Page images

1. Cuthwin. 2. Wilfrid.


The names of the Bishops of Leicester.

After Saxulf, the province of the Mercians had two bishops, namely, Headda and Wilfrid. Wilfrid, bishop of Hexham, being driven from his bishopric, received from king Aethelred the bishopric of Leicester; but after a few years he was ejected, and Headda presided over both dioceses. Aldwin afterwards did the same.

3. Aldwin.

4. Totta.

5. Eadberht.

6. Unwona.

7. Werenberht.

8. Rethun.

9. Aldred.

10. Ceolred.

He was bishop in the time of Burhed, king of the Mercians, and of Alfred king of the West Saxons.

11. Leofwin.

He presided over the two dioceses of Leicester and the Lindisfari, then united, in the time of Eadgar, king of the English. 12. Aelnoth. 13. Aescwi.

1. Ealhed.

2. Aethelwin.

[blocks in formation]


Ecgfrid, king of the Northumbrians, having routed in battle Wulfer, king of the Mercians, obtained possession of the province of Lindsey, and expelled bishop Saxulf therefrom. In his place, in the year of our Lord's incarnation 678, Ealhed, king Ecgfrid's chaplain, was ordained by archbishop Theodore as the first special bishop thereof; but, inasmuch as Aethelred, king of the Mercians, recovered that province by force of arms in the following year, he laid down his bishopric and returned to Northumbria; and archbishop Theodore afterwards made him bishop of Ripon. After his departure, king Aethelred, at the suggestion of Osher, king of the Ĥwiccas, requested archbishop Theodore to divide his kingdom into a greater number of dioceses, and appoint bishops thereto in convenient places. He was delighted at the request, and divided Saxulf's bishopric into five dioceses, and afterwards added a sixth.

The names of the Bishops of the Lindisfari.

3. Eadgar.
4. Kinebirht.

5. Alowioch.

6. Ealdwlf.

7. Ceoluulf.

8. Ealdulph.

9. Brihtred.

1. Paulinus. 2. Ceadda.


The names of the Archbishops and Bishops of the Northumbrians.

Paulinus, a man beloved of God, was sent [to these parts] by archbishop Justus, and converted Eadwin, king of the Northumbrians, and all his people to the faith of Christ, having previously received an episcopal see at York. But the king having been slain, and the affairs of the Northumbrians being in a state of disorder, he returned by ship to Kent, where he was honourably received by archbishop Honorius and king Eadbald, and at their request accepted the bishopric of the church of Rochester, vacant by the death of Romanus. He died there and left his pall, which he had received from pope Honorius.

He was bishop in the time of Burhed, king of the Mercians, and Alfred king of the West Saxons.

The names of the Archbishops of York.

After presiding over the church of York for three years, St. Ceadda withdrew to devote himself to the care of his monastery, called Lastingaig, leaving Wilfrid to act as bishop, not only of the church of York, but also of all the Northumbrians and Picts. Wilfrid being driven from the bishopric by king Egfrid, two bishops were consecrated by archbishop Theodore in his stead, viz: Bosa for York, and Eata for Hexham. Three years after Wilfrid's departure he added two more bishops, viz: Tunberht for Hexham (Eata remaining at Lindisfarne), and Trumwine for the province of the Picts. Eathed however, who had returned from Lindsey, he set over the church of Ripon. On Tunberht's deposition, Eata returned to the see of Hexham, and Cuthbert was set over the church of Lindisfarne. On the death of Eata, John was ordained in his

stead. After a long exile, Wilfrid again resumed the bishopric of Hexham. On the death of Bosa, John was substituted for him at York.

3. Bosa.

4. John.

5. Wilfrid.

6. Ecgberht.
7. Coena.

8. Eanbald.
9. Eanbald.
10. Wulfsi.
11. Wigmund.
12. Wulfher.

13. Aethelbald.
14. Redeward.
15. Wulstan.
16. Oskytell.
17. Oswald.

18. Aldulf.

19. Wulstan.
20. Aelfric.
21. Kinsi.
22. Aldred.
23. Thomas.
24. Gerard.
25. Thomas.
26. Thurstan.

The name of the Bishop of Ripon.
1. Eathed.

1. Wilfrid.

2. Eata.

3. Tunberht.

4. Eata.

5. John.

6. Wilfrid.

7. Acca.

The names of the Bishops of Hexham.
8. Friotheberht.
9. Alhmund.

10. Tilberht.
11. Aethelberht.
12. Heardred.

13. Eanberht.
14. Tidferth.


Saint Aidan was sent by the Scots by whom he had been ordained bishop, and preached the word of faith in those provinces in which king Oswald held sway, and asked and obtained from that king an episcopal see in the island of Lindisfarne. On his death the Scots ordained and sent Finan, who was made bishop in his stead. On the death of Finan, Colman succeeded to the bishopric; he too was sent by the Scots. Colman resigned his bishopric and returned to his own country, and then Tuda, who was also ordained bishop by the Scots, succeeded to the bishopric. When Tuda was taken from the world the bishopric was divided into two dioceses. Ceadda was ordained to the church of York, and Wilfrid to the church of Hexham.

[blocks in formation]


The Genealogy of the Kings of the Kentish People.

[blocks in formation]

'The Genealogy from Adam to Woden having been already given in the Saxon Chronicle, A.D. 855; and in Florence of Worcester, A.D. 849, is not here repeated.

The Genealogy of the Kings of the East Angles.

[blocks in formation]
« PreviousContinue »