Page images
PDF
EPUB

The coeval archway into the nave remains intact; it consists of two orders of chamfers, the inner one springing from pier-shafts with moulded caps and bases. In the west wall of the lower stage was a small square-headed window on each side of the central buttress one of these has been altered, as referred to later. The upper stage of this early tower had lancets in the west and south walls only; the former remains intact, but the latter can only be seen by a trace inside. The steep pitch of the drip course on the east face of the tower is strong testimony to its having been formed to follow the lines of a Norman nave roof then existing. A small twolight window was inserted in the Norman south wall of the nave (now between porch and chapel) near the end of the thirteenth century.

The next alteration of the Church was the re-building of the chancel, and with it, doubtless, the extension of the nave to its present length; but the evidence of the latter has been destroyed in the addition of subsequent chapels (or the nave might have been lengthened at an earlier period when the small south window above referred to was inserted). The chancel dates from very early in the fourteenth century, and no subsequent alterations in the walls have been made other than the insertion of a piscina and of the archway and squint into the chapel; the archway opening from the nave has two orders of chamfers carried round arch and jambs, the inner one having a curious small moulded impost or cap-no base is visible, but this probably exists below the raised floor. There are two two-light windows, each with trefoil in the tracery, in the south wall with a priests' door between them; a similar window exists in the north wall of the sanctuary. The east window is a three-light one of coeval date, with three circles in the tracery, and it is remarkable that there is no cusping to the tracery of either window.

The roof is at present ceiled underneath, but the fourteenth century moulded plate is visible, and there is every reason to suppose that the trussed-rafter roof of that period exists. There are no buttresses or plinth to this work.

At near the end of the fourteenth century the south porch was added to the nave, and transept chapels, each of one bay, were erected on the north and south of the nave, commencing at near the

end of the Norman work and extending in width about half-way between this and the chancel. The archways opening into the nave are of two orders of chamfers, the outer carried down to the floor and the inner dying out on the jamb. The south chapel remains unaltered—it has diagonal buttresses at the angles, and a three-light window with flowing tracery in the south gable. In the south wall is a richly-moulded piscina with ogee cusped arch, a square bowl partially cut away, and an added wood shelf. The existence of this feature here indicates the dedication of the chapel as a chantry. The original roof remains, with moulded tie-beam and central kingpost with braces.

Late in the fifteenth century (circa 1490-1500) the north chapel was extended in length to overlap part of the chancel and converted into an adjunct more resembling an aisle with roof running east and west instead of transept-wise as before, a second arch being inserted in the wall of the nave eastward of the original one (a flat pier being left between them), and a corresponding one in the north wall of the chancel. In carrying out these alterations the fourteenth century walls appear to have been re-built (or re-faced), for, like the rest of the work of this chapel, they have no buttresses; the external masonry throughout is the same coursed stone and flint work, and the same plinth mould is carried round. But the north and west windows were re-inserted in their former positions; thus, although the west wall became a gable under the new plan, the same low two-light square-headed window which formerly came under the eaves was retained, and kept at its low level, and a new two-light square-headed window of the type prevailing at the date of the alteration placed over, but not central with it, making a curious two-storey arrangement; then the three-light window in the north wall was replaced opposite the arch, as it would have originally existed when in the centre of the north gable of the transept chapel. The rest of the work in this aisle chapel is of the late and somewhat debased type of Perpendicular prevailing early in the sixteenth century. The doorway in the north wall and the east window of three lights have four-centred arches, and the latter is without cusps in the tracery. The waggon-head roof still remains. In the north wall of this

chapel (not central with either of the two easternmost bays, nor quite opposite the pier coming between them) is a very remarkable recessed five-light bay window of quite a domestic type, but coeval with the enlargement of the chapel, and like the east window there is no cusping in the head; it projects on the outside and is roofed transversely with the rest, the recess is carried to the floor inside (not like the somewhat similar specimen at North Bradley, where it stops at the sill level, forming the mensa of a tomb) and is separated from the chapel by an archway of the same type as the two opening into the nave and chancel, respectively. These arches of two orders of chamfers spring from pier shafts with moulded capitals of debased type, and the centre from which they are described is below the cap level. There are two small crosses cut on the abaci of the caps to the bay. A squint was formed at this time between the chapel and the chancel, directed towards the high altar, and a large piscina with square sunk bowl (without projection beyond the wall) was inserted in the south wall of the chancel.

At about the same time important alterations were made in the nave. The walls were raised to their present level (the coursed flint and stonework clearly distinguishes this from the Norman work on the south side), and the waggon-head roof of four bays with tiebeams and plaster panels, which now remains, was put on. The westernmost window on the north side, without cusping, label, or inner arch, was also inserted; it has since lost its mullions. The other window in this wall is an earlier insertion (circa 1430) and has an outside label mould and inside arch, but it, too, is now without mullions or tracery. [The easternmost window in the south wall of the nave is a modern insertion.]

In spite of the tower having already shown serious signs of settlements, the builders in the first half of the fifteenth century did not hesitate to raise it by one stage, and upon this to erect a stone spire, but before doing so they proceeded to strengthen the thirteenth century substructure, the foundations of which were very defective. Underpinning of existing walls does not seem to have been practised in the medieval period, but instead of it one frequently meets with immense buttresses and ties, which must have

been much more costly. In this case, although the state of the earlier foundations must have been discovered in strengthening the buttresses (which are carried deeper), they were let alone, and the following works were done :-a large piece of the south-west angle was re-built (advantage being taken of this to insert a two-light window in the west wall south of the central buttress), the two adjacent buttresses were taken down and a diagonal one erected; the middle buttress on the north side was extended in projection and carried higher-(the difference between the earlier and later parts of this buttress is clearly seen, and it is interesting to see that oyster shells are used in the mortar joints of the latter, but not in the former;) the easternmost buttresses on the north and south sides were similarly treated, but not carried so high.. The fifteenth century upper stage of the tower has a two-light window in each face, and a plain parapet, within which the spire rises; the latter is divided in height by three stone bands, or collars, formed of plain projecting semi-roll mouldings.

There is a sundial cut on the south-west buttress of the south chapel, and the half of another on the quoin suggests that the latter (at least) is older than the chapel-the dial stone having been cut and re-used.

In 1857 the interior of the Church underwent restoration and re-seating, but the fabric remains unaltered. In carrying out the work then done the floor of the chancel was raised. It is evident from the level of the piscina, and from the fact that the bases of both of the later arches in the north aisle chapel (opening into nave and chancel respectively, the base of the latter being now hidden) are on the same level, that the level of the nave floor was carried through, without any step, to the east end of the chancel, with perhaps one step on which the altar was placed-although this could not have been carried across to the south wall. This arrangement, originally made in the fourteenth century, was not found inconvenient at the end of the fifteenth, when the piscina was inserted, and it seems a pity that our nineteenth century use could not have been so adapted to it as to avoid so radical an alteration of the building.

Notes from the Diary of Sir Anthony Ashley Cooper, First Earl of Shaftesbury :

Born 1621, Died 1683.

By THE LATE J. Waylen.

[These notes are printed as they were left by Mr. Waylen. He had intended writing a fuller memoir, but this was never done.]

CHE estates of this knight in Wiltshire were at Purton,

Damerham, Martin, and Loders: his Dorset seat was St. Giles, Wimborne. His father dying early left him in the hands of the following trustees:-Sir Daniel Norton, a sea-captain residing at Southwick, near Portsmouth; Mr. Hannam, of Wimborne; and Mr. Edward Tooker, his uncle, of Salisbury and Maddington, with the latter of whom he principally resided during his minority. In 1637 he was entered at Exeter College, Oxford, and early showed his pluck by organizing and heading an insurrection against the barbarous practice of "Tucking Freshmen." Time out of mind it had been the custom for one of the seniors, acting as executionergeneral for the occasion, to summon the freshmen up to the hall-fire, on a given evening, and bidding them hold out their chins, then with the nail of his right thumb (left long for the purpose) to grate off all the skin from the lip to the chin; concluding the torture by compelling the victim to drink a glass of salt-and-water; and so on till all the new comers of that year had been treated. Young Cooper perceiving that the freshmen contemporary with himself happened to be more than usually stalwart and numerous, engaged with them to act in unison, and to strike a decisive blow in defence of their chins; and as it was expected that his own name would be the first called, he consented to give the signal for attack. The senior who summoned him happened to be a son of the Earl of Pembroke. Cooper, nothing daunted, opened the campaign by

« PreviousContinue »