« PreviousContinue »
the other waye, wt a chamber over yt of like lenketh and bredthe,"1 and the survey of 1577 calls this a “house buylded of frestone att the southest corner of the dynyng chamber,2 xviij fote wide, thirtene fote longe, and xxj fote high,” with a chamber over it.3 It would seem, however, that this building cannot have come up to the east end of the hall, as Mr. Newstead's plan shows it. At the west end of the hall, there are traces in the upper part of the wall of a wide window, now blocked, which would open above the roof of the chambers over the buttery and pantry.
The porch (fig 2), now used as a dairy, is attached to the westernmost part of the north side of the hall, and was thus opposite the entrance gateway on the north side of the court. It is faced with stone on its three disengaged sides, though there are indications that the structure of both porch and hall is of brick, simply faced with stone. The porch measures internally 14 feet 9 inches from east to west by 14 feet 3 inches from north to south. The outer doorway on the north, now blocked, is semicircular arched. Above it is a window of two lights, with tracery under a square head, which lighted the chamber over the porch. Above a horizontal cornice is an embattled parapet, which is continued on the east and west sides. In the middle of the parapet on the north front is a canopied niche with an angel holding a shield which bears bishop Skirlaw's arms, and on the top of the canopy are two beasts. The inner doorway, from the porch to the hall, is pointed and well moulded on the side next the porch, the mouldings of the arch being continued down the jambs. The ground story is covered with a quadripartite vault, with chamfered diagonal and wall ribs. On the key of the vault are two little angels holding a shield which bears Skirlaw's arms4 (fig. 3). In the south-west angle of the chamber over the porch are two narrow doorways, one on each side of the angle ; part of one of them, blocked, can be seen on the south face externally. In the wall between this upper chamber and the hall is a blocked window, with four-centred arch, which would open into the hall above the screens. On the outside, at the south end of the west wall of the porch, at N, are the traces of the north wall of the range which extended westward from the hall.
Raine, op. cit., p. 298.
3 Raine, op. cit., p. 301.
on Skirlaw's buildings—“ De quibus
Continuing westward from the hall, the survey of 1561 says: “Ther is at the west end of the hall a buttrye and a pantrye wt a chambre over them, both under one fatt roufe covered wt leade ; . . . the walls of all which, to the west, of bryke worke ymbattled wt freestone : ye wydnes of the buttry and pantry is xiij fote di. a pece, and betweene them a waye leding into the kychen of v fote wyde."1 The remains of this arrange
' ment can be clearly recognized on the outside of the west wall of the present house (fig. 4). The opening in front of the present side doorway of the house (at P on the plan, fig. I), with its modern semicircular arch, represents the 5 foot passage from the screens towards the kitchen. On either side are the original doorways from the buttery and pantry? to the screens, each with a low four-centred arch, with rebates and crooks on the west face, and with sufficient visible in one case to show that the doorways were moulded on their east face, next the screens. To the south are two other recesses, of which the northern has a pointed segmental arch moulded with a roll, and the southern a modern semicircular arch.
Between the buttery and pantry and the kitchen was fayer surveying place and ij little houses, at either end one: and, over them, ij chambers.. Ther is at the west syde of theas rowmes a fayer large kychen wt ij large ranges
... And to the westwarde beneath, on the grounde, there are iij severall rowmes besydes a gatewaye to the orchard and barne at the southe west corner.” Above these rooms were three large chambers. The walls of “all this rowe
were of brickwork, very fayer, and imbattelled at the toppe with freestone."'1
The gateway still exists, but all the buildings between it and the hall have disappeared, and their site is occupied by the modern vicarage house. In the gateway and the rooms which stood to the east of it, it is easy to recognize William de Chambre's description of Langley's work. The survey of 1561 says : “All thes rowmes betweene the west4 syde of the gate to the buttry and pantry do conteyne vjxx fotes in lenketh, and xxxix fote wyde throughe oute." In the survey of 1577, the
1 Raine, op. cit., p. 299.
? There is nothing to indicate whether the buttery or pantry was to the north of the passage.
3 The vicarage was built in 1862-4.
4 So in the MS. Unless the surveyor wrote west instead of “ east" in
error, a comparison with the survey of 1577 would suggest that the length of 120 feet did not include the buttery and pantry.
6 In the survey as printed this appears as“ yii fote" (p. 299), but I have ascertained that the MS. reads vj" fote."