« PreviousContinue »
mydell with oriente perell and a corporas of fyne launde in the same. Item. A nother corporas case of rede Velwet embrowdred with JHUS and MARIA and a corporas of fyne launde in the same. Item. A nother corporas case of white damaske embrowdred with JHUS and MARIA And a corporas of launde in the same.
Item. A carpette of oken levis (oak leaves) bordered with blewe and a traill of roses white and rede. Item. A nother carpette of rede and yolowe.
Item. A quysshon (cushion) of red and grene bawdekyn, and a nother quysshon to knele upon, of rede wurstede.
Item. A long quysshon of black sarcenet embrowdred wth "Jhu miserere" and "Xte miserere." And a nother quysshon of blak bord alisaunder to knele upon. Item a long quysshon and a shorte quysshon of motley cloth of goolde.
Item. 2 curtayns of lynne cloth to cover yo ymages with, in the Lente, of elle brode cloth, 2 levis of brede and iii yerd of lengthe.
Item. An hangying of lynne cloth to cover the pictur of the chapell in Lente tyme rounde aboute frome y° one arche to the other.
Goddard Brass in Aldbourn Church.
HE Goddard brass, a plate of which is given in the present number of our Magazine, was recently discovered in the Upham Aisle of Aldbourn Church in this county, on removing some decayed pew floors. From a comparison of dates, as well as from the style of the dress, and the pedigree of the Goddard Family supplied in "Burke's Landed Gentry," it is, most likely, a memorial of Richard Goddard of Upham, who married Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas Walrond, Esq., of Aldbourn, and had by her three sons and one daughter. There are "matrices" of other smaller brasses, probably shields of arms, at the foot of the slab, but as they are lost, no evidence can be obtained from arms in support of the above opinion.
Against the wall immediately above the place where this brass was discovered, is a monument to the memory of a Goddard, his wife, three sons and one daughter. At the top are the usual Goddard arms, quartering either what is a second coat of Goddard (granted in 1536 to William Goddard, and mentioned in Burke's Armoury, as the arms of Goddard of London, and East WoodHay, co. Hants); or, it is the record of a Goddard marriage with an heiress of the same name, but of a different family. Other shields of arms, once on this monument, are now quite obliterated; and the monument itself bears no inscription. The figures of father, mother, three sons and daughter, are kneeling in order.
The Rev. Francis Goddard, Vicar of Hilmarton, who has with considerable labour collected all particulars relative to Goddard pedigree, says that "The monument with figures at Aldbourn is believed to be that of Thomas Goddard, his second wife, and their children his will dated 1609." The style of dress would decide the question. As regards the brass there can be little doubt; and we may consider it a valuable addition to the collections of Wilts Brasses so carefully made and published with so much good taste by Mr. Edward Kite of Devizes, a few years since; a work with which, all the members of the Wilts Archæological Society are probably acquainted.
Richard Goddard of Upham, named on the brass, was, no doubt, the donor of the tenor bell in Aldbourn Church. See Wiltshire Magazine, vol. ii., p. 67.
The translation of the inscription is as follows:
"Here lies Richard Goddard, formerly of Upham, and Elizabeth his wife, which same Richard died dayA.D. 14, and the aforesaid Elizabeth died July 14th, A.D. 1482, on whose souls God have mercy. Amen."
Extracts from a Common-place Book of
HE following extracts relating to Wiltshire subjects are from a book of MSS., by Dr. Stukeley, dated, "1721, Ormond St., Queen's Square, 1748." It was kindly lent for exhibition at the Society's Meeting at Hungerford, by W. Tite, Esq., M.P., its present owner.
It contains, among other matters of antiquarian interest, "a Drawing of the ground-plot of the ruins of Whitehall, as June 14th, 1718, built by Cardinal Wolsey;" Scite of Old Verolam and of St. Alban's as in Christmas, 1717; Colchester, Easter, 1718; Stones at Burrowbridge, Yorkshire, and near Kirk Oswald, in Cumberland, and Druidical remains; Memoranda respecting London; Roman Camps, Temples, &c.; Roman Inscriptions; Monumental Effigies; The Comet in 1743; "My house at Barnhill, Stamford, 1743;" "Drawing Romuli et Remi Templum, Jacobus St. Amand Delin;" Plan of Albanbury; Effigies of Sir Thomas Erpingham, with autograph letter from Edmund Prideaux, dated Norwich, January 25th, 1720; Celtic Antiquities; Monument of Abbot J. Islyp; Autograph letter from R. Thoresby to John Anstis, dated 3rd March, 172; Monument in Medley Church, Yorkshire; Coloured Drawings of Monuments in Norwich Cathedral; Two coloured Drawings of a window in St. George's Church, Stamford, by R. Thoresby; Drawing of Monument of Sir W. Philip; Equestrian Portrait of King Henry in a window at Grafton; Letter from W. Beckett on Small-pox; &c., &c.
Many of the objects mentioned in the MSS. have since been destroyed, and these pages contain the only record of them, now remaining.
In Wiltshire the following are noticed ;
"Longstone at Broome, near Swindon, Wilts, is a great high stone, and a little way off many lesser ones in a row.
VOL. XI.-NO. XXXIII.
"At Compton Basset, not far from Marlborough, westward, houses made of stones as big as those at Stonehenge, standing endwise. "Milbarrow in Wilts, between Monkton and Aubury. 'Tis about a yard high and set about with stones. A mile west from Marlborough towards Hakpen, is another barrow like it with four large stones within the broad end, of a pyramidal form. On a hill south from West Kennet, another very like the former. In Chippenham parish a mile off, Bitiston is Hubbas low, a barrow like the former, but no stones; 'tis 60 paces long, composed of small stones.
"Near Aubury and Kennet, Wilts, stand 3 large stones upright, very like, [in margin, "very unlike"] the Devil's Arrows at Burrowbridge, called the Devil's Coyts.
"In the parish of Kennet lyeth this monument (of three stones). The stones are 11 or 12 foot long-in 1643, were found the sceleton of a man with a sword and dagger under them." 1
"Bedwin, a great barrow cast up of chalk. Bedd, grave—win white. This shows all barrows to be burying places.
"Wansdike, Wilts, the Bound betwixt the W. Saxons and Mercians; the graff is to the north, the rampart to the south, it runs thus with elbows, [in margin, "that is it humours the hills."]
"Between Rockly and Marlborough on the downs lyeth a great stone upon 3 lower in the way to Stonehenge and agoing thither from the Grey Weathers, for from hence all seem to be fetcht for the holes yet appear whence such were drawn. Another lyes in the water at Tichelden. The grain reddish generally.
"Forty five barrows in sight of Stonehenge. A. 1666, one of the 7 barrows being digged up they found coals, goats' horns and stags horns. [In margin, "Remains of sacrifice at the Briton's burial."] Near to the penning is Normanton ditch, here in ploughing was found A°. 1635, very good pewter, sold for £5.
"Fripsbury, in Wilts, in London road, not far from Clarendon
Stukely gives a sketch of these stones; they are evidently the same as those mentioned by Aubrey, and figured in Mr. Long's paper on Abury, Wilts Mag., vol. iv., p. 344.
Extracts from a Common-place Book of Dr. Stukeley. 343
Park, a Danish Camp, the inner ditch without a rampire, 11 or 12 yards over. The diam. of outmost circle 330 paces.
"Quarley hill South hath fourfold fortifications, in the middle a hollow, perhaps a well. Its as bigg as Yarnbury.
"The Walls, Vespasian's Camp, as believ'd. The people of Amesbury say the area of it is 40 acres, single trench, one graff towards Stonehenge.
"In the parish of Codford in the Fields, is a great round camp. "In Okely wood, Tisbury parish, near Swallowcliff common, a very strong fortification. [Margin, "British Town."]
"Babury Castle on Hackpen hill, double works very great, squarish.
Chiselbury, a Danish Camp, on the brow of a hill, (on) the road from Salisbury to Shaftsbury.
"On Templedown, two miles from Marlborough, a Roman Camp, opposite to Barbury Castle.
Wanborough, or rather Badbury Camp, near this much Roman Coyn lately found-Bimbury, a Camp opposite to Wanborough. "On Sidbury hill, near Everly, a great Brittish Camp, Two trenches run northward to Everly, perhaps to fetch water.
"Old Sarum. The rampart extraordinary high, higher than at Winchester; within the ring, full of pits where houses stood. Part of the old keep remains still. They dig for flints and hard mortar here. Huge pieces of several ton are fallen down. From Stratford subcastle, Portlane leads to the Castle. Near Portlane in the plow'd fields, the burrough lands on which they chuse Burgesses.
"On Salisbury Plain near Stonehenge. In the sheep penning there several barrows called the King's Graves, the stones which once stood there are lately carryed away.
"At Hakpin hill in a barrow, urnes and a man's thigh-bone found. At Draycote Cern, 1680, an urn with ashes.
"In the Lieger book of Wilton mention of Herepath, i.e. Military Road.
"About Salisbury and Andover the Roman road is gravell❜d, whereas no gravel is found towards Stratton in Hampshire.