« PreviousContinue »
The subscriptions and arrears amount to £436, or £36 increase on last year, and the receipts are further augmented by the balance of the Llangefni Meeting, £26, but similar balances cannot be calculated upon in the future. The total increase in receipts is £79 over last year, and the expenditure almost the same in both years, though there would have been an increase of £45 if the printing bill had been paid. It is satisfactory to note that £41 has been spent on excavations this year, against £5 5s. last year.
The question of reducing the balance in hand will no doubt have to be taken into serious consideration; but it must not be forgotten that, owing to the subscriptions of the Members not being received. by the Treasurer until the end of the year, practically the expenditure of one whole year has to be provided for out of the balance in hand. In fact, on the 1st January, the balance at the bank was only £178, although on paper it was £568.
The whole of the capital in Consols is not deposited for distribution, as the interest of part is already allocated for specific purposes.
EDITORIAL REPORT, 1911.
"The articles printed in Archeologia Cambrensis from July, 1910, to July, 1911, include the following :
"Pre-Historic Cooking-Places in South Wales," by T. C. Cantrill and O. T. Jones, to which is appended a comprehensive and detailed list of pre-historic hearths in the six counties, most valuable for reference. "The Dolmens of the Channel Islands," by Warin F. Bushell, a promising young archæologist, worthy son of a valued contributor, Rev. W. Done Bushell, F.S.A., who in a later number has furnished a thoughtful and suggestive paper, dealing with a kindred subject in S. Wales, entitled: Amongst the Prescelly Circles."
"An Implement of Crystalline Quartz from Freshwater West, Pembrokeshire" by Arthur L. Leach.
"The Racial Analysis of the Welsh People," abstract of a paper by Dr. Fleure.
"Cil Ivor Camp," by Colonel W. Llewelyn Morgan, R.E.
"Roman Roads in Cheshire and North Wales," by M. Venables Taylor.
"The Scotti and Picti in the Excidium Brittania," by Rev. A. Wade Evans, and a second article, also by Mr. Wade Evans, dealing with the same period, "The Saxones in the Excidium Brittaniæ.”
"The Origin of the Annales Cambria, and the True Date of S. David's Death," by E. Williams Nicholson.
III.-Mediaval and Later Periods.
"The Cistercian Abbey of Cwm Hir," by Dr. E. Hermitage Day, F.S.A.
"The Charters of the City of Chester," by Rupert H. Morris.
Recent Excavations at Siamber Wen, near Dyserth," by Rev. Kenelm DigbyBeste, S.J.
"The Burial of Llywelyn ap Gruffydd," by Rupert H. Morris.
"Notes on Some Radnorshire Place-Names, by Professor Edward Anwyl.
A continuation of the cleverly illustrated series of papers on "The Monumental Effigies of Pembrokeshire," by E. Laws, F.S.A., and E. H. Edwards.
"The Last Irish Invasion of Man," by Wm. Webster, giving some account of the unique ceremony of the Promulgating of Laws on Tynwald Hill, a survival of a Scandinavian institution-the curious sepulchral slabs, illustrating the adaptation by Christian Norsemen of Celtic motives in their decorative art. Two articles on Investitures of Successive Princes of Wales," by the Editor. The Report of the Llandrindod Meeting contained fairly full accounts (abundantly illustrated) of The Centurial Stone of Valerius Flavinus; The Cistvaen, Long and Round Barrows, Llanelwedd; The Series of Entrenchments near LlanddewiYstrad-Ennau; Castell Dinboeth; The Forest Inn Mounds, Tomen Castle and Tomen Krygerydd; Castell Collen; The Norman Doorway and Tympanum Llanbadarn Fawr; The Churches of Llanbister, Llananno (roodloft and screen), New Radnor, Old Radnor (font, screen, organ case). Llanavan Fawr, Aberedw, Llanelwedd; The curious "Four Stones"; The Battlefield of Pilleth associated with Owain Glyndwr, and Cefn y Bedd with its memories of Llywelyn ap Gruffydd; The Castles of New Radnor, Builth and Aberedw.
Short Notices have appeared on An Inscribed Cinerary Urn and Crescent-shaped Object found at Llandrindod; Stone Hammer, Rhayader; Inscribed Stone, Llandaff; Roman Mosaic, Chester; Roman Fort, Gellygaer; Excavations at Caerwent; Britain's First Boat; Report by the Pembrokeshire Association for the Preservation of Ancient Monuments, with an honourable record of useful work; Tintern Abbey Preservation.
Reviews and Notices of Books.
"Wooden Monumental Effigies in England and Wales,” by Dr. A. C. Fryer. "An Introduction to Early Welsh," by John Strachan.
Part V of "The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph," by Archdeacon Thomas. 'History of Land Tenures," enlarged edition, by A. N. Palmer and Edward Owen. "A History of Wales," by Professor J. E. Lloyd.
"The Church Plate of Radnorshire," by Rev. J. T. Evans.
"The Early Cymry and their Church," by Rev. D. Daven Jones.
"Genealogies of Carmarthenshire Sheriffs," compiled by James Buckley.
"Bibliotheca Celtica," a Register of Publications relating to Wales and the Celtic Peoples and Languages for 1909; compiled by Mr. J. Ballinger, of the National Library, Aberystwyth.
The list of articles which have appeared is marked by a considerable variety of interesting and valuable matter, for which the hearty thanks of the Association are due.
It is, however, to be regretted that such scanty assistance is offered by the Local Secretaries for the several counties of Wales in forwarding notices of finds or of damage threatened or done to objects of archæological interest. Of the thirty Secretaries, no communication of any kind has been received during the last four years from twentytwo of the number, whereas, on the other hand in marked contrast, four Local Secretaries have been most vigilant and helpful.
Before revising the list of Local Secretaries with a view to the customary reappointment at the Annual Meeting, it may be advisable to ascertain beforehand whether any of them would wish to be relieved of an office which is regarded by the Association to be not merely honorary, but intended to be of practical service to the cause of archæology in Wales and the Marches.
Increasing interest is being taken in the determination of the character and history of the numerous tumuli and earthworks throughout Wales, and their preservation from wanton destruction. Local Secretaries would find some valuable suggestions for the survey
of their districts in the excellent Scheme (revised for 1910) for recording Ancient Defensive Earthworks. The Scheme, which may be obtained from the Editor (price 3d.), contains forty-four illustrations of the various types of earthworks. A list compiled in accordance with the instructions in this Scheme, of the earthworks in his district, and sent in by each Local Secretary would be a valuable addition to the Records preserved for posterity in Arch. Camb.
In compliance with the rule about grants made by the Association for purposes of exploration, an interesting report has been published of the work done in connection with the Roman fort at Gellygaer and also of that carried out at Caerwent. The first of a series describing the results of excavations at Castell Collen, Llandrindod, is in the printer's hands for the October number.
An official report has been promised by Professor Bosanquet of the explorations at Caersws, and may be expected in the late
The discoveries on Mwdwl Eithin, and other places in Carnarvonshire which are of great interest, and likely to raise some discussion, will be described by Mr. Willoughby Gardner.
The third and concluding part of Edward Lhwyd's "Parochialia" has been published this year as a Supplement, with full index to the three parts. It is possible that the original returns of parishes not included in the facts already issued may be ere long discovered. This possibility will not be lost sight of.
The next Supplement will consist of the valuable transcript of Menevia Sacra by Mr. Francis Green. It is already in the printer's
It may be mentioned here that the grant made by the Association four years ago for copying original documents is more than exhausted. There is a large store of such documents bearing upon Welsh history (which have never yet been copied, some of which have not been even unrolled for the last 500 years) at the Record Office. Others in the Bodleian Library, Oxford, Lambeth Palace, the British Museum, and Aberystwyth, await the hand of a competent scholar. It is laborious work, and, if it is to be done efficiently, involves a considerable expense. Is it possible that the Association can, out of their accumulated funds, make a grant for this purpose of £25? The expenditure of such a sum would be eminently fruitful, and it would furnish an inspiration and material for many an article in Arch. Camb."
Owing to the lateness of the hour of meeting, the reports were adopted pro formâ, but certain points arising out of them were left for discussion after certain grants recommended had been voted The President was obliged to leave, and was succeeded in the chair by Professor Sayce.
A grant to Mr. Harold Hughes of £15 for his expenses in surveying Penmaenmawr was unanimously voted.
A grant of £10 was confirmed (under the conditions mentioned in the Committee's Report) for the excavations at Castell Collen. A grant of £30 was voted for copying original documents to be published in Arch. Camb.
A grant of £10 was voted to the Abergele Antiquarian Society for further excavations at Pen y Corddyn.
The re-election of the Officers of the Association, with the exception of the Secretary for South Wales, was agreed to.
For the South Wales Secretaryship, in succession to the Rev. Charles Chidlow, resigned, the election of Mr. R. Wellings Thomas, of Llandrindod, with Mr. Henry Lewis, of Greenmeadow, Cardiff, as Assistant, was proposed by Archdeacon Thomas, and seconded by the Rev. John Price, Local Secretary for Breconshire. An amendment was moved by Mr. A. E. Bowen of Pontypool, and seconded by Mr. Cunnington of Devizes, that the election be left until the next Annual Meeting, to be held in South Wales, and that Mr. C. H. Glascodine be appointed pro tempore. Before this was put to the meeting, Mr. Glascodine declared that he would under no circumstances accept the office of Secretary unless as a temporary arrangement. The amendment was carried.
Rev. G. Eyre Evans proposed, seconded by Rev. R. W. F. SingersDavies, that the heartiest thanks of the Association be given to the Rev. Charles Chidlow as Secretary for South Wales.
Professor Sayce then vacated the chair, which was taken by Archdeacon Thomas as the Senior Vice-President.
Sir Edward Anwyl proposed, seconded by Mrs. Allen, and it was unanimously resolved, that Cardiff be the place of Meeting for 1912. The congratulations of the Association, on the Chairman's proposition, were offered to Mrs. Allen on the completion of the sixtysecond year of her Membership.
The Editorial Report and the Treasurer's Statement of Accounts were adopted.
Resolved, as proposed by Mr. Iltyd Nicholl and seconded by Mr. Henry Lewis, that a printed Agenda Paper be sent to the Members in future before the Annual Meeting.
Resolved, on the proposition of Mr. Edward Roberts, seconded by Mr. C. E. Breese, that the Annual Meeting be held not later than the second week in August.
Archdeacon Thomas moved from the Chair, and the Meeting unanimously passed, the following resolution re Pen Dinas:
"The Cambrian Archæological Association learns with great interest and pleasure of the intention of the Llandudno Urban District Council to acquire the property on the Great Orme's Head, which comprises the pre-historic camp known as Pen Dinas.' It is a place of great archæological interest to Llandudno in particular, and to Wales in general, and it would be a great loss if anything was allowed to be done which would interfere with the remains of such very early work. Under proper control, Pen Dinas ought to prove a permanent attraction to Llandudno, and play an important
part in deciphering the earliest history of the locality." It was resolved that a copy of this resolution be sent to the Town Clerk of Llandudno.
This brought the unusually long Meeting to a close about 11.45 p.m.
On Friday, the Cambrians-a smaller party than on previous days, yet numbering sixty-one-left Pensarn Station at 9.7, reaching Llanfairfechan at 10.18. Here they took up their carriages for the steep ascent up the mountain, the highest point of which, Braich y Ddinas, or Dinas Penmaen, is 1550 ft. This arduous climb was partially reduced to 725 ft. by Mr. C. W. May Massey's kind permission to follow his private drive to Newry. Even with this relief, the pull up the steep slopes, slippery on the grass, and still more uncertain among the loose stones, made this fourth day the most strenuous of a busy week. We were, however, favoured by beautiful weather, and were able to enjoy to the full the invigorating sea breeze and the clear bracing atmosphere. The scene, never to be forgotten, as it gradually unfolded itself before us in the bright sunshine, was one of remarkable grandeur, commanding a view of nearly the whole of the Snowdonian range, Anglesey, Menai Straits, and Ynys Seiriol (Puffin Island).
The sandwiches, which were thoughtfully provided for us at the start up the hill, were most acceptable at the top, and those wise members who had furnished themselves with a stock of drinkables were very generous to their unwise and improvident comrades. On nearing the circuit of the fortification, attention was called to a grouping of huts, some of which are here illustrated, close to the outer wall. Edward Lhwyd, 1698, has a note on a lofty impregnable hill on the top of Penmaenmawr, the fort encompassed by a treble wall, and within each wall the foundation at least of 100 towers, all around, and about 6 yards diameter each within the walls. It seems there were lodgings here for 20,000. Within the innermost wall there is a well, giving water in the driest summer. The strongest fort in all Snowdon. Here 100 men might defend themselves against a legion."
Mr. Harold Hughes, who had been engaged for some weeks in making a survey of the fortification for record by the Association, assembling the party in the lee of the cairn on top, said that the walls of the camp, known as Braich y Ddinas, were in a very ruinous condition. He regarded the place as having been a fortified village. It had had three walls on the landward sides, where the promontory joins the main plateau, and two walls on the west. At least 170 hut circles had been counted within the walls. At the far S.W.