Page images

character, of three lights; the west window of the south aisle is curious, being a quatrefoil within an arch. One in the north aisle is square-headed, but the character of the tracery is Decorated, although with a transom. The chancel is of modern and debased architecture. The nave has on the north side three plain Early English arches without mouldings, on circular massive columns, having the square abacus to the capital and square bases. On the south side are three pointed arches of greater elevation, upon very slender columns, one of which is circular and one octagonal. There is a flat modern ceiling which cuts the clerestory windows, and the eastern arch on the north side is quite destroyed by a large heavy pew put up about 1680, at which time the present pews and pulpit were also erected. The arch to the tower bespeaks an early period, and is semicircular upon shafts of transition Early English. The chancel arch is pointed and cased in stucco, but some of its Early English features are visible. The east end of the north aisle is enclosed and contains several tombs: one to Sir Roger Somervile 1354," one very handsome altar tomb of alabaster enriched with niches containing figures of angels, of saints, and of some religious orders, on which are the effigies of a knight and lady in good preservation, and two small effigies, probably children, lying by their side. The lady lies on a pillar supported by small angels. This is in the style of the 15th century. Another rich monument of later date, of rich marbles, commemorates Sir H. Griffith and his two wives, exhibiting three black marble coffins and sculpture at the base in high relief representing sculls and bones.


This church is a chapel to Burton Agnes. It consists of handsome though simple west tower, a nave and a chancel, with a private chapel on the north side of the latter. The tower is Perpendicular, with a battlement and four unfinished pinnacles; at the south-west a turret ; the west window of two lights, the belfry windows also of two lights, but without foils. The masonry is very good. The windows are chiefly square-headed, with tracery of two lights and Decorated character. The interior is very neat, and fitted

17 The tomb says Sir Roger Somervile died February, 1336. Sir Philip Somer

vile, his brother and Heir, died 23 January, 1354.

up wholly with open oak seats, except the pew belonging to the St. Quintin family. The chancel arch is pointed without moulding. The north chapel is in two portions, part of it ranging westward of the chancel arch. The tower arch has deep though plain mouldings. The chancel and north chapel abound with beautiful and interesting monumental remains, to the family of St. Quintin. The east window of the chancel is, however, blocked up by a monument most inappropriately placed over the altar. The north chapel is the burying place of the St. Quintin family, and has squareheaded windows, apparently late decorated, containing much stained glass wth armorial bearings showing the various intermarriages of the St. Quintins. Between this chapel and the chancel is a rich ogee arch in the wall, having fine feathering, crockets and finial, beneath which is an altar tomb of alabaster having quatrefoil pannelling, upon which are engraved the figures of a knight and lady, beneath enriched canopies, with this inscription:

Orate p. aia dō Willmi de Sancto Quintino qui obiit año dñí millio trecentesimo quadragesimo nono; et pro aia dne . . uxor eius que obiit anno dni millo ecc octogesimo iiiío ̧18

"Cotidia celebrat misse Marie."-C. B. N. A.D. 1863.

The ogee arch is equally enriched on the sides facing the chapel and the chancel, and in the centre of each side of the altar tomb is a crucifix within a canopy. These were probably the founders of the chapel, the style of which corresponds with the date, i.e. the transition from Decorated to Perpendicular. In an arch in the wall of the chapel is the effigy of a lady in the headdress of about 1410, with a lion at her feet, very beautifully executed. In the same chapel is also the brass of a knight in very perfect condition, with this legend: 19

Hie jacet Thomas de Sancto quintino Armig' nup. dñs
de harphm qui obiit decimo octavo die mēs Julii Ao dni
millio ecce® quad’gesio quito cui' Aïe ppiciet ds Ame.

In the chancel are also brass figures of a knight and lady beneath canopies, the inscription nearly destroyed except

18 This brass was figured in vol. xii. of this journal, page 211. Sir Stephen's copy does not agree with the brass as represented; the brass seems to have been

in better condition at the time of his visit.

19 See vol. xii., page 215.

"domina Agnes uxor eius," In the chapel is also a stone coffin. This church is on the whole very interesting, from its tombs, and the probability of the date being known. The exterior has in some parts been patched with brick.


October, 1841.-This church has a low west tower, a nave and a chancel, each with lateral aisles, of which the northern extends to the west wall of the tower. The exterior has rather a patched appearance. The clerestory is of good stone with a moulded parapet; other parts of the walls are of rubble, patched with brick. On the south side there appears to have been a transept, an arch appearing in the wall, in which are inserted some plain, but not early lancets. There are also two plain lancets on the north side within a general arch, which internally rests on corbel heads. The church is of fine dimensions, but much mutilated. The prevailing features are Perpendicular; the tower is of that date, and has a west window, but the upper part has been disfigured and mutilated. The nave is divided from each aisle by four elegant moulded pointed arches, with the mouldings continued down the piers, without capitals. A similar arch opens from the nave to the chancel, and the latter has three on each side nearly similar, but a string course went over them (below the clerestory) which is wanting in the nave. The clerestory windows are the same throughout, Perpendicular of three lights. The chancel extends a little eastward of the aisles. The east window, a very large one, has unfortunately been barbarously altered, and those at the east of the two aisles, of very beautiful early Perpendicular tracery and of great size, have been walled up. The pulpit is perched up on a kind of arch bestriding the passage of the nave. The font is Early English, of octagonal form, each face pannelled with lancet arches, on an octagonal stem, surrounded by four baluster legs of wood (probably replacing the original ones), and upon a square basement.


This magnificent church is on a scale of unusual grandeur, though oftener to be met with in Yorkshire than elsewhere,

as the noble churches of Beverley, Hull, Selby and Howden will testify.

The plan is cruciform, the nave having aisles, the transepts spacious, each with an aisle on the east side. The chancel had once a south aisle, now destroyed, and in the centre of the cross rises a very fine and lofty tower. There are considerable portions of Early English, much of Decorated, and some windows and the tower are Perpendicular. The nave is principally Decorated, the transepts and choir Early English. The west front has a large window of five lights, which has been mutilated, and buttresses with triangular heads charged with good tracery and niches, also an elegant doorway having fine arch mouldings with shafts of rich foliated capitals, and surmounted by an ogee canopy flanked by pinnacles richly crocketed. The north and south porches have been destroyed. The south doorway has bold trefoil feathering within the arch and shafts; the buttresses are crowned with large gargoyles.20

The windows of the side aisles of the nave have good early Decorated tracery of three lights, those at the west end of two lights, their arch mouldings fine and deep; and in some are two orders of shafts, the capitals of which are in some instances foliated, in others simply moulded. In some of the mouldings, internally, appears the ball flower. The north doorway resembles the southern, but has over it a crocketed triangular pediment, and its shafts have fine foliated capitals. The interior of the nave is in good order, though pewed and galleried, and being the only portion adapted for the accommodation of the congregation, the transept and choir are separated from it by a partition, and this the choir used only at the time of the celebration of the Eucharist.

Some repairs have been done, and the church put into a state of neatness, but there has, unfortunately, been much want of judgment, and even some mutilation. The nave is lofty and fine, and is separated from each aisle by five beautifully moulded pointed arches, with dripstones upon corbel heads; the piers are composed of eight shafts clustered in a diamond form, having moulded capitals. The clerestory

20 There is a finger organ in the west gallery. The north and south doors are unhappily closed up.



windows are each of two lights, and of Decorated character. The arches which open eastward of the aisles into the transepts are Early English; the northern has shafts with moulded, the southern with foliated capitals. The transepts have some splendid Early English work, though there has been some mutilation, and some of the external effect destroyed by the unlucky removal of the pointed gables, for which an ugly horizontal battlement is substituted. The south transept is, perhaps, the earliest, and has a doorway with semi-circular arch just emerging from Norman, and with shafts having capitals of rude foliage. Over this door is a corbel table of early character, and the buttresses of this transept are flat. There is, however, more of subsequent alteration than in the other transept; a large window has been inserted, which seems to have had Perpendicular tracery, now horribly mutilated. On the east side of both transepts are two very fine moulded arches of Early English character, opening to a small aisle or chapel. The pier in the south transept is of clustered shafts with general moulded capitals, and banded round the middle. Above these arches on each side is an elegant arcade of five lancet arches springing from piers of clustered shafts, and having the tooth ornament in some of the mouldings. This arcade forms a clerestory, and one of the arches is sub-divided into two by a central pier, and the whole toothed. The base of the large pier on the east side of this transept has a band of toothed ornament. On the west side of this transept is a similar arcade corresponding to the clerestory, some pierced for windows. The toothed ornament occurs in some of the capitals, and there are besides two plainer lancets, which are pierced. These arches externally are very plain. The north transept has had less alteration and is richer. At its north end are two tiers of lancets, three in each tier; the lowest have very slender shafts, and all are glazed. Between the heads of the windows of the lower tier are circles containing flowered crosses. The upper windows have bolder mouldings and enriched with the toothed ornament, as are also the capitals of the clustered shafts which form the piers. There is a similar arcade in the upper part of the east and west sides of this transept, with more of the tooth ornament than in the south transept, and a flower in the head of the subdivided arch. There is a passage in the thickness of the wall in both

« PreviousContinue »