Page images
PDF
EPUB

We now turn towards the road, and pass

Pettaugh. This manor formerly belonged to Leiston Abbey, and was granted, 28 Henry VIII., to Charles Brandon, Duke of Suffolk.

From this place, continuing our way to the road, we, at about the distance of a mile and a half, pass

STONHAM ASPAL. This has been so called from a family of the name of Aspal, or Haspele, who were many years lords and patrons here. It was also called Stonham Antegan. In this parish, very near the church, a branch of the ancient family of Wingfield had a seat called Broughton Hall, and were lords of the manor called Broughton Hall manor. The last possessor of this, the Rev. John Wingfield, M. A. died without male issue, as did also his brother Thomas, who was the last heir male of the family. The estate and manor was afterwards purchased by Philip Champion Crespigny, esq. In the churchyard is a beautiful monument to the memory of Anthony Wingfield, esq. His effigy in alabaster, much injured by time, is represented in a recumbent posture grasping a serpent.

Stonham Earl is directly on a line with Stonham Aspal, but on the opposite side of the road. This place was so called because it was anciently the lordship of Thomas Brotherton, Earl of Norfolk, and afterwards that of William Ufford, Earl of Suffolk, who married the grandaughter of Thomas Brotherton. It was afterwards Sir Thomas Gresham's. The Duke of Norfolk had the grant of a market and a fair here in the first of Edward III., and all the three parishes of Stonham are still a part of the Duke of Norfolk's liberty; but the advowson of the church is in the college of Pembroke Hall, Cambridge. Here is Deerbolt's, the ancient seat of the Driver family, whose only heir married Richard Moore, esq. of Kentwell Hall, near Long Melford, and enjoyed this property as her dower.

Stonham Parva, or Little Stonham, is on the same side of the road, and is sometimes called Stonham Jernegan, because the Jernegans were lords here till the time of Edward VI. The Goodwins afterwards sold the manor to Lady Rivers, from whom it came to Lord Orwell. In this parish is the old mansion of the family of Bloomfield.

Stonham Pye lies on our road. It is understood that one of the family of the Reeves, after they had been burnt out of London by the great fire, purchased the inn, called Stonham Pye, where they resided for many years. From thence their descendants removed to Harleston, where lately resided Mr. William Reeve, an eminent surgeon, and of considerable property. The Rev. William Reeve, his only son, vicar of Hoxne and Denham, a person of great learning, charity, and generosity, died in 1786, and in him this branch of the family became extinct. Another branch of the family resided at Beldeston. Abbot Reeve appears to have been one of the ancestors of this family, judging from the almost exact similarity of the arms. The Reeves were situated in London some time before the Restoration, and some memorials of them may still be seen in the church of St. Sepulchre.

John Reeve, alias Melford, was the last abbot who presided over the rich and noble abbey of Bury St. Edmund. He was a native of Melford, and was elected abbot in 1514. In 1522, a commission was directed to him to ascertain the bounds of Ipswich, a jury impanneled, and their return filed in Chancery. At the grand funeral solemnity of Abbot Islip, of Westminster, in 1532, he was the principal assistant. On Nov. 4, 1539, after having in vain endeavoured to avert the fatal blow by several humiliating concessions, he was compelled to surrender his splendid and wealthy monastery into the rapacious hands of Henry VIII. An annual pension of 500 marks was assigned him,

and he retired from the magnificence of his palace and dignity to a private station, in a large house at the south-west corner of Crown-street, which was the exchequer-room belonging to the abbey, and which has undergone less alteration than any other of the same age in the town of Bury, and where, in 1768, his arms were to be seen in one of the windows with a scroll beneath, inscribed

Dominus Johannes Melford Abbas.

He appears to have fallen a victim to the suddenness of the change, as he very soon sunk under the weight of disappointment and sorrow, occasioned by the havoc and devastation made in his church and abbey; the overthrow of that religion to which he was so firmly attached, with other causes, worked so strongly on his mind, as to produce the chagrin and mortification that brought him to the grave, after having survived the degradation of his order, and the loss of his abbey, only four months.

Among the numerous monuments and ancient gravestones in the church of St. Mary was that of this pious and learned man. He was interred in the middle of the chancel, and over his grave was originally placed a very large flat stone, embellished at the four corners with the arms of the abbey, impaling those of his own family, and also his effigy in brass in full pontificals, with a mitre on his head, and a crosier in his hand. But this ancient stone was most indecently broken and removed in 1717 by some Goths of the 18th century, to make room for a new one to cover the remains of a Mr. Sutton, who was buried in the very grave of the ex-abbot. The Latin inscription on the stone has been thus translated in "Abbot Reeves Lament," by a lady of Ipswich.

With mem❜ry's grateful tribute Bury owns

Her mitred Lord: here rest his humble bones:

His honour'd birth shall Suffolk's Melford claim,
John his baptismal, Reeve his natal name.
Heroic, prudent, learned, and benign,
And just was he, and lov'd his vows divine.

The day he saw, when our Fighth Henry's hand
For one and thirty years had rul d this land!
And when the spring, her charming course begun
In March, an equal term of days had run,
Sped by the Angels bright he reach'd his goal,
O, gracious God! have mercy on his soul!

MICKFIELD is about a mile to our right. Two manors are mentioned here, viz. Wolney Hall and Flede Hall; the first belonged to the alien priory of Grestein in Normandy, and is supposed to have been sold by that convent to Tydemannus de Lymbergh, about the year 1347.

WINSTON is about two miles farther to the east. A manor here, and the impropriation of the church, with the advowson of the vicarage, belongs to the dean and chapter of Ely; another, that formerly belonged to the nuns of Brusyard, was granted in the 30th of Henry VIII. to Nicholas Hare.

ASHFIELD lies two miles to the right of Winston. This manor and impropriation formerly belonged to the priory of Butley, but were granted in the 34th of Henry VIII. to Francis Framlingham. The church has been in ruins many years past. Thorp is a hamlet belonging to Ashfield.

From this place we turn again towards the road, and, at the distance of three miles, arrive at Debenham.

END OF VOL. I.

T. DAVISON, LOMBARD-STREET, WHITEFRIARS, LONDON.

[blocks in formation]
« PreviousContinue »