Page images
PDF
EPUB
[merged small][graphic][merged small][merged small]

angle shafts and nail-head ornament in an angle of the roll- WARSOP mould.

A clerestory was added in the 15th century, when the chancel arch was also raised about 3ft., to suit the increased height of the nave, by placing short shafts with embattled capitals upon the capitals of the earlier responds.

A single corbel in the east wall of the north aisle is all that remains to indicate the position of either of the side altars.

The spacious chancel retains its 14th century plan, and one of its handsome windows of three lights on the south, the sill of which has been raised on account of a building added externally. There are also sedilia of a usual Nottinghamshire character, with four ogee arches under a horizontal hood-mould, the easternmost containing a piscina with quatrefoil bowl, and the other three having seats at different levels for celebrant, deacon and sub-deacon, probably more deeply recessed in their original condition.

The other windows of the chancel are later insertions. In the 15th century the large six-light east window was inserted, which has recently been filled with good glass (1906) by Srigley and Hunt of Lancaster. The fine roof is of the same date, and was erected when the clerestory was added to the nave, as may be seen externally where the same parapet is continued round nave and chancel roof. The roof has four slightly cambered tie-beams supported by well-carved angels bearing shields upon corbels in the walls. The centre boss upon one beam shows a lion passant sunk within an oblong border.

A feature of remarkable interest is preserved in the roof. On the eastern face of one of the tie beams there is to be seen a "squirrel-cage" pulley, arranged to work on an iron spindle fixed to the short king-post. [Plate V.] The side of the tie-beam is slightly cut away to allow a suspending cord, or more probably a flat leather band, to run over the pulley. Its position, 15ft. or one bay from the chancel arch, and 30ft. from the east wall, seems too far westward for the hanging

CHURCH

CHURCH

WARSOP pyx, the vessel for the reservation of the Blessed Sacrament, which was hung above the high altar. The roller therefore was probably for the suspension of a light, or a corona of lights, hanging by means of a counterpoise in the middle of the chancel stalls.

There are two doorways near the middle of the south side of the chancel: The westernmost, now blocked up, was a priest's door, and the other leads into a narrow chamber or vestry, already mentioned as having been built at the end of the 15th century, as an addition against the south wall of the chancel, and extending nearly the length of the two eastern bays. The purpose of this building is not clear; there is no evidence of its having been a mortuary chapel, and there was originally no entrance to it from the outside. It was probably intended as a vestry.

In the windows of this chamber some interesting fragments of glass have been inserted for preservation, said to have been taken from the 15th century east window. It is, however, chiefly 14th century glass. There is a head of a female saint, with yellow-stained hair, and a portion of a nimbus with side locks from another figure. Also two other bearded heads, one with a curious brimmed hat being of later date. Here also is a fine specimen of heraldic glass of the 14th century, with the Lexington arms, argent a cross paty azure, the field of white glass beautifully diapered.' [Plate VI.] This shield is also used by Sutton, as at Averham.2 The manor and advowson of Warsop passed about 1260 from Lexington to Sutton, who held it until 1329, which fixes the latest limit of date for this heraldic glass.

There are four bells, with these inscriptions:

[ocr errors][merged small]
[ocr errors]

[Note D].

2. GOD BE OVR SPEED 1747 [Note C].

(1) I prefer to describe the charge simply as a cross paty, according to the pre-Tudor heralds, rather than by any of the terms invented later for the various ways of drawing a splayed cross.

(2) Transactions of the Thoroton Society, 1913, p. 34.

[merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][graphic]
« PreviousContinue »