Page images
PDF
EPUB

"Goods geven and solde sythe the xxiijth daye of Novembr. ano. r. r. Henr. viijth xxvijmo-none saving certiane wood solde by the saide Incumbent to the value of viji. towards his payment of his first fruits. Remayning the viijth daye of December last paste, and in the custody of the said Incumbent-none -besides a chalice poiz. x onz. [weighing 10 oz.) z.]"

The lamp in the Church.

"Rent of lande geven of certayne lands ther in the tenure of

wydowe

late wyf of Edward Millar, to the mayntenance of a lampe in the churche ther p. ann. xvija."

Certificate 7, No. 5.
"Okingham.

Our Lady Chauntery. Adam Mollens xvij. vj. ob. lxxviij. vj. Robte. Avys xxvj. xij. ij. vjd.

[In another hand] "Pens. vj. xiij. iiija.

"Ex. p. me Ro. Amice." *

"Certificate of Chantries 51, No. 25.

The pshe. of Okynghm. One Chantetre of our Lady founded by Adam Mollens,late Deane of the Cathedrall churche of Salisbury, John Nores, Esquyer, and John Westwoode, by the lycense of Kynge Henry the 6th to thentent to have a prest dayly to saye masse, mattens, and eviensonge wth other suffrages in the ffoundacon mencioned wthin the Pshe. churche of Okyngham, whyche ys done, obsrved, and kepte accordingly.

"The said Chauntrye ys scituat and erected wthin the pyshe. of Okyngham, "The value of the said chauntre by the yere xiijli vj3. ixa.

[blocks in formation]

And so rem'th iij. vij. ob., which ys towards the rypayrynge the house. Ornaments, plate, juells, goods and cattels, merely appteynynge unto the saide chaple theyr ar. none ffree, for yt ys s'ved wth thornaments of the said churche."

Seizure of Church Goods, 1553.

"Wiltes. The certificat of Anthonye Hungerford, Willm. Sharington, and Willm. Wroughton, Knights, by verteu of the King's his Highnes Commission to them directed baring date the thirde of Marche, Anno Dni. 1553, concinge the order of all and singuler the churche good es wthin the sayd counteye of Wiltes as plate, juells, bellis and ornaments; as well receaved to the Kinges his Maistis vse, as also remaining in churchis and chappels wthin the sayd conty for conveniaunte and comlye ministration of the Holy Communion, as also the salis of all siche ornaments and metall wch weare appoynted to be solde by the said Commission as here after dothe ensue.

*£6 13s. 4d. is evidently the amount of the pension to the chantry Priest. I am unacquainted with the meanings of the other amounts.

Delivered to William Elliott and to
p. 54, b.
Willm. Greattam j cupp or chalis by xiij ounz.
Okingame. Indentures of xij ounz. iiij bellis.

(bells iiij and

a saunts bell.

"In plate to the Kings vse clij ounc.' The church is stated in Bacon's Liber Regis to be dedicated to All Saints. A chaplain of St. Mary is mentioned in some document whereby H. Westend settled the almshouses in the street then called "Le Peche," 1st September, 1451 (30 Hen. VI.). At the spoliation of the church plate in 1553, one hundred and fifty two ounces of plate were seized by the Royal Commissioners for the King's use. One chalice of thirteen ounces and four bells were left. The parish Registers begin only in 1670.

The tower is ascended by ninety-two steps, which are now much dilapidated.

There are six bells. The treble and 4th bells are inscribed

"T. Mears of London, fecit 1814,"

when the old ones were split or otherwise injured.

The others are only inscribed in old English characters, with the names of the makers, thus

Tenor. "Robart Hunt and Samuel Knight (or Haighe) made this bell, 1704." The others

One I think 1703.

"Robert Hunt made this bell, 1704."

In south aisle: a coat of arms and foot legend, both gone.

On wall of south aisle: a James I. arch of a flat twisted pattern, from one column to another. Civilian and lady in the costume of the Chiselden brass, kneeling at a fald stool.

At the top one coat only, gules four lozenges fess wise argent, with a mullet or for Jifference. A back ground of a diamond pattern of the floor, and all gilt except the arch and columns.

At the back of the Corporation pew: in a carved oak frame the arms of Queen Elizabeth, having at the top 1582, and below

This is 152 ounces, as it is cast up as 152 ounces: there being three other parishes on the same

[graphic]

the date E. R., the arms having the lion and dragon as supporters. Front of the Corporation pew: a civilian and first wife, like the Goddard brass at Ogbourne, co. Wilts.

Second wife gone.

Inscription scrolls from the mouths of both ladies there: foot legend gone; and one little brass of a daughter under the second wife also gone.

[graphic]

Font in Wokingham Church.

Inscriptions in Church.

In Ashmole's Antiquities of Berks, his editor has supplied such of the inscriptions as were in the church at that time. Besides Bishop Godwyn's (printed above, p. 64), the following are printed in that work:

On the north side, against the same wall, is an oval black marble tablet, enchased, and ornamented with white leaves and flowers, and supported by two black marble Corinthian pillars, and on it this inscription:

"In Memory of
EDWARD COTTON, Esq.,

(Late of this Parish), This
Monument was erected by

ELIZABETH his wife, and sole Executrix, obiit 28 Dec., 1682.

page which with these are cast up for the use of the King at 170 oz.; one being 14 oz., another 2 oz., and the third 2 oz. The book is signed at the end, "Antony Hungerford, Wyllyam Wroughton."

This worthy name of Squire COTTON

Can never dye, although his Bones ly rotten;
Eased from all Paines, removed far from Strife,

A tender Husband to his loveing Wife,

Sleeps nigh this Place, he past through Life to Death,
And won the Race, although he lost his Breath:
Hee'th pay'd the Debt, which once we must pay all
His Vertues live, though after's Funerall.
His surviveing Relict, for a good Intent,

Hath caused to be raised this Monument.
Vivit post funera Virtus."

Against the south wall, on a black marble tablet enchased in white, on the top an urn, underneath a pelican sable feeding her young, crest, a castle, both supported by two Cupids, and adorned with festoons of fruit and flowers, this inscription:

"Near this place lieth interred the Body of HUMPHREY CANTRELL, senior, Gen, of this Parish, deceased: and also the Body of HUMPHREY CANTRELL, junior, Gen. deceased." (Erected by his mother.)

On a white freestone gravestone, in capitals:

"HUMPHREY CANTRELL, Gent.: 1 March, 1689, æt. 65 years. HUMPHREY CANTRELL, his son, 9 Nov., 1695: in his 23rd year."

On a black marble gravestone, in capitals, this inscription :"Here lyeth the Body of GERVASS (sic) BERKELEY Esq., who departed this life the 8th September, 1699."

Against the east wall of the north Ile, on a wooden tablet in a frame, in black capitals, is this inscription :

"WILLIAM IRISH, who having first

served in the Warres of the NETHERLANDS,
was afterwards a Captain at Sea,
and lastly, a

Magistrate of this Towne
whereof he was Alderman twice,
who departed this Life

the Tenth Day of OCTOBER, 1623."

On a white freestone gravestone, underneath, in capitals, is this inscription:

"Here lyeth the Body of Captaine WILLIAM IRISH,

Gent. Alderman, which deceased

the Tenth Day of October, Anno Domini, 1623."

In the middle Ile, on a brass plate, under the figures of a man

Sic in original.

and his two wives, all three in a devotional posture, was an inscription, now lost; out of the mouth of the woman on the right hand proceeds a lemma, thus inscribed :

“Adjuva nos Deus salutaris naster,

Et propter gloriam nominis tui Domine.”

Out of the woman's mouth on the left hand :

“Libera nos et propitius esto peccatis nostris

-

Propter nomen tuum ne in eternum irascaris nobis.”

On a brass plate, fixed within the south wall, under the figures of a man and woman kneeling opposite to each other, between them a faldstool containing two books, and on it this inscription :"Witt, Wealth, Shape, Birth, lye buried here, Thinges, while we live, we value all too dear; But such as leave us when we leave our Breath, Unfaithfull Freindes, forsaking us in Death; No Covenant with the Grave, we wust resign, Some of us now, and some another Time.

He liveth not long, that many Yeares can tell,
But he liveth evermore, that liveth well."

On this is neither name nor date to give any intelligence to whom it belonged.

On a black gravestone, in capitals, this:—

"Under this stone lyeth buried MICHAELL TOWNESEND, and SARAH TOWNESEND, the children of NATHANIELL AND MARY TOWNESEND, of London, 1656."

On another gravestone:

"JUDETH BROOKSBANKE, daughter of JOSEPH AND MARY: who departed Aug. 10, 1689, in 8th year of her age."

In the middle Ile, on a large black marble gravestone:

"Mr. SIMON WEAVER, citizen and cutler of London, born in this Parish : departed this life 25 Nov., 1699, in the 76th year of his age."

[The above are all that are given in Ashmole's Berks, as within the church.]

Inscriptions on the Beaver monument, at Wokingham:

"Beneath this stone doth rest the mortal part

Of her who once delighted every heart.

How good she was, and what her virtues were,

Her Guardian Angel can alone declare.
The friend that now this little tribute pays,
Too exquisitely feels to speak her praise;

« PreviousContinue »