« PreviousContinue »
This arrangement of the stalls is set out in another place (fo. 78), where they are disposed under the names of their estates. It runs as follows :Ordo prebendariorum et capellanorum in ecclesia
de Houeden'. i stallum. ij stallum. iij stallum in choro.
Houeden'. Thorpp'. De Salso marisco. Ex parte australi.
Barneby. Laxinton. Presbiter altaris Sancte Ex parte boreali.
Marie. Presbiter altaris sancte Katerine. This ordination received the sanction of the Papal Legate, Ottobonus, cardinal-deacon of St. Adrian, on 12 kal. Marcii, 2 Clement IV (Feb. 18, 1266–7)."
Unfortunately, the Stowe MS. is imperfect, so the confirmation by Archbishop Walter Giffard, mentioned by Graystanes, does not occur, unless it be a document, of which only a portion has survived, dated 6 kal. Marcii (Feb. 24), 1267–8. In this deed the Archbishop insists on three months' personal residence by the prebendaries, whether continuously or at intervals (interpolatim). He orders that the revenues be distributed at Martinmas and Whitsuntide, and those who have made half their residence were to receive, in proportion, a suitable share. They were not to be excused from residence for the rest of the time which they were bound to make, but were to be compelled by him or his successors to do it according as the canonical ordinances had decreed. 3
On the same folio occurs a list of the names of the first five prebendaries of Howden. They are given in a confirmation by Archbishop Walter Giffard, dated at London, 5 kal. Maii (April 27), 1268, of a bond given at Durham, 4 ides Oct. (Oct. 12), 1265, by which Master John de Mechelton, Sir Richard de Evesham, and Masters Geoffrey de Forseth, Hugh de Evesham, and John de Neuton, canons of the church of Houeden, bound their prebends to contribute towards the cost of prosecuting the business common to them all, touching the church
1 Stowe MS. 930, fo. 79.
2 Ibid., fo. 35. It is Giffard's confirmation, and is entered in Reg. Melton, fo. 608.
3 Secundum quod dictant canonice sancciones.
of Houeden, and to act according to the wishes of the Lord Prior of Durham.
On fo. 78d, a list of the prebends of their values is set out, which will give an idea of their worth:FIRST PREBEND.-Houeden, 36 marks ; Knedelington, 16 marks ; Bernhille, 3 marks . .
55 marks. SECOND PREBEND.-Barneby, 30 marks; Askelby, 2 24 marks
54 marks. Third PREBEND.-Thorp, 4 marks ; Belleby, 10 marks ;
Balcholm, Linton, Gayre, Spen, 24 marks; Kylpyn,
55 marks. FIFTH PREBEND.-Saltmarshe (Salsus mariscus), 25
marks; Kotenesse, Metham, 20 marks; Yucflet,5 12 marks
57 marks. CHAPEL OF ESTRINGTON.-Estrington, 24 marks ;
Kayville, Byrland, 20 marks ; Portington, 8 marks ; Ousthorpe, Hythe, Sandholm, 18 marks; Neuland, Dike, the farrier's land, land of the chamber, Limpenhil, 20 marks ; Grenayc, 12 marks ; Belasis, Beneteland, the land of John de Warwyc, 6 8 marks
1 Howden, Knedlington (Cnyllingatún, A.S.C.), and Barnhill (Beornhyll, A.S.C.).
2 Barmby-on-the-Marsh and Asselby.
3 Thorpe (Thorp, A.S.C.), Belby (Belleby, A.S.C.), Balkholme, Linton, and Kilpin (Celpene, A.S.C.). The site of Gayre, called Gaira in 1199 (Yorks. Arch. Journal xi, 187), is defined by Gare Lane. It is a triangular piece of ten or twelve fields adjoining Linton and Gare Lane, often called Gay Lane, a very fantastic name for an impassable road.
In the E.D.D., s.v. Gair, the following passage is quoted from Morton's Cyclo. Agric. (1863) :-The triangular portion of the field remaining to be ploughed, after all the furrows have taken its entire length, and which must then be finished by turning shorter each bout.' The word is yet occasionally heard in rural districts, a narrow gare' being
common expression. It has reference to shape, rather than situation. cf. gore, as in gore-acres. In 1562, there was a manor of the Spennes in Eastrington, and there is still a piece of land, north-west of Eastrington Church, called the Spen Ings (Yorks. Arch Journal, xvii, 99). "Manor del Spen juxta Howden." Fine, 4 Edward II. Michael Warton of Beverley had manor de
Spenyes, called Savill's land in Estring. ton, held of the bishop of Durham (A.S.E.). Tranedic (cf. Tranby), which was between Gayre and Kilpin, seems to have disappeared, though it occurs in an Act of Parliament as late as 1777.
4 Laxton and Skelton. Laxton, in Nottinghamshire, also occurs under the form Laxington. Gryseby, no longer known, appears as Grisby in 1367 (Yorks. Arch. Journal, xvii, 108). Cf. the North Riding Grisebi, now Girsby.
6 Saltmarshe, Cotness, Metham, and Yokefleet (Huickeflete in 1199; Yorks. Arch. Journal, xi, 186).
© Eastrington (Eastringatún, A.S.C.), Caville (Cafeld, A.S.C.), Burland, Portington, Owsthorpe, Hive (Hythe, A.S.C.), Sandholme, Newland, Gilberdike, Greenoak, Bellasize, Bennetland, Warricks. The jury found that John de Warewyk, in 40 Henry III (1255 6), had built á certain grange upon the common causeway near Grenhayk', and paid half a mark as pourprestre (Rotuli Hundredorum, i, 129). (A.S.E.) Gilberdike, an old outlet of the River Foulney, was the fosse or dike of Gilbert Hansard, known later as Haunsardam, or Blacktoft dam.
Bellasize (like Belasis, north-east of Billingham, near Stockton-on-Tees, and Bellasis, four miles south of Mor
The only addition to the number of the prebends in Howden Church took place in 1280, when the church of Skipwith was made a prebend in that church. The prebendary had the third place on the north side assigned to him as his stall.
2 nonas Feb. (Feb. 4), 1279–80. Licence from Richard (de Claxton), Prior of Durham, and the Convent of the same, to their parishioners of the church of Estrington, dwelling in the vill of Belasys and Grenayk, together with the house of John de Warewyk, to build an oratory in the vill of Belasys, where, constrained both by the deepness of the road and the distance from the mother church,3 they might be present They were to visit the mother church five times a year, unless prevented by a reasonable cause, namely, on Christmas Day, the Purification of the B.V.M., Easter, Whit-Sunday, and the festival of the mother church, that is, the day of St. Michael the Archangel. They were to come to the mother church on receiving due notice whenever there was a solemn preaching (solempnis predicacio), or any matter touching the mother church was being dealt with. On these days mass was not to be celebrated in the chapel.
As a recognition of what was due to the mother church, a pound of wax was to be paid yearly to the high altar there on the feast of the Purification. The parishioners were to find at their own cost a chaplain and clerk to serve in the chapel, and make provision for vestments, books, chalice, wine, and candles (candela), and all else needful, and support the chapel in a fitting manner (honeste). The chaplain was
peth,) is a post-Conquest name from the French, Belle assise, from the fine views obtained over the adjacent low country, as the three places of this name are all situated in flat districts.
Of the places not identified, the farrier's land occurs under the same designation, “terra marescalli,” in a fine of 1199 (Yorks. Arch.Journal, xi, 187). No other mention of the land of the chamber (camera) seems to occur, nor is it easy to explain the meaning of the word. Limpenhill is met with in the inq. p. m. of Sir Alexander de Metham, who died June 8, 1417, seized of the manors of Metham, Pollington, etc., and of lands in, amongst other places, Greenoak, Sandholme, Limpenhill, Eastrington, Linton, etc. It was evidently a hamlet close to Sandholme.
On ides Sept. (Sept. 13), 1269, Archbishop Walter Giffard ordained a vicarage in the church of Hestrinton. The vicar was to receive the altarage, except the tithe of wool and lambs, and all the church land except the manor of Neuland (Stowe MS., fo. 79d). The
church of Eastrington was at this time a very valuable one. In 1293, its income amounted to 125li, though in 1348 it had sunk to 53li. 6s. 8d (Scriptores Tres, pp. ccxlviii, ccxlix).
1 Stowe MS., 930, fo. 80, and Wickwane's Register, p. 229 In the latter place, for 8 kal. Feb. read 4 kal. Feb.
2 Durham Charters, 4ta 2da Ebor., no. 21. See also Miscellaneous Charters, no. 5146, a draft of the above, dated pridie idus Aprilis (April 12), 1279. In 1549, Walter Wolfete, of Howden, and Robert Wright, of Great Grimsby, co. Lincoln, yeoman, bought from the Crown a yearly rent of 20s. from lands once belonging to Thomas Otye, and then in the tenure of Robert Freman, in Grenocke and Bellacys, and two messuages and thirty acres of arable land in the same tenure in Bellacis, all belonging to the dissolved chapel of Bellacis in the parish of Estryngton (Patent Roll, 3 Edward VI, Part vii, m. 33).
3“ Itineris profunditate pariter et longinquitate compulsi,”
make oath to the vicar of Estrington', that he would answer to him for all oblations and obventions coming from the chapel, and would retain nothing for his own use, and that he would admit no other parishioners to the chapel, but would in all things save the mother church harmless. Under this licence no other sacrament was to be celebrated in the chapel.
If there should be any infringement of this grant, it should be lawful for the grantors and the vicar of Estrington to suspend the chapel and the chaplain till satisfaction should be made to the mother church. Sealed by the chapter and by William son of Adam and Long William (Willelmus longus) of Belasys, Roger Oty and Peter Barun, of Grenehayk, and John de Warwykhouses. Durham.
Five seals :-(1) green wax, oval, if in.x} in., a pelican in her piety above her nest, s' WILLELMI DE BELASYS ; (2) yellow wax, defaced; (3) green wax, oval, 1} in. x } in., a crescent below
tar, s' RO ERI OTI ; (4) green wax, oval, if in. X 1 in., a fleur-delys, s' PETRI BARVN ; (5) yellow wax, defaced.
Proceedings in 1912.
THERE were three meetings of the Society during the summer of 1912. The first took place on 27th June, when Harewood House and Church were inspected, together with the ruins of the ancient castle of Harewood. Mr. Sydney D. Kitson, F.S.A., acted as guide, and explained the various features of the buildings visited. Colonel Parker, C.B., F.S.A., also read a valuable paper on the Lords of Harewood in the Middle Ages, which is published in the present volume.
Wressle Castle and Howden Church afforded the subjects for the second meeting, on 18th July, when Mr. John Bilson, F.S.A., was again so kind as to place his services at the disposal of the Society. Mr. Bilson delivered most instructive addresses at each place, exhibiting specially - prepared plans of both structures; and since the excursion he has laid the Society under further obligation by a separate contribution to the Journal, consisting of notes on the architectural history of Howden Church. Mr. Bilson subsequently described the remains of the bishops' manor-house and their relation to the general plan. The description will form the subject of a separate article in a later part of this volume. The Society is much indebted to Mr. P. Kettlewell for his kindness in allowing the members to examine the ancient features of his house.
The third excursion, on 30th August, was in the Thirsk neighbourhood. The charming church of Feliskirk was visiteda vestige of the old Knights of St. John of Jerusalem. The "unrestored ” church of North Kilvington was next inspected, and afterwards that of Leake. At Feliskirk, Mr. A. J. Walker, a member of the Society, read an interesting paper on the history of the parish, while Mr. William Brown dealt with the heraldic problems presented by the stained glass windows. Mr. A. Hamilton Thompson, F.S.A., conducted the party on this occasion, and his interpretation of the several buildings was listened to with great interest by the members. A very large amount of original information regarding these churches has been collected into the Proceedings.