Page images
PDF
EPUB
[graphic][subsumed][merged small]

Augustines Church, London.

Published for the Proprietors by W. Clarke New Bond St & Carpenter Old Bond SMay 11811.

LART

THIS # 18 Huzuary 5 tes of that order.

Street. The he

Humpty, one who was buried 9

At the Asst z

fers, and girdi ra, John, afterward. B

- surer. On she s

f.ent house

west and of e- (k

alisco, lo*.

tive protest***

preaching-log

[ocr errors]
[merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors]

quit his other, not bug able to endur the heat, He Lad been in Venice in 1621, probally co pry into t

[graphic][graphic]

ST. AUGUSTINE'S CHURCH, LONDON,

MIDDLESEX.

THIS house of the Augustines was founded in 1253 by Humphry Bohun, earl of Hereford, for friars heremites of that order. Its situation was to the west of Broad Street. The Church, becoming ruinous, was rebuilt by Humphry, one of his descendants, earl of Hereford, who was buried here in 1361.

At the dissolution, great part of the house, cloisters, and gardens, were granted to William lord St. John, afterwards marquis of Winchester and lord treasurer. On the site he built Winchester Place, a magnificent house, where Winchester Street now stands. The west end of the Church was, in 1551, granted to John a Lasco, for the use of the Germans, and other fugitive protestants, and afterwards to the Dutch, as a preaching-place. Some portion of the buildings were converted into a glass-house, for Venice glass, in which Venetians were employed in every branch of the manufacture. They were patronized by the duke of Buckingham. Howel, the celebrated author of the Letters, was steward to the manufacture, but was obliged to quit his office, not being able to endure the heat. He had been in Venice in 1621, probably to pry into the

ST. AUGUSTINE'S CHURCH, LONDON.

secrets of the art, and to engage workmen. This place was afterwards converted into Pinners Hall.

The residue of the buildings the marquis reserved for the purpose of corn, coal, and other things. His son sold the noble monuments of the dead, the paving stones, and many other materials, which had cost thousands, for a hundred pounds, and converted the buildings into stables for his horses. The steeple of the Church was standing in 1600. It was extremely beautiful; but the marquis demolished it, notwithstanding he was petitioned to the contrary by the lord mayor and many respectable citizens.

[ocr errors]

Numbers of persons of rank were interred in the Church of the Augustines; among others, Edmund Guy de Meric, earl of St. Paul. This nobleman came into this country on a mission from Charles VI. of France to Richard II. and his queen. Lucie, the wife of Edmund Holland, lord admiral, and one of the heirs and daughters of Barnaby, lord of Milan-Richard Fitzalan, the great earl of Arundel, beheaded in 1397 at Tower Hill-John Vere, earl of Oxford, beheaded in 1463, at the same place-Edmund Stafford, duke of Buckingham, a victim to the pride of cardinal Wolsey And many others.

« PreviousContinue »