Page images
PDF
EPUB
[graphic][graphic][merged small]

the Tudors. Sir John Byron of Colwick, acquired the site of the Priory of Newstead, at the Dissolution of Monasteries in 1540. Why he should have set out to rebuild Colwick Church during the troubled period which followed, is not clear, for church building was quiescent during the latter part of the reign of Henry VIII. This nave, therefore, exhibits a specimen of architecture which is exceptional, and I do not think the county contains another example of ecclesiastical work of that period. But what is more remarkable still, is the fact that a chantry altar was actually set up and consecrated within this church some years after chantries had been suppressed; the particulars of this are set forth in the paper on the monuments.

In 1643, the Byrons removed to Newstead, and shortly afterwards the Colwick estates came into the possession of Sir John Musters, who "repaired the church at great expense, and new built the chancell and steeple." In 1661, as a memorial of the Restoration of the Monarchy, the oak panelling was taken from the dining-room of the old hall, and made up into a dado and seating for the body of the church. The dado consists of two tiers of moulded raise-mitred panels, with a laid-panel above. There are thirty-two of these laidpanels in all, and each one is carved in low relief with Renaissance ornament, consisting of masks and scrollwork. Similar panelling, carved with the "linen-fold" pattern was used for the choir seats.

In 1684, the western tower and the chancel were rebuilt, and battlements were added to the nave, when the church assumed its present outward appearance, save that a vestry and organ chamber have been built on the north side in recent years. The tower, now used as a vestry, is bald and ugly, and the chancel would be uninteresting, were it not for the monuments which it contains. These can be seen but imperfectly in the dim light, which filters through the painted glass of the pseudo-gothic windows. Just about a 100 years ago, the east window was painted by that accomplished lady, Mrs. Sophia Musters, whose monument is on the south side

COLWICK
CHURCH

COLWICK
CHURCH

of the altar. The figure subjects were copied from a window in the chapel of New College, Oxford, painted by Sir Joshua Reynolds, and they do the lady much credit.

There is a deep gallery across the west end of the church, and beneath it, a Carolean font.

The following is a list of the early Rectors, as given in Torre's MS. :

11 March 1282. Hen. de Newton. Will de Colewyks. mil.

2 March 1322.

Rog. fil Ric. de Belegant de Stainton. Idem.

28 August 1326.

3 April 1348. 15 April 1358.

Joh. de Stanton de Lancaster. Idem.

Joh. de Caton (died)

Phil de Colwyk. Tho. de Longvillers, mil.

Will. Marescall de Stretford. Will. de Colwyk (resd. for the Vicarage of Getyn, Linc. dioc.)

8 March 1363. Will Freman. Ric. de Bevercotes (resigned for the Church of Boudon, Linc. dioc.)

12 Dec. 1365.

10 Dec.
30 Aug.

23 Aug.

1368.

1409.

Will Sewalle. Idem. (resigned)

Joh. Godwyn. Idem. (resigned)

Robt. Poule. Dame Joana relict of Ric. Byron, mil. (resigned for the Church of Stilton, Linc. dioc.)

1413. Joh. fil. de Will. Maggeson de Estwell. Eadem (resigned for the Vicarage of Wyrkesworth, Carlisle Diocese.)

Will. Henryson. Peter de la Pole.

Thurstan Percivall. Feoffees of Jonn Byron, mil.
Ric. Pendilton (died)

Joh. Holme. Joh. Byron mil. (died)

10 July
10 Oct.

1420.

1437.

12 Feb.

1487.

[blocks in formation]

1569.

Olyver Haywoode (deprived).

17 June
Joh. Cletam. Joh. Byron arm. (died)
Nov. 1569.1 Will Aldridge. Idem (died)
15 March 1627.

26 March 1662.

Robt. Theobalds. Joh. Byron de Bal. mil.

Carolus Parrey. Joh. Musters arm.

(1) Parish register gives 1576.

CHURCH

The Registers of Colwick' date from 1569, when John COLWICK Cletam was rector. He was followed by William Aldred, who was rector for fifty-one years (1576—1627). His successor was Robert Theobald, a scholar of some distinction, and the author of Latin verses, who was elected Scholar of Trinity College, Cambridge, from Westminster School, in 1601; and appointed Headmaster of Nottingham Free Grammar School, on 29th May, 1616. He was to have "20li wages and the howse and to be moderate in takinge borders." During his mastership, the celebrated Colonel Hutchinson was a boy in the school. Writing in the Memoirs, concerning her sons, Mrs. Hutchinson says, "when it was time for them to go to school, both the brothers were sent to board with Mr. Theobald, the master of the Free School at Nottingham, who was an excellent scholar; but having no children, some wealth, and a little living that kept his house, he first grew lazy, and after, left off his School." He resigned the mastership in 1627, and then became Rector of Colwick. He appears to have lived with the Hutchinsons in Nottingham while he was rector, for the Memoirs say "there was also an old man who had been Mr. Hutchinson's first schoolmaster, a person once of great learning, but afterwards becoming a cynic, yet so pleasantly maintaining that kind of humour, that his conversation was sometimes a good diversion." His remarkably clear handwriting is in the registers from 16281643, the year of his death. The entry of his burial, which is very faint and almost illegible, is as follows:-Mr. Robert Theobald Master of Arts and Rector of Colwick was buried the 23rd of June 1643."

The churchyard is separated from the grounds on the south by a high wall, which corresponds with the brickwork of the hall. The enclosing wall on the north and west sides, the entrance gates, and one of the gate piers, were set up when the churchyard was enlarged about twenty-five years

(1) Contributed by Mr. S. Corner.

« PreviousContinue »