Page images
PDF
EPUB

CUCKNEY

and tower. The whole of the rough-cast was removed from NORTON the walls, which were repaired and pointed. A heating CHURCH chamber was constructed adjoining the vestry, a new wall was built on the east side of the vestry, with a window like the existing 16th century one. Moulded stone cornices of a Gothic character were put to the nave walls, and the porch walls underpinned, the buttresses, bases, and plinths repaired and the gable raised and restored to its original pitch, as well as the gable at the east end of the nave. The walls under the tower arch, the gallery and staircase were removed. New open timbered roofs of a higher pitch were substituted for the former low-pitched roofs over the nave and porch. The floors of the nave, north aisle, and tower were lowered to what is believed to have been their original levels, about 18in. below the ground outside. Plaster was stripped from the walls of the nave and they were pointed, the old pews were removed and pitch pine seating fitted, and four steps were added to the sanctuary.

Altar, pulpit, and screen across the tower were added at the same time.

The architect was Mr. Louis Ambler, F.R.I.B.A.

There is an old Jacobean table in the vestry. An old holy water stoop has recently been recovered from a garden at Norton.

In 1914 two bells were added by the Duke of Portland, the whole hung in a new frame.

The dates and inscriptions on the bells are:

Tenor. 1639 (re-cast 1914).

"All men that hear my mournful sound,

Repent before ye lie in ground."

5. 1626. "God save this Church."

4. 1810." P. Donisthorne, Vicar, J. Presley & B. Turner,

wardens, T. Hilton founder Wath.”

3. 1641.-" God save this Church."

[blocks in formation]

In the churchyard, on the south side of the nave, this curious inscription appears on a tombstone:—“ Sarah, the wife of George Shaw, who died the 5th, April 1797 in the 767 year of her age."

The pewter plate, dated 1687, consists of a chalice.

The registers date from 1632.

The following entries appear in the registers of Norton Cuckney Church :

"May 17, 1751.

"We whose names are hereunder written inhabitants of the Parish of Cuckney do agree and apoint that for the future no Churchwarden or Clerk of the said Parish shall

have any right or claim to the Bell ropes. But that they shall continue at the Bells from year to year as long as fit to ring with and when new ropes are put to ye Bells, the old ones to remain in the Church to repair those in use when wanted and that the Clerk for repairing or mending the same shall be paid from time to time as the Churchwardens shall so propos

[blocks in formation]

"Sep 22, 1759 Memorandum of an Agreement by all the Parishioners that from ye date hereof there shall be no ale alowd about any work done by ye parish nor no Foxes paid for but what is visibly brought into the Church yard nor

[graphic][merged small][merged small]

no ale to be alowd to any days of Rejoycing for ye Ringers
but what ye Vicar and Churchwardens is agreeable to alow
"Edward Otter, Vicar

"Etc."

NORTON
CUCKNEY
CHURCH

After luncheon at the Greendale Oak Inn, the party proceeded by the road alongside Carburton Lakes to Carburton, where the following notes on the church were read by Mr. Harry Gill.

CARBURTON CHURCH.

BY MR. HARRY GILL.

The " Chappell of Carberton" is one of the three chapels-of-ease to "the antient mother church of Edwinstowe." It stands, as Domesday form of the name implies, on "the Cars," or land liable to flood, in the "barley enclosure" of the king's manor of Mansfield (Carbertone).

The edifice is small and severely plain, but nevertheless, its "quaintness" and general air of antiquity excites our interest.

The plan is a simple parallelogram, 50ft. long by barely 15ft. wide (14ft. 10in.), comprizing chancel and nave under one roof, with a porch at the south-west and a small vestry at the north-east.

The walls, covered externally with "rough cast" stucco, and smoothly plastered within, are nearly 3ft. in thickness (2ft. 9in.), and still retain three of the original windowstwo at the east end and one on the south side. These small, round-topped loop windows, under 3ft. in height (2ft. 9in.), and only 6in. wide, placed fairly high up in the wall, deeply splayed within, and having the glass line almost flush with the outside face of the wall, are very characteristic of a small village church of early Norman times, and suggest the opening years of the 12th century as the most probable date of erection.

CARBURTON
CHURCH

« PreviousContinue »