Page images

Henricus Shaw, de Greave, sepultus 4 Aug. 1667.

"Mary, wife of Jonathan Shaw, Nether Thong (a rich yeoman), buried Feb. 27, 1766."

We must not conclude our notes without some mention of the ancient village of Nether Thong, though we have little to add to our notices of the families who formerly resided in it. It is situated on rising ground rather more than half a mile from Thongsbridge (already described as the estate of the Wilsons) which has now risen rapidly into importance as a centre of industry. Nether Thong lies within the Holme valley, having a south-easterly aspect and commands a fine view of the distant hills and of the winding vale beneath and beyond. It may be said that few villages possess greater advantages of situation for carrying out its sanitary requirements than this.

Nether Thong was formerly a member of the Chapelry of Honley, with which it remained till 1830 when a parliamentary grant was obtained and a church was erected, Mr. R. D. Chantrell of Leeds being the architect. The site, in the centre of the village, was given by Mr. John Woodhead. The church is dedicated to All Saints. It contains 700 sittings.

The following is a list of the incumbents or vicars :

1. Rev. John M. Evans, 1830, resigned in 1834.

2. Rev. James North Green Armytage, 1834, resigned Dec., 1835.

3. Rev. George Docker Grundy, M.A., 1836.

4. Rev. David Meredith was in charge for a few months.
5. Rev. David Hughes, March, 1839, to March, 1842.
6. Rev. James Tidemore, May, 1842, to 1846.

7. Rev. Parsons James Maning) were here for a very
8. Rev. Josiah Rogers
short time.

9. Rev. Thomas James, M.A., LL.D., F.S.A., 1846 to 1879. 10. Rev. John Prowde, M.A., 1879, the present vicar.

It may be of interest to append the names of some inhabitants of Nether Thong township in the reign of Queen Elizabeth which we have extracted from the Almondbury Registers, &c.

Dorothy, filia Jacobi Taylor, de Nether Thong, bapt. 25 July, 1568. George, son of Thomas Linley, de Nether Thong, bapt. 2 Aug. 1573. Nicholas Booth, of Thwonge-brygge, sepultus erat 22 Dec. 1558. William Booth, of Nether Thong, sepultus erat 29 Dec. 1560.

Richard Aynelay, of Thongs Bridge, sepultus erat 19 Nov. 1563.
Alice Brooke, de Nether Thong, vidua sepulta erat 25 Oct. 1566.
Agnes, uxor Edwardi Brooke, de Nether Thong, sepulta erat 16 July,


Johannes Swallow, de Nether Thong, sepultus erat 17 March, 1573-4. John Brooke, of Nether Thong, sepultus erat 9 Nov. 1580.

Margaret Hinchliffe, de Nether Thong, æt. 80 annos, sepulta erat 31 Dec. 1590.

Robert Haigh, of Markbottom, aged 90 years, buried 13 March, 1592. Elizabeth Kaye, of Wolfestones, widow, 80 annos nata, sepulta erat 28 April, 1596.



THE second book of the Wragby Registers is a parchment volume of twenty-two leaves. It measures eleven and a half by seven and a quarter inches. The original binding has been removed and it is now strongly bound in parchment boards, and is carefully preserved with the other registers in the vestry safe. It contains the Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials from 1605 to 1630. There are recorded in all, 461 Baptisms, 130 Marriages, and 306 Burials; or an average per annum of about 17 Baptisms, five Marriages, and 11 funerals, the preponderance of baptisms over funerals shewing that the population was increasing, though not very rapidly, there being apparently little movement of the population.

This register is not nearly so interesting as the first book,1 being little more than a record of the names of village folk. Notes on extraneous subjects, which are pretty frequent in the first book, are almost entirely absent; nor does it, like the earlier volumes, contain any churchwardens' or overseers' accounts, for which a separate book has been provided. No leaves are missing. The entries are most carefully made, the only omission being the marriages for 1624. entry is placed under its proper heading from 1605 to 1625, after which they are consecutive. English is used until 1618, after which Latin is introduced and is continued to the end of the book.


At the beginning of the book there is a fly-leaf, which appears to have originally been a title-page, but the writing is now almost entirely obliterated: all that is decipherable being "Wragbye Register made in the yeare." At the bottom of this fly-leaf is a long note, only a word or two of which can be made out, so that it is unfortunately impossible to arrive at its purport. At the top of the next page is the following heading, some small portion of which is

1 See Journal, vol. xii. p. 309.

torn off, "The Register of all the chryste(nynges) Burialles and mariages of the paroshene of wragbie in the year of our lord god 1605 anno regni regis Jacobi magnæ Britaniæ Ffranciæ et Hyberniæ tertio."

In the first book some rather uncommon Christian names occurred, but in this they are essentially commonplace; the only ones worth noting as being something out of the common are Gervase, Jonas, Rosamund, Ursalie.

The fact of a person's death is expressed in many different ways; among them we find "did change his life,' "vitam hanc caducam in immortali mutavit," "postquam ultimum spiritum exhalasset," or simply "obitus" or "obiit." Sometimes the burial only is recorded, "was buried," or sepultus erat:" sometimes both death and burial, “ obiit et sepultus erat." Occasionally the date of both death and burial is entered, from which it appears that burial in those days usually took place the day after or the second day after death, and was not delayed as now for the greater part


of a week.


The owner of the Nostell estate in 1605, when this register begins, was Sir Richard Gargrave, Knight, and the entries under this name are very numerous, and will be given below. Sir Richard had only female issue, but his younger brother Francis, who was a clergyman, had a large family. In 1613 Nostell was purchased by William Ireland, Esq., in whose family it remained until 1629. There are three entries only relating to this family, which will be found in their proper place below.

The first entry in the book is,-

1605. Amye Browne daughter to William Browne was Bapt the vii daye Marche.

1605. Mr. Francis Gargrave and Marie Sissope was maryed the xii daye of Maii.

This is, I presume, the younger brother of Sir Richard

above mentioned.

1605. Mr. William Fennicke and mres (mistress) Elizabeth Gargrave was maryed the twentie seventh of Julii.

1605. Mary Brian did change her lyfe Being slayne bye thos: Waterton at Wakefield the seventh of Maij and was Buried in the churche and payed ten grottes.

In the churchwardens' accounts for this year there is a

receipt of 3s. 4d. for the burial of one Harry Beylins in the church, but there is no receipt on behalf of Mary Brian.

1606. Mr. Robert Gargrave sonne to Sir Cotton Gargrave did change his lyfe the twenty eight day of marche.

In 1579 occurs the following entry :

Robert the sone of Cotton Gargrave was Bap. the fyrst daye of Apryll.

1606. Thomas Gargrave sonne of Mr. Thomas Gargrave was Bapt the tenth of Maii.

1606. John Gray and Anne Gargrave was married the fourth day of Maij.

1606. Maistres Elizabeth Saltonstonstall did change her lyfe the third day of September.

This was the second wife of Samuel Saltonstall, Esq., of Huntwick Grange in the parish of Wragby. She was the daughter of Thomas Ogden, and was married in 1592. The churchwardens' accounts inform us that in 1605 Mr. Saltonstall, as he is called, paid six shillings for his last year's assessments to the church rate. In 1619 his son is spoken of as Sir Richard. They appear to have lived at Huntwick at the end of the 16th and during the earlier part of the 17th century, and were people of great importance. Samuel Saltonstall owned Rookes in the parish of Halifax, and Huntwick Grange; he also held lands at Saltonstall, the ancient possession of his family, also Winteredge Hall at Hipperholme, and Rogerthorpe in the parish of Badsworth. His brother Sir Richard was Lord Mayor of London in 1597, and his son Sir Richard was Lord of the Manor of Ledsham, a Justice of the Peace, and treasurer for lame soldiers in 1625. Other members of the family resided at Rogerthorpe and Pontefract. After his wife's death in 1625, Sir Richard, son of Samuel, sold his lands and went with his children to New England. In his will dated 1658 he left a legacy to Harvard College. From him spring the Saltonstalls of America, many of whom have held eminent positions. On his return from New England he resided in London. His second wife was a daughter of Lord Delawarr, his third wife was Martha Wilford. I append a pedigree of the Saltonstalls so far as they were connected with this parish.2

For further information about this family, see Watson's Halifax, or Drake's History of Boston, U. S.

« PreviousContinue »