsome marble monument, which has a very long, pompous, Latin inscription to "the Rev. David Price, L.L. B. of Christ Church, Oxford, first, lecturer at Bewdley, county Worcester, then Incumbent of Portland, county Dorset, in 1727. Whence in 1730, he was removed to Stockton, by Bishop Willes. He was Rector for 35 years, and dying at Salisbury, 12th November, 1771, aged 70 years, was buried here. Also his two wives; Rebecca, died 12th March, 1744, aged 43; and Anna, died 28th January, 1760, aged 58."

On the north wall, west of the door, are two plain marble slabs, thus inscribed,

"Sacred to the memory of the Rev. Henry Good, 33 years Rector of this Parish, who departed this life 2nd July, 1824, aged 60. Also of Eleanor, relict of the above Rev. Henry Good, who died April 7th, 1836, aged 70."

"Sacred to the memory of Anne, relict of the Rev. Henry Good, S.T.P. of Wimborn Minster, Dorset, who died 23rd June, 1817, aged 90. Also of William Hiley, son of the Rev. Henry Good, Rector of this Parish, and Eleanor his wife; who died 11th April, 1804, aged 4 months. And of Charles, their second son, who died 21st June, 1824, aged 22 years."

On the south wall, near the east end, is another marble slab, thus inscribed:

"Near this place is interred the body of William Wansboro Pinchard of Stockton, Gentleman, who departed this life Jan. 28th, 1815, aged 80 years. Also of Anne his wife, daughter of the Rev. David Price, M.A., formerly Rector of Stockton. She died 15th June, 1822, aged 88 years."

There are three or four grave-stones forming part of the floor within the altar rails. One of them is a large slab of Purbeck marble, without inscription. On the stone adjoining is inscribed,

"Here hides the depositum of Mrs. Mary Fyler, who died May 28th, An". Dom. 1676. My Redeemer liveth."

There are three monuments to members of the Topp family, in the north aisle of the church. The oldest is one of those handsome canopied stone tombs which were in fashion in the time of Elizabeth and James 1st. It is a good specimen of the style, and is supposed to commemorate the builder of Stockton House, John Topp, Esq., who died 1632, and his wife Mary, eldest daughter of Edward Hooper, Esq., of Boveridge, Dorset, who died in 1617. There are no traces of an inscription, but the arms of Topp, impaling Hooper, carved on the gable, prove it to be the monument of the founder of Stockton House. The recumbent effigies are uninjured, excepting that the feet of the female figure are gone, and an ornament on the top of her head-dress, was broken by a fall of a part of the vaulting over it in 1840. On the west side of this tomb is a mural monument of black and grey marble. On a shield above the cornice, are the arms of Topp, impaling, Azure, a chevron between three pheons Or, within a bordure ermine, for Swayne. The inscription is as follows:

"Extra sacros hos parietes, jacent ex voto Joannes Topp, generosus, ejusdem nominis junior, et Elizabetha uxor ejus. Ideoque nunc extra jacent quia multum prius intrà: genuina nempe pietas deprimendo elevat cultores, ascenditque deorsum. Extra Templum jacent qui tot viva Dei instaurârunt Templa, quique indies ipsum Templi Dominum vestierunt et cibârunt. Vixerunt hilariter Deo aliisque, et sic optimè sibi ipsis. Sublatos hos ex oculis lugent quotquot norunt, et non parce Curatores Testamenti qui pia fidelitate hæc posuerunt marmora, Anno Dom. M.DC.LXIIII." (He was the eldest son of John Topp and Mary Hooper.)

The other monument in the north aisle rests on the cap of the east pier, fronting west. It is in the form of a shield of white marble, and has this inscription :—

"Alexander Topp, Citizen and Merchant of Bristol, 4th son of Edward Topp, Esq., and Christiana his wife, died 30th January. 1738, in the 41st year of his age, and at his own request was brought to Stockton, and buried near this place."

"Edward Topp. 2nd son of the same Edward and Christiana Topp, who died in London 24th of Feb., 1740, also lies here. Mors Janua Vitæ."

This Edward Topp is supposed to have been buried in the nave, under a stone marked E. T., where a skeleton was found when the grave was opened to receive the remains of Mrs. Henry Biggs. The bones were re-buried in the same place.

In the south aisle there are five monuments, besides the recumbent effigy before mentioned. Three of them are connected with the Poticary family. The oldest is an altar-tomb of freestone, against the east end of the south wall. On a shield in one of the front panels is a sort of P., supposed to be the merchant's mark of the family, who were clothiers, and probably not entitled to bear arms. On a similar shield on the other panel, are the letters E.P. Over the tomb is a brass enclosed in a stone frame, inscribed as below::

"Here shee interred lyes, deprived of breath,

Whose light of virtue once on earth did shine,
Who life contemn'd, ne feared gastly death,
Whom world, ne worldly cares could cause repine.
Resolved to dye, with hope in Heaven placed,
Her Christ to see, whom living shee embraced.
prayer fervent still, in zeal most strong;
In death delighting God to magnify:

'How long wilt thou forget me Lord ?' This song
In greatest pangs was her sweet harmony.

Forget thee! No: He will not thee forget;
In Book of Lyfe for aye thy name is set.

Elizabeth Poticary, wife of Hierom Poticary, Clothier, deceased at the age of 35 years, A.D. 1590."

Above this inscription is engraved a female figure kneeling before a desk, and behind her a male, and four female figures also kneeling. Close to this monument, but on the east wall, is a large mural monument of freestone, on which is a shield with the same P., or merchant's mark. In the centre of the monument is a brass inscribed with some ordinary Latin verses, to the memory of Hieronymus (Jerome) Poticary, who died 3rd May, 1596, aged 52, placed here by his son Christopher. Below this inscription are a male figure and three sons on one side, and on the other, a female and three daughters, all kneeling.

Against the south wall is a handsome marble monument, to the memory of Henry Greenhill. The arms above it are, Vert, 2 bars argent, in chief a leopard passant, or; impaling, argent, on a chevron azure, 3 garbs, or; on a canton, gules, a fret, or. The inscription is as follows:

"Henry Greenhill, Esq., son of John Greenhill of Shiple (i.e. Steeple) Ash

« PreviousContinue »