« PreviousContinue »
incumbent was called a "vicar," he received the "small tithes" in addition to the annual grant made by the archiepiscopal rector. The list of payments for the year ending at Michaelmas, 1643, is as follows:
Ash Curate, William Lovelace *Maidstone Curate, Robt. Barrel Leeds Curate, Wm. Francis St. Lawrence Vicar, Wm. Dunkin Nonnington Curate, Jo. Hathway Folkstone Curate, Pet. Rogers Reculver Vicar, Barnaby Knell Alckham Vicar, Sam. Pownall River Vicar, Edw. Parke Postling Vicar, Edw. Emptage Sibertswold Vicar, Wm. Newman Kennington Vicar, Jno. Player Hernhill Vicar, Thos. Hieron Marden Vicar, John Wood St. John's in Thanet, Jo. Bankes Loose Vicar, Jo. Aymes
Folkstone Sacristan, Wm. Angel Whitstaple Curate, Edw. Goington +Blackborne Vicar, Adam Bolton Detling Vicar, Wm. Sutton
- £16 13 4
Brodehembery. Bradnynche. Talaton.
12 6 8
13 6 8
2 13 4
COUNTY OF DEVON (continued).
10 O O
In every one of the parishes above named, the Archbishop of Canterbury is still the patron of the living. To the incumbents of these parishes, however, vicarial tithes have been allotted, and in many cases glebe-land also.
26 13 4
2 13 4
A List of the Inventories of
By WILLIAM PAGE, F.S.A.
* It is well known that £10 per annum had been paid originally to the Curate of Maidstone. Archbishop Whitgift, in 1583, raised the sum to £20. Archbishop Bancroft, in 1660, made it £57 6s. 8d. In 1677 Sancroft added small tithes.
"Blackborne" may be an error for Beacksborne.
COUNTY OF DEVON (continued).
COUNTY OF DEVON (continued).
Newton Sci Petrocii.
COUNTY OF DEVON (continued).
COUNTY OF DEVON (continued).
Saynt Pathryckes of Southtowne,
Nymett Sci Georgii.
Slapton. 43. Tottenes.
[Though the Editor takes the responsibility for the form in which these notes appear, they are all specially contributed to the "Antiquary," and are, in the first instance, supplied by accredited correspondents of the different districts.]
THE BRITISH ARCHEOLOGICAL ASSOCIATION opened its forty-seventh yearly congress on July 7 at Oxford, under the presidency of the Earl of Winchilsea and Nottingham in the place of the late Earl of Carnarvon. On the opening day some of the old houses of the city were visited, under the guidance of Mr. E. G. Bruton, F.S.A., as well as the University Buildings and the Bodleian Library.
Thursday, July 10, was devoted to visits to All Souls' College; to the interesting old church and crypt of St. Peter-in-the-East, for parts of which Mr. J. Park Harrison again claimed Saxon origin; to Magdalen College, with its hall panelling brought from the dissolved Abbey of Reading; to that fine specimen of the elaborate Norman style, the church of Iffley; to the lazar house of St. Bartholomew Castle; to the keep of the castle of Oxford; and to the crypt of the chapel of St. George, found during the building of the new gaol. In the evening Mr. Bruton read a well-illustrated paper on "The Walls of the City of Oxford in the Thirteenth Century."
Proceedings and Publications of The first part of the thirteenth volume of the Pro
ceedings of the SOCIETY OF ANTIQUARIES, covering the period from November 28, 1889, to April 17, 1890, has reached us. It consists of 128 pages of letterpress, with some careful illustrations, and again bears witness to the thorough way in which the parent society maintains the lead among its numerous progeny. Among the more important papers are those of Rev. J. T. Fowler, F.S.A., on "Grave Slabs in Durham Cathedral;" of Rev. A. S. Porter, F.S.A., on the "Seals of the Archbishops of York;" of Rev. Dr. Cox, F.S. A., on "Sheriff's Precepts of Derbyshire, temp. Commonwealth;" of Mr. Somers Clarke, F.S.A., on the "Collapse of a Portion of Seville Cathedral;" of Messrs. Fox and Hope on the "Systematic Exploration of the Site of Silchester;" of Mr. Rider Haggard on "A Unique Glass Bottle of the Roman Period from Cyprus, with Internal Threads ;" and of Mr. F. G. Hilton Price, F.S.A., on " Recent Excavations on the Saalburg, near Homburg."
On July 8 Newton College was visited, where the Hon. G. C. Brodrick gave an address on the ancient buildings and statutes of the college. New College was the next centre of attraction, where the crozier of William of Wykeham, in a niche near the altar in the chapel, attracted much attention. Christ Church formed part of the programme for the same day. Mr. J. Park Harrison claimed a Saxon origin for parts of the cathedral fabric which have hitherto been considered Norman. At the evening meeting papers were read by Mr. J. S. Phené, F.S.A., on Some Features of Early British History attaching to the Vicinity of British Roads and Earthworks," and by Mr. John Gilbert on "Pre-collegiate Oxford.”
On July 9 the members of the association visited Banbury, Broughton Castle, Bloxham, Adderbury, and King's Sutton. Papers were read in the evening by Dr. Joseph Stevens on "A Cemetery recently discovered at Reading, probably of Saxon date," and by Mr. T. Morgan, F.S.A., " England and Castille in the Fourteenth Century compared."
On Friday the members visited the fine late Norman church of Witney, Burford, Minster Lovel, and Shipton. Among the papers read in the evening were "The Saxon Church of St. Leonard, Wallingford," by Mr. J. P. Harrison; "The Anglo-Saxon Charters of Abingdon Abbey," by Mr. W. de Grey Birch; and a concluding discourse, by Mr. A. J. Butler, on the recent recovery of the old brazen nose of Brasenose College.
Excursions on Saturday, 12th, to Dorchester, Ewelm, Crowmarsh, and Wallingford concluded a most successful anniversary.
The catalogue of the special exhibits brought together at the recent presidential reception, by Dr. and Mrs. Evans, of the SOCIETY OF ANTIQUARIES, on June 11, is well worthy of a comment. This twenty-eight paged catalogue of a most remarkable and unique collection is sure to fetch a high price among collection in days to come. In the library were a series of tenure and drinking horns, including the ivory horn, temp. Edward the Confessor, of York Cathedral, the Pusey horn, and the tenure horn of the Honour of Tutbury; a beautiful series of rosewater basins and ewers; and the best typical examples of English plate from fourteenth to eighteenth centuries, lent by the London companies, Oriel College, etc. In addition to several other smaller collections, the meeting-room contained a fine collection of the livery collars and insignia of British orders of knighthood.
The ROYAL SOCIETY OF ANTIQUARIES OF IRELAND held their ordinary general meeting at Athlone on July 8, when a variety of interesting papers were read; the more important being "Athlone in the Seventeenth Century," by Professor Stokes; "The Walls of Athlone," by Mr. Richard Langrishe; "An Ancient Underground Wooden Structure at Campsil, near Londonderry," by Mr. Thomas Watson; and "Two Hitherto Undescribed Inscriptions in Irish on Stone Slabs at Clonmacnois," by Mr. W. F. Wakeman. In the course of the afternoon the castle walls, ruins of St. Peter's Abbey and of the Franciscan abbey, the fortifications on the Connaught side of the town, De Ginckell's house, and the historic monuments in St. Mary's Church, were visited. The party were conducted by Mr. R. Langrishe, hon. provincial secretary for Connaught, and Rev. Dr. Stokes, the latter gentleman furnishing the interesting notes with respect to the places visited, which were printed in the excellent programme. On July 9 excursions were made by steamer on Lough Ree to Randown Castle, to Inis-Cleraun, commonly called Quaker Island or the Seven Churches Island, to InisBofin, to All Saints' Island, and to Hare Island. On July 10 the excursions, which included Clonfert Cathedral, were directed to the examination of the most interesting spot in all Ireland-Clonmacnois. The chief points at Clonmacnois to which attention was directed were the castle, the cemetery, the two round towers, the sculptured crosses, the churches within the cemetery-now six in number, and the beautiful Nuns' Church, eastward of the cemetery, erected in 1167. The next meeting of the society will be held in Donegal on September 2.
On Saturday, July 5, the CLIFTON ANTIQUARIAN CLUB made an excursion into Monmouthshire. Newport was first visited, where the remains of the castle, now used as a brewery, were examined, and some remarks on its history were made by Mr. W. W. Johns. Much regret was expressed that this interesting "historic monument" was not taken better care of. Though there are no remains visible of the Norman castle, the ruins of the Edwardian structure are still picturesque, and might be well utilized as a museum-an institution which the town does not at present possess. The fine old church of St. Woolos was then visited, and its Norman nave and western pre-Norman Lady chapel, with the beautiful Norman doorway between the two, were looked at. The shafts of the columns with their bases, on each side of
this doorway, are certainly Roman, and probably came from Caerleon. The sculpture of the two capitals represent scenes from the Deluge, the sending forth and return of the dove, and are very quaint. Proceeding by train to Caerleon, the members were met by Mr. F. I. Mitchell, F.S.A., who conducted them round the site of the once famous city of the 2nd Augustan Legion (Isca Silurum), and pointed out the scanty remains of the Roman walls, the amphitheatre, and the sites of the gates and other buildings. Mr. Mitchell much disappointed some of the members by saying that no remains had been found in "Caerleon-upon-Usk" or its neighbourhood which in any way connected the place with King Arthur and his knights, unless the castle-mound-which is certainly
pre-Roman-might prove to belong to the British period; perhaps excavation might throw light on the subject. The museum, containing a valuable collection of Roman remains found in Caerleon and Caerwent, having been visited, the party concluded an interesting day's excursion with a visit to the beautifully-situated little town of Usk(the Roman Burrium), where the remains of the Benedictine priory, founded by the De Clares, including the gateway, the Norman central tower and western portion of the priory church, and the picturesque ruins of the castle on the hill above the town, were inspected, under the guidance of the vicar, the Rev. S. C. Baker. The fine fifteenth-century rood-screen, one bay west of the tower, probably marks the division between the churches of the monks and the parish. A rubbing was taken of the curious Welsh inscription on this screen, the translation of which has hitherto puzzled all who have attempted it. It appears to be a mixture of archaic or local Welsh and dog-Latin.
The members of the BRADFORD SCIENTIFIC AssoCIATION paid a visit, on Saturday, June 21, to the Elbolton Cave, situated between Thorpe and Linton, and about nine miles distant from Skipton. Upon arrival at the shaft leading into the cave a descent of 30 feet was made into the first chamber, and the extremities of the cave were investigated by ladders connecting the different parts. An address was given by the Rev. E. Jones, who is superintending the working of the cave on behalf of the Craven Naturalists' Association, from which it appeared that their first attempt at cave-hunting was made in the summer of 1888, when a trial trench was dug in the floor. From August to December of last year a systematic exploration was made, which is still in progress. The material of the floor was mainly composed of loose angular pieces of limestone mixed with a little brown earth, the thickness of this deposit varying from 4 feet at the entrance to 17 feet at the east end. Throughout this mass bones and relics of the Neolithic Age were found, including the remains of at least twelve human beings, four in situ as buried, the remainder scattered amidst fragments of pottery, bone implements, and bones of animals such as the Celtic shorthorn, horse, wild boar, red deer, dog, etc. That this portion of the cave served as a dwelling-place is evident by traces of fire, a hearth, and charcoal. Underneath the upper cave earth is found a layer of clay, with much stalagmitic breccia, in which no human remaius have as yet been found, but abundant remains of bears, mainly Ursus ferox and doubtful cave bear, also Alpine hares, foxes, and reindeer. One end of the floor has been worked to a depth of 30 feet, exposing a further passage and chambers for a distance of about 80 feet, ending in a passage blocked by water.
春の On Saturday, June 21, the ST. PAUL'S ECCLESIOLOGICAL SOCIETY paid a visit to Waltham Abbey, under the guidance of Mr. J. Arthur Reeve. In the paper read by that gentleman, he contended, in accordance with the views of Professor E. A. Freeman, that the abbey was substantially the work of