« PreviousContinue »
Geometrical Elevations of South Front, North and East Sides, taken in 1827, also Perspective (coloured) of South Front of Gwysaney. Sketch of Gwysaney by Moses Griffith, secretary and artist to Pennant the historian, 1803. The gift to Mr. Davies-Cooke of the Ven. Archdeacon Thomas.
Portrait of Pyers Pennant of Bychton, near Holywell, Vice-Admiral of North Wales. Drawn from some picture by Moses Griffith. Portrait of Miss Adelaide Cooke, by Bonavia.
Portrait of Lieut.-General Cooke, C. B., by Bonavia.
Portrait of Robert Davies, Esq., of Gwysaney, High Sheriff of Flint, b. 1684, d. 1728. His wife was Ann Brockholes of Claughton, co. Lancaster, sister of Catherine Duchess of Norfolk.
Portrait of Eleanor, daughter and coheiress of Sir Peter Mytton, Knt., M.P., wife of Sir Kenrick Eaton of Eaton, Knt. Died in 1637.
Sword of Saadut Ali, Nawab of Oude, 1798.
Sword found in a field near Gwysaney, 1875, evidently used at the siege in 1645.
Portrait of Anne, wife of Robt. Davies, Esq., of Gwysaney, daughter and coheiress of Sir Peter Mytton, Knt., M.P. for co. Carnarvon. Married at Gresford Church in 1631. Died 1690. Portrait of Henry VI, King of England, b. 1421, d. 1471. Portrait of Sir John Vaughan, Lord Chief Justice of Common Pleas, M.P. for Cardiganshire; b. 1608, d. 1674. By Sir Godfrey Kneller.
Portrait of Colonel John Robinson of Gwersyllt, a distinguished Royalist, b. 1603, d. 1680.
Portrait of a Gentleman, unknown; probably Mytton Davies, Esq., M.P.
Portrait of Robert Puleston, Esq., of Hafod y Wern, Wrexham ; b. 1613, d. 1634.
Portrait of Sarah, wife of the first Earl of Bessborough.
Portrait of Miss Frances Puleston, sister of Philip Puleston, Esq., of Hafod y Wern; b. 1735, d. 1804. By Downes.
Portrait of Captain John Davies, Royal Horse Guards Blue, wounded at the battle of Dettingen (vide London Gazette, June 1743); b. 1720, d. 1812.
Portrait of Bryan Cooke of Owston, co. York, M.P., in uniform of Royal Horse Guards Blue.
Portrait of Elizabeth, wife of Mytton Davies, Esq., of Gwysaney, M.P. for co. Flint, 1678; High Sheriff, 1670. Daughter of Sir Thomas Wilbraham, Bart., of Woodhey, co. Chester. Portrait of William Roberts, Bishop of Bangor.
Portrait of Frances Puleston, heiress of Gwysaney and Hafod y Wern, wife of Bryan Cooke, Esq., M.P., of Owston, co. York; b. 1765, d. 1818. By Romney.
Portrait of John Davies, afterwards Captain Davies of Regt. of Horse Guards Blue; b. 1720, d. 1812.
Portrait of Colonel Bryan Cooke of Owston, co. York, M.P., in uniform of Royal Horse Guards Blue; b.1756, d. 1821. By Romney. Portrait of Mary Davies, afterwards Mrs. Hughes of Halkyn Hail; b. 1723, d. 1799.
Portrait of John Davies, Esq., of Gwysaney, High Sheriff, 1775-76. Died 1785.
Portrait of Letitia Vaughan, wife of Robert Davies of Gwysaney and Llanerch Park, daughter of Edward Vaughan, Esq., of Trawscoed, co. Cardigan, M.P., and sister of the first Viscount Lisburne. By Sir Godfrey Kneller.
Portrait of Robert Davies, Esq., High Sheriff of co. Flint for years 1644-46 and 1660. Defender of Gwysaney, April 1645. Born 1616, d. 1666.
Portrait of the Lady Louisa de Spaen, daughter of Robert Earl of Kingston, and wife of Alexandre, Baron de Spaen.
Portrait of Anne, wife of Robert Davies, Esq., of Gwysaney, and daughter of Sir Peter Mytton, Knt., M.P. Died 1690. Painted in 1643 by T. Leigh.
Portrait of a gentleman, unknown.
Portrait of King Charles II.
Large Gilt, Brass Dish (repoussé work) representing Albert and Isabella of the Netherlands. Date, 1563.
A drive of over seven miles brought the party back to Holywell. Nerquis Church.-A visit to Nerquis was included in the programme of the excursion on Tuesday, but owing to the unforeseen delay in Mold, caused by the rain, it was omitted. This short notice by the Rev. T. H. Lloyd, M.A., now Vicar of Llansant ffraid yn Mechain, has been kindly prepared in order to supply, in some measure, the omission:
Nerquis, or Nercwys as it should be written, is one of the ancient chapelries of Mold. Its etymology is not certain. Some think it is equivalent to "God's Acre"; others, that it is derived from its situation on a ridge in the breast of the hill: ewys a ridge or furrow, ner=fair or sunny, and therefore divine.
It is dedicated to the Blessed Virgin, as is also the motherchurch of Mold. The church originally was in the form of a simple parallelogram, with a western tower surmounted by a wooden spire. În 1847 north and south transepts were added, and a small projection at the east end, to admit of the small Holy Table, which had previously stood in the body of the church surrounded by pews. The unrestored portions of the structure are of various dates. The
5TH SER. VOL. VIII.
tower and parts of the nave are apparently of twelfth century character; the remainder of the fifteenth century; one window and probably the outer porch doorway are of late thirteenth century work.
In 1883-4, the writer of this notice being then the incumbent, the church was thoroughly and completely restored, Mr. J. Oldrid Scott being the architect, when over £2,000 were expended. It now is one of the prettiest and most interesting churches in the diocese. The large west end gallery was removed, and this brought into view a plain Norman arch of fine proportions, which had previously been hidden by the gallery and a wooden screen erected between the nave and the base of the tower. The latter was used as a coalhole! but now has been thrown open, and converted into a baptistery; the oak-panelling of the old pews forming the wainscot, and the ancient oak benches with round ends, brought from the gallery, affording sitting room on three sides. The tower, which is peculiar, having no original external entrance, and the spire, were thoroughly repaired, and the latter covered with oakshingles measuring about 9 ins. by 4. In lieu of the gallery a lean-to aisle was added to the north side of the nave, and the church was extended eastward so as to obtain space for a chancel beyond the modern transepts.
In taking down the old walls on the north and east sides several flat, coffin-shaped, sculptured slabs, of various characters and dates, were discovered embedded in the masonry. Those with the Stafford knot, and the one with human face, feline ears, and pisciform tail, are probably the most ancient, whilst the floriated crosses are very elaborate. The stones are carefully preserved in the porch, being placed on the stone seats, and dowelled to the walls. The sedilia are formed by an oak bench placed under a section of an ancient roodscreen. It is of elaborate design; full of foliage and rich tracery, with canopied niches for statuettes, resembling in character the grand screen at Hexham Abbey. It is locally known as Cadair Fair", and said to have been brought from Old St. Chad's, Shrewsbury; but there is not the slightest proof for this local supposition. It stood, prior to the restoration, at the north-east corner of the church, behind the pulpit; placed there by Sir George Wynne of Leeswood, who was a great traveller, as was also his cousin, Wilson the artist. What more likely than that Sir G. Wynne bought this oak-work abroad? Indeed, it is certain that it was erected by him over his intended burial-place; which, however, he was fated never to occupy, having died in the old Fleet, in London, a prisoner for debt. There is a brass plate on a slab in the floor, in front of the pulpit, to this effect: "This is the buriai-place of Sir Geo. Wynne, 1660." Strange to say, it should have been 1760.
The pulpit, which is of oak, of the Tudor period, has been cleaned of several coats of paint, and now shows to advantage its beautiful grain and elaborate carving. It is very small; so much so that the Bishop of St. Asaph, who was preaching on the occasion of re
opening the church after the addition of the transepts in 1847, complained to the then Vicar (Ap Ithel, one of the founders of this Journal and Association) of its limited accommodation, and the apt retort was "that it was quite large enough for the living", Nerquis being one of the poorest incumbencies in the diocese.
The old oak Elizabethan Communion-Table, now placed in the vestry, is interesting as being a rare specimen of those made in obedience to the order of Queen Elizabeth, "that the Table should stand east and west." The legs of the end which would probably be placed west are square, and elaborately carved in relief; while those which would in this case look east are round, with less and plainer carving.
A portion of a stone jamb, which was found hidden in the old walls, with good ball-flower carving, forms the base of a new stone credence-table.
Some medieval stained glass has been incorporated with the new glass (by Burlison and Grylls) in the east window erected to the memory of the late Captain Wynne and Mr. F. Lloyd Fletcher by their brother, Mr. P. Lloyd Fletcher, the present Squire of Nerquis Hall, who with his sisters contributed largely to the restoration. Among other bits are the badges of King Richard III, viz., the yellow lion and white boar, and also a white rose in the rising sun. The old glass is very distinct from the new, being more transparent.
The restoration has been most conservative; the new work corresponds in character with the old; the distinctive features of the old work being jealously preserved, and all the disjecta membra which could not be incorporated in the structure being carefully preserved within the walls of the church.
Registers.-These are not complete. The earliest remaining entry is A.D. 1665, several pages in the oldest book having been evidently lost. They were formerly kept within an iron box placed in the vestry of the church, but are now preserved at the Vicarage. Not many years ago a forcible entry was made into the church, and the box was carried away into a neighbouring field, and there forced open by thieves, who hoped to find within it the Communion-plate, which is of sterling silver, of early eighteenth century workmanship. Fortunately the plate had been for some time previous kept in the Vicarage. The thieves, however, were so disappointed that they made a heap of the Registers, and set fire to them; but a timely shower of rain, added to the fact of their being made of parchment, saved them.
The following extract from the Owston MSS. (Arch. Camb., Ser. IV, vol. ix, p. 145) will show some of the evils which followed the dissolution of monasteries (Nerquis and Mold being attached to Bisham Abbey), and, on the other hand, a cheering contrast between the present and the past, there being now three Sunday services in Nerquis Church, regularly performed, in addition to a Sunday School: "1632. The humble petition of the parishioners and inhabit
auntes of the seuerall parishes of Nerquis and Treythin to the reuerend father in God, John, by God's Providence Bushopp of Sainte Assaphen.' This undated paper (which appears from its contents and penmanship to have been drawn in some year of Charles the First's reign) exhibits a remarkable picture of spiritual destitution and clerical neglect. The services, it is alleged, being either neglected or performed at irregular and inconvenient times in the churches of the said parishes, the parishioners are compelled to waste their time on Sundays in waiting vainly for clerical offices, or are tempted to pass it in godless diversions, when they do not neglect to assemble themselves at their churches. 'That in regard thereof, runs the petition', 'most of the youthes and yonger sorte of people in either parishe doe commonly haunt the hare with greyhoundes and houndes vpon the Sundayes in the morninge, or doe vse to play at the foot boole, and boole, tenins, and bowles, within the severall churchyards of both parish churches, in regard they stay soe longe for service, when it is lastly redd in their church; and that th' elder sorte doe commonly fall to drinking or some vnlaw full games, and some of the elder sorte dryven to returne home, staieing to longe for meate.' No, or only few, sermons have been preached in the churches for sixteen years past, during which time also the catecizeinge of children' has been almost totally neglected. The date of this paper is shown by a subsequent paper dated 5 Dec. 1640."
EVENING MEETING, TUESDAY, AUG. 19TH.
The Committee of the Association met at 8.30 P.M., to receive the Reports of the various officers, and discuss business matters.
EXCURSION, WEDNESDAY, AUG. 20TH.
The carriage excursion on the third day, Wednesday, was in a westerly direction, starting, as before, at 9.30 A.M., from the King's Head at Holywell. The first point made for was Caerwys, four miles south-west of Holywell as the crow flies; but which has to be approached by a circuitous route, owing to intervening hills.
Caerwys is believed to occupy the site of a Roman station, and the rectangular arrangement of the streets seems to favour this view. Nothing beyond the plan of the town was seen that would confirm the theory of its Roman origin.
Caerwys Church.-The church was the only object of interest which claimed attention. The ecclesiastical buildings seen on the previous day near Mold were of an English type; the one at Caerwys is distinctly Welsh. The plan consists of a nave and chancel of nearly the same width, with a tower and aisle on the north side; together extending the whole length of the church. The tower,