« PreviousContinue »
CHRONOLOGY OF THE FIRST HOUSE OF DE LASCY.
1066 Robert de Lascy born. 1087 Ilbert de Lascy dead.
1088 His son Robert in possession (therefore of age).
1090 And founding Pontefract Priory, in Kirkby, a hamlet in the eastern part of the manor.
1101 Favouring the cause of Robert Curthose, Robert de Lascy was dispossessed by the new King, who however retained the lands in his own hands, and in 1107 Robert de Lascy was restored. 1112 Robert de Lascy married. 1113 Albreda his eldest child born. 1114 Ilbert his eldest son born. 1117 Henry his second son born. 1119 Walter his youngest son born. 1122 Robert again dispossessed and
banished, this time finally, his estates to the value of 60 knights' fees being given to Hugh de Laval, who granted a charter to the monks of Pontefract in June of that year. 1123 Hugh, abbot of Selby, resigned; possibly as an indirect consequence of the banishment of his brother. 1130 Robert de Lascy dead. 1131 Albreda, his daughter, married to Robert de Lissours, as the "sister of Ilbert de Lascy."
1131 Hugh de Laval died, and William Maltravers (not H. Travers, as in Dugdale) succeeded, with a grant for 15 years and the marriage of the widow. 1135 December. William Maltravers
murdered, and Ilbert who had just come of age, entered into possession of 40 knights' fees, out of the 60 which composed the estate, the heirs of Hugh de Laval, a succession of Guys, continuing to hold the remainder, even till the time of King John.
1138 Walter killed at the Battle of the Standard.
1140 Ilbert who had shared the trials and misfortunes of King Stephen, disappeared after the Battle of Lincoln. It does not appear whether he was killed or died as a prisoner
of war, but it was probably at his interment in Pontefract Priory that the remains of abp. Thurstan were discovered uncorrupted and sweet smelling after an interment of many months.
1141 King Stephen grants the Pontefract estates to William de Romare, earl of Lincoln,
1145 Alice, widow of Ilbert de Lascy, renounced her dower and married
Roger de Mowbray.
1146 On the death of William de Romare, Gilbert de Gaunt, as the husband of the heiress, claimed the earldom of Lincoln, and the estates including Pontefract. The claim was disputed successfully by Henry, the brother of the dead lord, and Gilbert de Gaunt compensated the monks for the destruction of their buildings during the contest. 1147 Henry in possession and founding Barnoldswick, afterwards removed to Kirkstall.
1153 Alice de Roumeli grants the monks the manor of Broughton for a residence while their monastery was being rebuilt.
1153 Henry received a charter of forgiveness from the Empress Maud and Henry her son.
1154-5 Henry de Lascy was in attendance on the new king at the Council of Northampton.
1159 Consecration of the rebuilt monastery of Pontefract which had been destroyed in the struggle between Henry de Lascy and Gilbert de Gaunt.
1160 Matilda, widow of Robert de Lascy witnessed the Charter XXIX. MON.
1164 Henry de Lascy married Albreda, daughter of William de Vesci, rector of Barwick.
1166 Robert his only son born. 1187 Henry died aged 69, and Robert succeeded.
1193-4 Robert died childless.
1. ARMS.-Ilbert de Lascy is represented on his equestrian seal with a label of three points as a badge. The same badge appears on Birkin Church (c. 1140). This was before the time of arms proper. The second house adopted the "Quarterly, Or and Gules" of Eustace fitz John, to which they added the label of 3 (sometimes 5). The combination forms the Lascy arms; but after 1232, those who were earls of Lincoln used alternatively the arms of that earldom "Gules, a lion rampant, purpure." These however are not the Lascy arms, as is sometimes stated.
2. NOTES.-The most common confusions in the Lascy pedigree are (1) that of John fitz Eustace, constable (d. 1190) with John de Lascy, constable and earl (d. 1240); and (2) that of Robert de Lascy, son of Ilbert (d. 1130) with his grandson Robert son of Henry (d. 1194).
CHRONOLOGY OF ALESIA DE LASCY.
(Alesia's husbands were Thomas, Earl of Lancaster, born 1278; Eubolo l'Estrange. about 1306; and Hugh de (N)ash, born before 1310, for he was Constable of Cardigan in 1330. She herself was born in 1284.)
1322 26 June. Alesia, the widow, gives bond to the king of £20,000 for the regrant of her patrimony; which bond is subsequently covenanted to be of no force unless she aliene some of her lands without the king's consent ætat 37 or 38 1322 9 July. Mandate ordering enquiry into the dower granted to Alesia, countess of Lancaster, at the church door, on her wedding.
[But I have not ascertained at what church, or when, or the result of the mandate.---R. H.]
1324 13 Dec. Close Rolls. She is spoken of as the wife of Eubolo l'Estrange ætat 40 1324 21 Dec. Licence to Ebulo and Alesia his wife to grant Halton in Cheshire to Hugh le Despencer, the younger.
1331-2 16 Feb. Letters Patent granting to Ebulo Lestrange, and Alesia his wife, and the heirs of the said
1335-6 Feb. 20. Patent Roll of 10 Edward III. part 1 has the order to arrest Hugh de Freynes [Nash] and Alesia, countess of Lincoln, wherever they may be found "for he came with an armed multitude to Bolingbroke Castle where she dwelt, and carried her off to the Castle of Somerton, entering it against our will" ætat 52 1335-6 23 March. Close Roll contains an order to "Restore lands and goods to Hugo de Freyne, and Alesia countess of Lincoln, his wife" ætat 52 1336 27 Sept. Patent Roll 10 Edward II. part 2, they are called "dilectus et fidelis Hugo de Freen et Alesia, uxor ejus' ætat 52 1336 29 Nov. Hugh summoned as Earl of Lincoln (Burke, but query) ætat 52 1336 Dec. Hugh died at Perth ætat 52
1348 Oct. 1. Alesia died: and inquisition was made (22 Ed. III. Inq. p. m. No. 34) on the 16th, when she was declared to have been ætat 64
Page 262. It should have been noted that the first entry should have been under
Austhorp and not Auston. Auston is a corruption of Owston, an Usgoldcross manor, near Campsall; Austhrop (Ossethorp in Domesday) is a manor in Skyrack, not far from the extreme West of Osgoldcross, from which it is separated by Kippax only.
371. ,, 375.
After 1252 read [should be 1272].
Notes 11 and 12 should be respectively 12 and 11. The latter should be attached to the presentations on p. 263, 12 to LL 39, and the reference 12 at the end of the presentations on p. 264 should be elided.
7th line, for " & and" read "&" only. 16th line, for "vit," read "vit'." For "John de Malherb" read "Thomas de Montbegon."
360. After 2nd extract add [This was in trust only, for in 21 R 2 there was a grant of free warren to this defendant.]
The reference to the Coucher Book of Selby should be 147, not 169.
366. After 3rd extract add "Laderina was sister of Peter de Brus; she was one of his four co-heiresses."
370. After the extract relating to Cobcroft, add " Br Stephen was Prior o Pontefract." For John de Renton, read John de Neuton.
Line 17 dele [Yarm].
4th line, for 147 read 149; under first extract, dele the line commencing "Other references."
Page 47. Last line but 3, for "ante," read "also."
Second column of note, line 12, for 1136 read 1139.
First column of note, lines 7 and 8 for "Bondeby, and Portington.
Last line but 11 for son read grandson. (See Note 61.)
9th line of note for 35 Ed. III. read 38 Ed. III.
6th line of note for "pt'ca obiit inf'a q'ng'" read "pt'ea obiit inf'a q'nque."
461. 2nd line of note for "Thomas has son read "Thomas his son."
By JOHN W. WALKER, F.S.A.
THE ruins of the castle which are situated at Sandal Magna, a village some two miles south-east of Wakefield cathedral on the turnpike road between Wakefield and Barnsley, are of great antiquarian and historical interest; but so little of them remains above ground, that, since the demolition of the castle in and after 1646, they have attracted little attention, and no full account of their history has ever been published. The name of the village probably arose from the moated dwelling on the artificial mound, and was derived from two old English words, Sond, sandy, and aula, a hall or dwelling-house; however this may be, the fortified earthworks date from a very remote period.
The Castle hill is the highest point of a long slope rising in a south-easterly direction and about a quarter of a mile from the south bank of the river Calder. On every side the country around is open to the north lies the city of Wakefield; to the north-west on rising ground the wooded parks of Thornes and Lupset; further west the manufacturing towns of Ossett and Horbury; to the south-west Bullcliffe woods and the dark line of Woolley Edge; southward is Woolley moor and Chevet park; eastwards Walton with its lake-encircled hall, the home of the Watertons for more than four hundred years; Nostell, bearing the name of the Augustinian priory which once held sway there; beyond these Pontefract and its ruined castle, whose history is to some extent bound up with that of Sandal; while nearer home the Heath with its fine Elizabethan hall completes the circle.
When the English invaders of Britain pushed their way inland into the district thenceforth to be known as Deira, and afterwards Yorkshire, the north-country Britons made a desperate resistance, but were defeated and driven back into the dense virgin forest-land, known as Elmet, which included the greater part of the valleys of the Aire, the