Page images
PDF
EPUB
[graphic][subsumed][merged small]

(The property of Dr. W. L. Challis, Atchison.)

As among the most noted of thoroughbreds in Kansas, we present herewith a cut of the splendid stallion "Newry." He is a bay horse, foaled 1864, bred by the late Robt. A. Alexander, of Kentucky, from whom he was purchased by Col. C. R. Jennison, and by him sold to Dr. W. L. Challiss, of Atchison. He was got by the illustrious race horse and stallion, LEXINGTON, dam Novice, (dam of Norfolk,) by imported Glencoe; thence through seven uncontaminated erosses of pure blood. His produce give ample evidence of a brilliant future for him. Upon the race course, he defeated the fast "Fanny Cheatham," both in their two year old form, a first mile of a heat race, in 1:4634. The celebrated "Norfolk," his full brother, in a race of three mile heats, defeated "Lodi" in the unprecedented time of 5:272-5:292, both heats standing out in bold relief against the world.

DESCRIPTION OF ILLUSTRATIONS.

State Capitol, Topeka.- Frontispiece.

The east wing of the elegant design made for the capitol of Kansas is completed, excepting the pillars and portico. This wing is 114 feet long, 78 feet wide, and 95 feet high to the apex of the roof. It is divided into three stories, with basement under ground for steam heating apparatus, fuel, etc. The upper story is divided into two legislative balls, with committee rooms, while the two lower stories are divided into convenient offices for the use of the Executive and Judiciary Departments of the State Government. The exterior walls are four feet thick, and are constructed of Junction City magnesian limestone. The building is of the corinthian style of architecture. The partition walls are of limestone, with brick arches, upon which rest heavy wrought iron beams and joist. The iron suspension roof is covered with tin. The expense of the building thus far, has been about $375,000, and with the completion of the portico and some minor additions, it will answer all needful purposes for many years. Mr. J. G. Haskell, of Lawrence, is the architect. It is impossible that in all respects this wing can give entire satisfaction as a capitol building, but it is a thoroughly built, substantial and elegant structure, and a credit to the State.

It stands upon twenty acres of ground, donated by the city of Topeka to the State, near the business part of the place. These grounds are now being laid out, and preparations are making to ornament them with trees and shrubery.

Old University Building, Lawrence.-Page 11.

This building is 50 feet square and two stories with high basement. It was erected by the people of Lawrence, and by the contributions of friends in the East. It stands upon an eminennce overlooking the city, and is built in a substantial manner of stone and brick,

State University, Lawrence.-Page 16.

This cut is an accurate representation of the new University Building. It is 246 feet lorg, 98 feet wide in the middle, 63 feet wide in the wings, and 95 feet high to the observatory balcony. Its chapel hall, in the centre of the building, is 94 feet long, 56 feet wide and 35 feet high. The building contains

more than 50 rooms for the various branches of instruction. For all the Physical Sciences, the rooms are arranged in suits of four rooms each, as follows Lecture Room 23x45 feet, 1st Labratory 19x52 feet, 2d Labratory 21x45 feet, Library and Aparatus Room 10x35 feet, Professor's Room 11x13 feet. The building throughout is built of limestone, and the water table, corner stones, window arches and sills, etc., are of magnesian limestone from Manhattan. The shade of the latter contrasts gratefully with the limestone, which is taken from the edge of Mount Oread, upon which the building is situated. The interior is now being finished, and when completed it will be heated with steam, ventilated by the most approved method, and supplied throughout with water and gas, and in all respects will be one of the best arranged University buildings in the land. The entire cost will be about $150,000, and I venture to say that it is one of the largest and best public buildings ever erected in the Uuited States for that amount. Mr. J. G. Haskell is the architect.

The educational work of the institution was commenced September, 1866. The President and Chancellor is Gen. John Frasser, L. L. D., assisted by a corps of eight accomplished professors. The University is a child of the State and crowns the public school system of Kansas. Forty thousand acres of land has been set apart by the State for its endowment, and annual appropriations are made for tuition, as all State pupils are admitted free of tuition charges. Its scientific aparatus is extensive and valuable, and altogether it is one of the most promising educational institutions in the United States.

John Brown's Cabin. Page 20.

A description of this Cabin follows the cut.

Humboldt Bridge. Page 25.

This structure of 190 feet span, crosses the Neosho river at the narrowest place occurring within a distance of many miles. It connects the principal portion of Humboldt, which is on the east side of the river, with that portion around the Missouri, Kansas and Texas Railroad Depot on the west side.

Adams House, Manhattan. Page 31.

This Hotel was erected and is owned by Maj. N. A. Adams of Manhattan. It contains large, airy rooms, and is a well kept house and an ornament to the place. It is constructed of magnesian limestone at a cost of about $30,000.

Topeka Iron Bridge. Page 36.

For a complete description see page 217. The view is taken from the north side of the river.

Drouthy Kansas. Page 41.

This humorous sketch serves to tell its own story, although I have heard people protest, with solemn earnestness, that such a sweet potatoe, watermelon and Irish potatoe, such corn, pumpkins and wheat, never grew in Kansas.

People of so lugubrious and solem a turn of mind, are not expected to look at our "Drouthy."

The charcoal sketch from which this picture was copied, was dashed off by Prof. H. Worrall of Topeka, to eliven a party of Cincinnati tourists who came to visit this dry country, but were detained in Topeka several days on account of a severe rain storm which flooded all the country.

Ludington House, Ottawa. Page 47.

This commodious and substantial block was erected in Ottawa by D. W. Zimmerman, and is now owned by citizens of Ottawa. It contains in its farther portion a spacious public hall, which is now being fitted up for concerts, exhibitions, etc., by H. F. Sheldon. The well kept Hotel is situated on Main street and is convenient to the depot.

The Leavenworth Bridge. Page 54.

One of the most important works that has been undertaken for the benefit of the city of leavenworth, and the State of Kansas, is the great railway and highway bridge now being constructed over the Missouri River. This bridge is intended to connect the several railroads centering on the west side of the river, at Leavenworth, with those centering on the opposite side; and also to facilitate the intercourse between the metropolis of Kansas, and the rich and thriving section of Missouri adjacent to the border.

The extreme difficulty of bridging the Missouri river, together with the novelty of the design adopted here, have invested this bridge with peculiar interest, and its successful completion will go far to revolutionize the method of placing foundations in similar streams. The piers are each composed of three large cast iron cylinders sunk by the "pneumatic process," from fifty to seventy feet, not simply resting upon, but actually penetrating the solid rock a distance of about twelve feet. These columns are then filled with masonry, and above water they are braced and tied in a substantial manner, forming a great iron pier. The bridge proper is composed of three iron spans, each 340 feet in length, and the bottom chord will be 50 feet above extreme high water. This great hight makes the approaches long and expensive. The cost of the whole structure, including nearly one mile of approaches, will be about $750,000, and this capital is mainly furnished by the citizens of Leavenworth county, The foundations and approaches are completed, and it is expected that by November 1871, the superstructure will be in place, and ready for the passage of trains.

The cut herewith given, drawn for this book from the engineers working plans, shows the bridge as it will appear when completed. The bridge was designed by Gen. W. W. Wright, engineer in chief, under whose supervision it is being constructed.

Congregational Church, Lawrence. Page 61.

The Plymouth Congregational Church, at Lawrence, has been erected during the past two years. It is 115 feet long, and 68 feet wide, in addition to which are the entrance and stair case wings. The auditory is 87 feet long, 60 feet wide and 30 feet high. It is furnished with solid Black Walnut pews and pulpit, upholster d and carpeted throughout, and has one of the largest and best organs in the west. The building also contains a lecture room 20x60 feet, two parlors, each 20x22 feet, and a pastor's study, Sunday School Library and infant class room, each 13x20 feet.

The edifice is built of brick, with limestone dressing and is of the most substantial character. The cost, inclusive of foundation, was $45,000. J. G. Haskell, of Lawrence, was the architect.

Corner Main and Second Streets, Ottawa. Page 65.

This view of four or five buildings in Ottawa, is given to illustrate the manner of growth in a new town. Some of the cheapest buildings on the street are shown, but the thoroughly constructed stone and brick bank building, is typical of those which will soon take the place of the wooden structures around it, and the modest sign of the "Great Western Hotel de Horse," is characteristic of the genuine, unpretentious, and retiring Western man.

Morris School, Leavenworth. Page 70.

This large public school building was erected in 1866, and 1867, Mr. E. T. Carr, of Leavenworth, being the architect. It is built of brick and is a very convenient and imposing structure. It seats 850 pupils and cost about $50,000. The upper story is used by the State Normal School, of Leavenworth.

Kansas Valley National Bank, Topeka.

Page 77.

This beautiful building stands on the corner of two principal streets in Topeka, and the Kansas Valley National Bank, occupies the principal rooms on the main floor. The Atchison, Topekaand Santa Fe Land Office, telegraph office and State Superintendent of Insurance, who also occupy rooms. The building is constructed of brick and stone, and cost $27,000. The Bank commenced business October 8, 1866. Its authorized capital is $500,000, Daniel M. Adams is president and Chas. N. Rix, cashier. Its business has steadily increased, and it reports having annually paid its stockholders 20 per cent. per annum, besides setting apart a liberal surplusfund.

Street Scene, Humboldt. Page 82.

This life-like cut tells its own story, without the necessity for explanatory remarks. Like all other cuts in this book (with exceptions named) it is from a photograph.

1

« PreviousContinue »