« PreviousContinue »
THE Council of the Yorkshire Archæological Society has pleasure in placing the twenty-second volume of the Journal in the hands of members, and in doing so desires to thank the writers of the various papers for their valued communications.
The article on the Church in Ripon by the Rev. Canon Fowler, with which the volume commences, takes us back to very early times; and the same may be said of Mr. Baring Gould's two papers on the Battle of Brunanburh and Eric Bloodaxe.
Howden Church and manor-house, which were visited by the Society in July, 1912, have been ably dealt with by Mr. Bilson and Mr. Brown; and many other churches, notably in the Thirsk district, are fully described in the "Proceedings." But it has been well observed that whilst we have many experts not only in Yorkshire but throughout England who lavish their labour and their skill on ecclesiastical edifices, those are comparatively few who have devoted themselves to the study of our castles.
In a series of articles which we are promised within the next six or eight years, Mr. W. M. I'Anson is to give us an account, historical and structural, of the castles of the North Riding, in which we shall trace the evolution under the Plantagenet kings of the stone fortress from the earthen mounds of the Normans. The first of this series is contained in the present volume, and deals with the state of the castles at the accession of Henry II (anno 1154). It will come as a surprise to many, that out of some thirty such strongholds at that time xisting in Yorkshire, only two-Richmond and Scarboroughpossessed any defences in masonry; the rest were constructed entirely of earth and timber. The castles of the rectangular keep type, which in this district present unusual variety and interest, will form the subject of future communications.
Heraldry, ever popular, meets with considerable recognition in different parts of the volume--notably in a paper on heraldic stained glass by Mr. Wm. Brown, with coloured plates drawn by the Rev. C. V. Collier.
Sir George Armytage, Bart., F.S.A., having been compelled, owing to the pressure of other engagements, to resign the President's chair, this was accepted with regret ; and Col. John Parker, C.B., F.S.A., was elected President.
With the year 1913, the Society completes the fiftieth year of its existence, and fitting measures have been taken to mark so interesting an occasion. An account of these will form the opening chapters of Volume XXIII.
H. B. MCCALL.
10, PARK STREET, LEEDS,
Norimber Ist, 1913.
II. Relic of the Battle of Wakefield, 1460