Page images
PDF
EPUB
[ocr errors][merged small]
[graphic][subsumed][graphic]

HERALDIC GLASS FROM INGLEBY ARNCLIFFE

AND KIRBY SIGSTON CHURCHES.

BY WILLIAM BROWN, F.S.A.

THE plates illustrating this article are made from tracings and drawings by a member of our Council, the Rev. C. V. Collier, Langton Rectory, Malton. They are excellent specimens of heraldic art in the fourteenth century. The earliest and finest example is the Colville coat from Kirby Sigston, with which may be associated the other coats in the same church. These may be assigned to some time in the second quarter of the fourteenth century, probably about 1340. The arms from Ingleby Arncliffe are some twenty-five to thirty years later.

The two coats from the east window of Ingleby Arncliffe church are the same size (9 x8} in.). They represent the bearings of Joan Fauconberg, Argent a lion rampant azure, and of Joan St. Quintin," Or a chevron gules with a chief vair, the two wives of Sir William Colville, of Arncliffe and Dale, who occurs between the years 1359 and 1376. It is curious that the husband's arms do not occur. It has been suggested that they were destroyed on the attainder in 1405 of Sir John Colville, the son of Sir William Colville and Joan Fauconberg. Though this is possible, it is more likely that the loss is due to carelessness at a much later date.

In a recently published Calendar of Patent Rolls there are some interesting facts mentioned connected with the attainder of Sir John Colville. As early as July, 1403, doubts seem to have been entertained as to his fidelity, and certain commissioners, including Robert Mauleverer, whose son married his daughter, were ordered to arrest “ John Colvyle of Dale, chivaler," with others, and put them in safe conduct until further orders. If they refused to obey the arrest, they were to justify, that is, punish them as traitors and rebels. Colville seems to have made his peace with the reigning powers, as in October of the year following he and others were ordered to inquire about the withdrawal of divers rents, profits, and emoluments, ordained of old for the repair of the bridge of Yarum-on-Tese, as the said bridge was for the most part broken down.

1 Her will was proved in 1390. In it 3 Calendar of Pittent Rolls (1401-5), she left her best horse for her mortuary at Arnclifte (Test. Ebor., i, 135).

. Y.A.J., xvi, 134.

3

P.297vid., p. 506.

[ocr errors]

3

The temptation to join in rebellion proved too strong for Sir John. He actively supported the insurrection against Henry IV, headed by Archbishop Scrope, and paid the penalty of failure by losing his head at Durham some time in July, 1405. On the 22nd of that month the bailiffs of Yarum were ordered to place his head on the pillory (collistridium) of that town, and let it stay there as long as it would last.

On his forfeiture, his property was divided amongst adherents of the winning party. His office of steward of the Forest of Galtres was granted to John de Etton and Miles, his son.? John Fox, constable of Jedburgh Castle, got twenty marks a year from Budle and Spindlestone, near Bamburgh, Colville property in Northumberland; and the inhabitants of Kilburn, as a recompense for the losses they had sustained at the hands of the rebels, had a grant of 445 sheep, probably pasturing on the moors about Colville's estate at Dale Town,' not far from Kilburn. His courser, which was in the keeping of Walter Fauconberge, his cousin, was ordered to be delivered to William Fulthorpe, knight, for the king's use.5 Sir John's widow, Alice, daughter of John, Lord Darcy, claimed the manors of Sigston, West Rounton, and Thimbleby, and that of Clowecroft in Durham, under a settlement.6

The Colville coat (71 X67 in.), Or a fess gules in chief three torteaux, as well as the bearings of Wassand and Sigston, formerly in the east window of Kirby Sigston church, are now in the window of the new aisle. In 1284-5, Sir William Colville held half the manor of Sigston, but by 1315–6 his son, Sir Robert, had acquired the whole manor.? It remained in the possession of his descendants till the extinction of the family in the earlier part of the fifteenth century, when it came into the possession of the Mauleverers of Arncliffe, as representing one of the coheiresses. 8 A full account of this family is given in a former volume of the Journal, to which the reader is referred for further information.9

The attribution of the arms on the remaining shield (7x5 l in.) is not free from doubt. The arms depicted are, Argent a cross

3

1 At the same time orders were sent for the head of John Fauconberge, knt., to be set upon the pillory of Guisborough, of Ralph Hastynges, knt., on that of Helmsley, of John Fitzrandolph, knt., on that of Richmond, and of Thomas Forster on that of Scarborough. The head of William Fuster, chaplain, was placed on the Ouse Bridge, York, and those of Richard de Aske and Ranulph del See on Bootham Bar. Sir Henry de Boynton's head was sent to Newcastle,

to be placed on the bridge there (Ibid.
(1405-6), p. 69), but a day later orders
were given that it should be taken down
and handed over to his widow(Ibid., p.68).
2 Ibid., p. 21.

Ibid., p. 45.
* Ibid., p. 56.
5 Ibid., p. 78.
6 Ibid., p. 148.
? Kirkby's Inquest, pp. 102, 341.

Y.A.J., xvi, 217.
Ibid, xvi, 166.

8

9

[graphic][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors][subsumed]
« PreviousContinue »