« PreviousContinue »
York Minster-Head of Archbishop Grenefeld, 1315
St. Martin, Coney Street-Christopher Harington, 1614
St. Saviour-Roger de Moreton, 1382, and wife Isabel, 1412 65
SIGNATURE OF THOMAS RADCLIFFE, EARL OF SUSSEX, 1569-70. 79
Kneeler Stone of Coping to a Gable of a Cell
Embattled Chimney Top from one of the Cells
Conical Chimney Top from one of the Cells
The Great Cloister, from the South-West
Remains of Upper Storeys of the 3rd, 4th, 5th, and
Elevations of Parts of Walls of Cloister Court
South Wall of the Great Cloister
Remains of the East Side of the Cloister Arcade .
Remains of the Chapel of Our Lady of the Mount
Plan of Mount Grace Charterhouse
THE CLIFFORD FAMILY:-
George Clifford, 3rd Earl of Cumberland
THE FITZ CONAN SLAB AT LIVERTON
ADDENDA. ET CORRIGENDA.
Page 103, line 11.
103, line 12.
For Broughton-in-Cleveland read Broughton-in-Craven.
109, notes, col. 1, line 3. For Roydon Hall, Norfolk, read 19, Eccleston
158, line 20. For 2 ft. 2 in. long by 7 ft. 7 in. broad, read 7 ft. 7 in. long by 3 ft. broad.
166, line 18. For 1306 read 1304.
170, note 2. 17 kal. Oct. (Sept. 15), 1310. Licence to Margery, sister of Sir Brian fitz Alan, knight, deceased, to hear divine service in her oratory, built in her manor of Baynton, for three years. (Registrum Greenfield, fo. 124d.)
174, note 3. Signed by Walter Hendle, Thomas Legh, Rycherd Belassys, and R. Watkyns.
237, line 6 from bottom. For Graham read Musgrave.
241, line 5. For Cuthbert read Cunibert.
265, margin. For I euidencia, 2d euidencia, 3d euidencia, read 1a euidencia,
2a euidencia, 3a euidencia.
345, note 2, line 3. For Hutchinson read Richardson.
Yorkshire Archæological Journal.
MONUMENTAL BRASSES IN THE
CITY OF YORK.
BY MILL STEPHENSON, B.A., F.S.A.
THE brasses still remaining in the churches of the city of York form a small series of considerable interest, as nearly all are the product of a local school of engravers. That this school was settled in the city itself is most probable, but so far no record of the earlier engravers has been found. In the seventeenth century signed plates by various engravers occur in different parts of the county.1 Examples by Thomas Mann, of York, appear at Lowthorpe (E.R.), 1665, Normanton (W.R.), 1668, Helmsley (N.R.), 1671, Ingleby Arncliffe (N.R.), 1674, and Rudstone (E.R.), 1677. A Thomas Mann, of Lendall Street, York, architect, by will dated 27 November, 1680, proved 10 March, 1681-2, gives to his brother, Joshua Mann, "all such tooles of mine as he now worketh with." Plates signed by J. Mann occur in York at St. Michael-le-Belfry, 1680 and 1683, St. Michael, Spurriergate, 1681, and at Bedale (N.R.), 1681. In one case, St. Sampson, York, 1680, the Christian name Joshua is given in full. It may therefore be fairly assumed that Thomas Mann, architect, and his brother Joshua are responsible for these signed plates, and that they combined the business of architect with that of brass engraving. The plate to William Holmes in the church of St. Denys bears the signature, "Robart Holme," with a small device between the words, but whether this is an engraver's signature or whether it is intended to record that his son Robert laid down the brass is doubtful, the device being rather in favour of the former theory.
1 At Bedale (N. R.), "Ric. Crosse," 1694; Bradfield (W.R.), "Fr. Griggs,' 1647; other examples of his work occur at Upton Cresset, Salop, 1640, and St. Osyth's, Essex, 1640; Darfield (W.R.),
"Martin Raynold," 1670; Nunkeeling (E. R.), "Gabr. Hornbie," 1629; and Thornton-le-Street (N. R.), "P. Brigges, Ebor," 1680.