« PreviousContinue »
early thirteenth century in the south wall of the chancel ; the head consists of a solid stone, with a moulding carved on the outer face ; in a stone below is a deep sloping drain. It would appear, therefore, that the first rebuilding of the chancel followed shortly upon the building of the north arcade of the nave. The disposition of the buttresses and windows indicates a complete rebuilding with a slight lengthening towards or about 1300, while a general repair took place in the later part of the fifteenth century.
On 22 January, 1330-1, Archbishop Melton issued a commission to inquire into a petition from Lewis Beaumont, Bishop of Durham, asking leave to appropriate Leake Church to the expenses of his table, which had been much impaired and wasted by the inroads of the Scots and other causes. The ordination of the vicarage was not decreed until 27 July, 1344, by Archbishop Zouche. The vicarage was endowed with the larger part of the rectory house, the whole altarage of the church, and the tithe of hay and the small tithes of Leake, Knayton, Landmoth, Brawith, Nether Silton, Kepwick, Crosby, and part of Northallerton, which appears to have lain within the parish, with the remainder of the rents and provents of the church with certain exceptions, and with two bovates of the demesne of Leake Church lying in Nether Silton. To the Bishop were reserved the rest of the rectory house, the tithe of corn from the whole parish, a yearly rent of two marks formerly payable to the rectors, the tithe of hay from the rector's demesne land under Cotcliffe, and from the meadow's of Borrowby. The whole burden of meeting the various church expenses, with the upkeep of the fabric, books, and ornaments of the chancel were charged upon the vicars, one of whom may be credited, therefore, with the fifteenth-century repair of the chancel described above. 1
There is much interesting woodwork in the building. The seating of the nave is largely composed of seventeenth-century pews, and the font-cover is plain work of this date. The font itself is plain, with a large cylindrical bowl ; there are no definite signs of date. The present low screen in front of the quire is made up in great part of fourteenth-century woodwork from some earlier screen. At the west end of each row of quireseats is a very fine stall-end, with poppy-head finial and a projecting ledge in front, supported by a carved octagonal up
Reg. II clton, fo. 619d.
right. The ledge of the northern stall-end bears a figure of a crocodile ; the side of the main portion has a carved shield with crossed keys and the word "barde" below, probably alluding to a donor named Peter Barde. The southern stall-end has in a similar position a figure of St. John the Baptist, holding an open book, on which is a lamb; below is the legend, hamp above a tun, and the inscription : “ Hoc opus factum est anno domini 1514” (or 1519, it is not clear which). The sculpture appears to be the rebus of one John Hampton. On the ledge of this stall-end is the figure of a dragon. It seems probable that these stall-ends have been removed from some more important church. There is a brass in the central alley of the nave to the memory of John Watson and Alice his wife, c. 1530. John Watson was auditor to Lord Scrope of Upsall. The
The brass is described in vol. xvii of this Journal, p. 301.
Of the three bells in the tower, one is mediæval, and bears an inscription from the donor, one Grendale, to St. Aelred, abbot of Rievaulx : "0. PATER . AELREDE . GRENDALE . MISERI . MISERERE.” In 1483-4, John Bussy, of Borrowby, bequeathed 12d. to the bell fund (ad fabricam campanarum) of the church.1 A second bell is quite plain. The third bell has the inscription : "FILY . DEI . MISERRERE (sic). MEI. 1618.”
A. HAMILTON THOMPSON.
Close to the church is Leake Hall, a seventeenth-century building, formerly the seat of a branch of the Danby family. A certain amount of oak panelling is still preserved, and in one of the upper rooms there is a shield, bearing quarterly, I and 4, argent three chevronels braced in base sable, on a chief of the second as many mullets of the first, Danby; 2 and 3, gules six billets ermine, three, two, and one (Britlevile). The Britlevile arms occurred in 1584 on the monument in Leeds Church amongst the quarterings of Sir Christopher Danby, of Thorpe Perrow, Knt., who died in 1530. There is a pedigree of the Leake family in Dugdale's Visitation of Yorkshire in 1665 (Surtees Soc., xxxvi, p. 93).
There are two other old houses in the parish : Marygold Hall, 1679, with the initials W. A. M., for William Metcalfe
Reg. Test. Ebor., V, 215d. 2 Visitations of Yorkshire in 1584-5 and 1612, pp. 463, 464. Britlevile, or more correctly Bret vill, was the name of the possessors of property in Yafforth,
near Northallerton, which seems to have descended to the Danby family (Kirkby's Inquest, pp. 176, 335, and Yorkshire Lay Subsidies ( 30 Edward I), p. 11).
and Anne Marwood, the ancestors of the present Marwoods of Busby, to whom Marygold Hall still belongs. Mr. Metcalfe had already built Porch House, in Northallerton, in 1674. The other is Landmoth House, an Elizabethan structure, with the initials W. G., possibly referring to William Green, of Landmoth, who was aged twenty in 1612. The Greens were recusants. They continued to hold property here till the beginning of the eighteenth century. Dorothy, daughter and heiress of Anthony Green, Esq., married Joseph Pattinson, of Sixhills, co. Lincoln, and afterwards of Newark. Their only child, Elizabeth, married Thomas Middleton, Junior, of Hollings, alias Brantbery Grange, in Sigston parish, son and heir of John Middleton, of Middletonupon-Leven, Esq. Marriage settlement dated Nov. 16, 1728.1
[The Council has decided to reserve a small space in each Number for notices of
Finds and other discoveries; and it is hoped that Members will assist in making this a record of all matters of archaeological interest which from time to time may be brought to light in this large county.]
NOTE ON A BRONZE OBJECT FOUND NEAR
GIGGLESWICK. The ring figured here (scale about ) was unearthed early in 1912 on the land of F. Marler, Esq., of Close House, Giggleswick (to whom I am indebted for much courtesy in the matter), in digging a trench in the field known as High Haw, and at about 100 yards south of the old high road from Giggleswick to Lawkland where it crosses the High Rigg. As it was not noticed except in the upcast, its original vertical and horizontal position cannot be given more exactly. Nothing else was recovered.
Interesting in itself, the ring derives additional interest from other Roman traces which have been noticed hereabouts. An anonymous
writer in the Gentleman's Magazine (1784, p. 259) placed on record a hoard of Roman coins accidentally found at Craven Bank, Giggleswick. The exact position is again indeterminable ; but probably Craven Ridge, a farm about three-quarters of a mile to the west, perpetuates an alternative
form of Craven Bank; and in that case the coins were probably discovered at any rate not very far from the ring. They were mostly of the two Constantines, but some were of Gratian, whilst others bore the device of the wolf and twins. This writer also mentions a Roman road as being visible from Craven Bank on the moors near Sunderland, a name corrected to Saukland in a subsequent communication (ibid., p. 963), which, again, can hardly be other than a misprint for Lawkland. There is but little doubt that the present road near which the ring was found represents this ancient road in part, and that the Roman line formed a communication between Ilkley and Overborough. On this point it is hoped that fuller evidence will be available before long.
The ring can be ascribed with practical certainty to the Roman period; for though somewhat similar remains of Late Keltic manufacture exist, there is nothing whatever to indicate such an ascription of this particular example. It is cast hollow (at least so far as the thicker parts are concerned), is of excellent workmanship, and weighs 4 oz. 377.5 grains. As to its use, two theories are possible ; for it may have been either the handle of a box or a terret for the passage of harness reins. The basal part is flat, as if designed to fit against a plane surface.
THE CLOISTER ARCADE. When the Society visited Bridlington on July 14, 1910, I suggested that the very interesting fragments of the twelfthcentury cloister arcade, which were then stacked at the west end of the north aisle, should be set up for better preservation, as well as for greater facility of study. This has now been done, in memory of the late Mr. Thomas Harland, of Bridlington, by his family. It may be well, therefore, to put on record precisely how the work has been carried out. The fragments have been erected towards the west end of the north aisle in two sections, one of three arches, and the other of two arches (see the accompanying photographs, kindly furnished by Mr. Cecil Harland). The arcades have been built on low walls, which are entirely of new stone. Two of the bases are old, and the others, which are new, have been simply chamfered to distinguish them from the old moulded bases, which have griffes. One of the original octagonal shafts had survived in two pieces, and
in two pieces, and these have been put together and set up, giving the height of the arcade; the other shafts are new. All the capitals and all the arches are old. The arches are of two different patterns; those of the set of three have grooved angle rolls and two keeled rolls on the soffit, with chevron decoration between them ; those of the set of two have chevrons flat on the face, and two rows of chevrons on the soffit forming lozenges, and the lozenges and triangles are carved with leafage. The beautiful open-worked hood-mouldings are old. It is not, of course, certain that the arches, capitals, etc., which are now placed together, were so
, placed in the original arcade ; they have simply been fitted
1 Yorks. Arch. Journal, xxi, 174-5.