« PreviousContinue »
There is on one side a large capstone, 70 inches by 43 inches, and 9 inches thick; it is perfectly flat on the under surface.
2. About 380 yards to the east of the Druids' Circle, and 20 yards to the north of the road leading to the Red Farm, is a large tumulus 40 feet in diameter, and to the east of this are indications of two small circles, with openings to the N.W. There are also two tumuli at some distance to the S.S.E. of the Druids' Circle.
Between Penmaenmawr Mountain and Moelfre, are several
opened tumuli. One of these, in the corner of a field situated on fairly high ground, to the north of the track from Llanfairfechan to Penmaenmawr, and to the north of Moelfre, is about 48 feet in external diameter, and five upright stones mark out a rough circle. Inside this, is a mound of stones forming a heap in the centre, but now partially displaced.
3. Several tumuli lie to the north of the track between Waen Gyrach and Tyddyn Grasod. The E.S.E. portion of the group is formed of a large circle about 56 feet in diameter, with traces of two tumuli inside (Fig. 5). This abuts on another circle, about 14 feet in diameter, with traces of an
entrance to the W.S. W., and on the western side are several stones still upright. Forty-six feet to the west of this is a tumulus 12 feet in diameter, with a few large stones on their larger edges, and inside the tumulus is a cist with the south and east sides perfect, the side stones measuring 4 feet by 5 feet 3 inches, with traces of walling on the west side; close by is the capstone, oval in shape, which measures 4 feet 10 inches by 4 feet 4 inches.
4. About 600 yards south of Caer Bach (Caer Fach may be more correct), is a tumulus 23 feet in diameter, containing a cist with three sides complete, the open side facing S. to S.S.W. On the Drum ridge, on the next peak to the N. of Drum (about 2000 feet) is a large tumulus measuring 48 feet by 50 feet; the position is just outside the "uplands area" as defined above.
The inside diameter is, at the present day, 14 feet, and the depth is 4 feet 9 inches; at a depth of 4 feet on the west, is one side of a cist, the length of which was probably 3 feet. Possibly this tumulus may be Carnedd y ddelw, where a gold cross was discovered many years ago.
The large burial mound discovered in March, 1889, in Ty Mawr Field, Penmaenmawr, by Mr. C. H. Darbishire, J. P., has already been described in Arch. Camb., 1891.
UPLANDS NEAR FOEL DDUARTH.
Bwlch y Ddeufaen separates Foel Lwyd from the ridge Drosgl, which runs nearly up to Drum, and to the N.W. from the last-named there is a succession of summits, among which may be mentioned Bryn Du ("Black Hill"), strangely noted for the great number of blocks of white quartz, Foel Ganol, and Foel Dduarth. This chain of hills forms the northern boundary of the Anafon Valley, and to the N. of it is the "Roman Road," which, after meeting a track from Bodsilin, gradually descends, and passes between walls to Pont Newydd. The uplands to the N.W. and W. of Foel Dduarth are of great interest, as they abound in tumuli and dwelling-places. Most of the tumuli are situated near the place marked Carneddau
6TH SER., VOL. XII.
(Fig. 6), mostly to the N. of the Roman Road, and about the 900 feet contour line. The positions of the tumuli are indicated by dots and numbers.
On the whole, they are larger than those found to the N. of Tal y fan. There are about eleven. Nos. 1
Fig. 6.-Map of Tumuli and Huts, near Foel Dduarth
and 2 are near the 1000 feet contour line, with diameters of 26 feet and 24 feet respectively. Nos. 3-11 form a group. No. 3 has a well-marked outer circle of stones. In No. 10 all traces of the mound have disappeared, but there is a cist lying N.N.W. and S.S.E. To the S.S.E. is a displaced capstone, measuring 5 feet by 4 feet by 18 inches. The diameter of No. 11 is 28 feet, with an enclosing ring
about 4 feet thick. But by far the most important tumulus is No. 8 (Fig. 7), which is 30 feet in diameter (external), with a distinct double stone ring; the
outer ring is well defined, being formed of thin slaty rocks on edge, and the inner ring consists of fairly large stones. In the centre is a large cist lying
N.N.W. and S.S.E., 6 feet long and about 2 feet 6 inches wide; on the E.N.E. side is a large stone on edge, 6 feet long, 3 feet deep (above ground), and 11 inches thick, and forming one side of the cist. The capstone is roughly pentagonal in shape, 9 feet long, 4 feet 6 inches broad, and 2 feet 3 inches thick, and lies to the W.S.W. of the cist.
A great number of remains are to be found in the
ground attached to. Hafod y Celyn, on the S. W. of the road after passing through the gate.
At respective distances of 192 yards and 231 yards from the gate, and 65 feet and 15 feet from the wall, are two large tumuli, Nos. 12 and 13. No. 12 has a diameter of 33 feet, and seems to be enclosed in a double ring or mound, about 10 feet thick; inside is a large cist (Fig. 8), 3 feet 6 inches in length, with the E. and W. sides still remaining. To the N. is a