Page images
PDF
EPUB
[ocr errors]
[graphic][ocr errors]
[ocr errors]

3

sable with two crescents of the second in chief. The nearest approach to this bearing is that of the family of Waxand, which derived its designation from a place now called Wassand, in the parish of Sigglesthorne, near Hornsea. Their arms were, Argent a fess gules and two crescents in chief of the second.1

Although these arms are also carved on a stone (91 x6} in.) now lying on the sill below,” it seems not unlikely that they are a variation of the Wassand bearings, especially as that family was connected with Sigston, as will appear later on.

Before proving this, however, it will be convenient to describe the Sigston bearing, Argent a double-headed eagle displayed sable, which also occurs on a shield in stone in Ingleby Arncliffe church. At Sigston the eagle occurs several times in the quarries around the Colville and Wassand shields. The other quarries are charged with slips of oak.

The Sigston family was a younger branch of the Northumberland family of Ryhill, which came from Ryal, formerly

The arms of Sigston in the Ryhill, in the parish of Matfen. aisle window of Kirby General Plantagenet Harrison makes

Sigston Church. 1 Roll of Arms temp. Edward III, p. 26, Papworth and Burke attribute, but where the bearer is called Monsire de without giving their authority, Sable, Wautland. In the Roll of Arms temp. a cross sarcelly (cercelée), quarterly gold Edward II, p. 41, the same arms are and silver, to Mornsell. If this is a form attributed to the Suffolk family of of Maunsell, the association with Wassand Wachesham. However, in North is explained later on. Country Roll, compiled in the reign of 3 Roll of Arms temp. Edward III, p. 12, Edward III (Collectanea Topographica where the eagle has a red beak and feet, et Genealogica, ii, 328), these arms are as had the Imperial bird. The eagles in assigned to John de Waxand, and also the glass at Sigston are entirely black. in Mr. Th. Jenyns' Booke of Armes, These quarries measure 3 x ij in. published in the Anliquary, i, 208. Her- The eagles are not on shields. vey de Watlous, of Thornton, bore not * History of Yorkshire, i, 166, where it dissimilar arms, Or on a chief azure is stated that the Ryhill arms were argent three crescents of the first (Col. Top. et three red lions rampant. No authority Gen., ii, 326). The field of the Wassand has been found for this attribution. Can coat was originally diapered in the same the author have mixed Ryhill up with way as the Colville shield, but the Fitz. Reinald, who bore gules three lions diapering is now only visible on the rampant argent ? For the Ryhill family outside.

see also the New History of Northumber. ? On the same block is carved a shield land, ix, 251. with

patonce (81 x6} in ).

[graphic]

а

a

a

a

cross

the earliest ancestor of the Sigston family who was associated with that place, to be a certain John, son of Michael de Ryhill, a younger son of Michael de Ryhill, lord of Dalton Ryhill, otherwise Dalton Michell, in the parish of Kirkby Ravensworth, who was living in 24 Henry III (1238-9), and of Alice, sister and coheir of William de Flamville, owner of properties in Northumberland.

The General adds that John, son of Michael de Ryhill, was plaintiff in an action in 49 Henry III (1264-5), against Gocelyn Deyville, and was seised of half a knight's fee in Sigston in 51 Henry III (1266–7).

Amongst the Arncliffe Hall MSS. is a document which shows how the Ryhill family became possessed of land in the parish of Kirby Sigston. It is an undertaking by which John son of Michael and Joan, his wife, bound themselves to Philip de Colville, for the payment at Thimilby, now Thimbleby, of scutage for their land in Foxton, in the parish of Sigston, which they held of Colville, whenever such scutage should be current in Alvertonchyr. The witnesses were Sir Stephen de Menill, Sir Alan son of Bryan, Sir Philip de la Leyae (sic), Sir Robert Engram, Sir Thomas Mansel, Sir Gocelin de Dayville, Sir Alan de Leke, and William de Salkoc. Only one seal remains, of which half still survives. It bears the figure of a woman with flowers in either hand. The legend, a good deal broken, ... DANNED'COLE. . showing she was a Colville by birth.

As a finel was levied on the Octave of Trinity, 52 Hen. III (1268), between William de Foxton and Laderana de Foxton, plaintiffs, and Philip de Colevile, called to warranty by John, son of Michael, and Joan, his wife, about three carucates of land and a water-mill in Foxton, it is probable the deed is of much the same date.

Foxton had been granted to Joan de Colville's grandfather, Philip de Colville, 2 by Bishop Hugh de Puiset, of Durham, towards the end of the twelfth century, and represented, no doubt, her dowry.

Michael's eldest son, Brian, who held in 1284-5 three carucates in Sigston, equivalent to half a knight's fee, died without issue, and was succeeded by his brother John, who was the first of the family to assume the territorial designation of Sigston. On WhitSunday, 1283, John, son of John, son of Michael de Sixton (sic), and his wife Ilria, relict of Geoffrey de Maunby, demised to the

[ocr errors]

3

1 Pedes Finium Ebor., 51-56 Henry III, No. 51.

2 Y.A.J., xvi, 210.
3 Kirkby's Inquest, p. 102.

« PreviousContinue »