Page images
[merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small]

Favershamiæ natus

Oxoniæ institutus
Ubique in pretio habitus

utpote qui doctus, abstemius, pacificus, pius,

Quodque non reticendum

In re musica peritissimus ;

cujus ingenii venustatem

ne ipsa quidem canities potuit deterere,
Obiit 17mo die Januarii An. D. 1715.
Etatis suæ 74.

He was buried 24 January 1713-4 (Dav. Reg.).
THOS. LEES, Junior, A.M., March 9, 1713, ob. September 1728.
His father was Rector of Goodneston.


ROBERT HARRISON, A.M., ob. 1755.

and Perpetual Curate of Oare.
Davington from the year 1729.

He is buried at

Also Rector of Luddenham

He held the incumbency of

ROBERT HALKE. Incumbent from 1766 to 1779.

FRANCIS FREDERICK GIRAUD, A.M., 1781, resigned 1794. Also Vicar of Preston and Curate of Oare. (Vide Arch. Cant., Vol. XXI., p. 151.)

GEORGE NAYLOR, Incumbent from 1794 to 1799.

After the death of G. Naylor there does not appear to have been an official appointment. Joshua Dix would seem by the Registers to have officiated from 1812 to 1832 with tolerable regularity, and John Birt, D.D., Vicar of Faversham, from 1833 to 1847. Since the regular celebrations of services beginning in 1849 the following gentlemen have been Incumbents :

HENRY COSGRAVE, M.A., of Trinity College, Dublin, was appointed in 1849 by T. Willement, Esq., to the incumbency. He held the living till 1856. He was buried in the churchyard on 14 November 1857. On the memorial stone is the following inscription:

Here lie the mortal remains of the Revd HENRY COSGRAVE, A.M., late Minister of this Parish, who died on ix November 1857, aged 70 years.

JAMES HENRY TOMLINSON BLUNT, M.A., of Exeter College, Oxford, was appointed to the incumbency of Davington December 31, 1856. He resigned in 1860. He became a Chaplain in India. He is now Rector of Braceborough in the diocese of Lincoln. Mr. Blunt married at Davington Church, 16 August 1864, Fanny E. Giraud of Faversham, a sister of the Town-Clerk of Faversham, F. F. Giraud, Esq. MAXIMILIAN NUNES of King's College, London, was Incumbent of Davington for scarcely one year, namely, from January 23 to September 7, 1861. He died suddenly on 7 September 1861, aged 30 years. He married 7 June 1859 Catherine, daughter of Henry Kendall, Esq., Surgeon, of Newmarket, in co. Cambridge.

JOSEPH WEST BRAMAH, M.A., of Merton College, Oxford, was Incumbent of Davington from 25 March 1862 to his death He lies buried in the churchyard. The

on 26 July 1884.

[blocks in formation]

Sacred to the memory of

Clerk in Holy Orders,


who died July 26th, 1884, aged 64 years. "I am the resurrection and the Life, saith the Lord." "By Thine Agony and bloody sweat, by Thy Cross and Passion, by Thy precious Death and Burial, by Thy glorious Resurrection and Ascension and by the Coming

of the Holy Ghost, good Lord deliver us."
"Where I am there shall also My servant be."

In the church is a small brass plate bearing the following inscription:

In the graveyard of this Church lie

buried the mortal remains of JOSEPH WEST BRAMAH, M.A., Clerk in Holy Orders, Incumbent of this Parish from 1862 to 1884. He died July 26th, 1884, aged 64.

EDWARD MOORE, M.A., of Christ Church, Oxford, was preferred to the living of Davington by Mrs. West Bramah. He was an Honorary Canon of Canterbury 1867 to 1886; Rector of Frittenden in the county of Kent from 1848 to 1869; and Rural Dean of West Charing. He retained the incumbency

* In the church is a small brass bearing the following inscription: "The Rev. Maximilian Nunez, Minister of this Church from 1860 to 1861. He died suddenly Sept. 7th, 1861, aged 30."

of Davington from 1884 to 1886. He died in 1889, and lies buried at Ospringe. Canon E. Moore's first wife, Lady Harriet Janet Sarah, sixth daughter of Charles William Henry Montagu Douglas Scott, fourth Duke of Buccleuch, was buried at Frittenden in 1870. His second wife, Charlotte Isabella Henrietta, daughter of Charles Devon, Esq., survived him, and was buried at Ospringe in 1891.

THOMAS GIBSON HILL, M.A., of Queen's College, Oxford, held the living of Davington from July 30, 1886, until February 1892, when he accepted a Curacy from the Vicar of Croydon. Before his appointment to Davington he had been Curate of Faversham from 1882 to 1885, and Curate of Oare in 1886. CARUS VALE COLLIER, B.A., L.Th. of University College, Durham, was preferred to the incumbency of Davington on the resignation of Mr. Hill. He was born at Sheffield in Yorkshire in 1864, and is the third son of John Collier, Esq., of Oakleigh, Bridlington, Yorkshire. Mr. Collier was Curate of Bridlington Quay from 1887 to 1889, and of St. Jude's Church (Moorfields), Sheffield, from 1889 to 1892. He is a Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries, and is connected with many other antiquarian societies. He resigned the living of Davington in 1895.

Among the objects of interest preserved at Davington Priory is a small paten of latten, said to have been found in the grounds; in a depression in the centre appears to be a representation of the Trinity. The figure of the Father in the attitude of blessing can be made out, and in front of Him is a crucifix. Whether a dove has also been engraved cannot now be asserted. Around this central group there appears to be a faint inscription, which I read as "Benedicamus patrem et filium et sanc spirit'm."

In the cloisters is an old leather jug bearing a date and the letters TA. In the library (or buttery) is a brass object said to be a bell and candlestick used in the office of excommunication. In the drawing room (or refectory) is a small but fine collection of paintings from old MS. Service Books, for the most part from the Monastery of Certosa, Pavia; the most remarkable being one of a Madonna by Franciscus Moronus, one by a pupil of Leonardo da Vinci, and an illuminated page of some ancient copy of the Gospels, bearing the arms of Pope Gregory XIII.


WEST KENT, 1534.



AMONGST the documents in the Public Record Office relating to the reign of Henry VIII. are two volumes (Chapter House Books, 63 and 64) which contain the signatures of the secular clergy to the declaration that "the Bishop of Rome hath no greater jurisdiction committed to him by God in this realm of England than any other foreign bishop." This declaration, engrossed in Latin at the head of sheets of parchment, was signed by the clergy in each deanery. vol. vii., State Papers, Henry VIII., No. 1025, will be found a list of the deaneries for which the signatures are extant. Most of the clergy appended to their signatures the name of their benefice, and this was the case in the deaneries of the diocese of Rochester. In the diocese of Canterbury, on the other hand, the only guide to the incumbency of the signer is the name of his deanery at the head of the page.

The following is a transcript of so much as relates to the clergy of what then formed the diocese of Rochester, together with the deanery of Shoreham (a peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury); that is, roughly, Kent west of the Medway, with a few parishes on its eastern bank. Notes of the dates of institution to the various benefices have been added. The references (D., fol. 26, etc.) are to a volume at Rochester known as the "Register of the Spiritualities of Rochester, D." The entries therein of institutions were extracted by Thorpe, and are amongst his MSS. in the Library of the Society of Antiquaries, from whence they have been

obtained. The references to wills (ix., fol. 170, etc.) are to the Will Registers of the Consistory Court of Rochester, now at Somerset House.

The signatures are undated, but they must have been obtained in the first half of 1534, since Thomas Snydall, vicar of Hallyng, was succeeded on 24 July, William Whyteacre, rector of Offham, on 20 August, and Christopher Browne, vicar of Frindsbury, on 28 August of that yearall three vacancies being caused by death.

It will be observed that three of these West Kent parishes had the advantage of retaining their parish priests throughout the whole of the trying period of change which took place in the Church of England in the sixteenth century :

CHRISTOPHER THOMSON was vicar of Cudham from 1525

to 1561.

ROBERT HALE was rector of Lee from 1526 to 1567.

JOHN BUTTYLL was rector of Cuxton from 1522 to 1576.

[Page 76.] [P.R.O. Chapter House Books, 64.]




Instituted 29 Nov. 1525 on the death of Arnold Baxster. Patrons, P. and C. of Kilborne (D., fol. 132b). He died 1561. (Will Rochester Consistory Court, book xiii., fol. 1.)


Ds Robertus Baker, rector 11 Oct. 1533 (Lib. Tax., fol. 103). Item 10 Oct. 1534 (fol. 106).


Instituted 12 October 1526 on the death of William Wiggen. Patrons, P. and C. Rochester (D., fol. 134"). He died 1540.


Instituted 21 April 1532 on resignation of George Brynley. Patron, the King (D., fol. 164"). His will dated 6 Aug. 1547, proved 7 Jan. 1547-8 (book xi., fol. 6a).

« PreviousContinue »