« PreviousContinue »
Bovate & 3 acres of Land with ye appurtnances in Kellington, Egburgh, &in Withelay the right & Jnheritance of the foresaid Thomas. [There is an additional reference to CCC (vol. 34) 15.]
[No entry under this head.]
Woomersley aks Wolmersley ats Wymersley,55
Ex Gasc. lib. B. p. 6.
G [vol. 127] 83 Ada de Novo mercato, sonne of John, granted to Roger Cissor of Willmersley, one perch [peciam, in margin] of Land in Winnerley [Wimersley (Dodsworth)]. Wittnesse Henry Mareschall &c.
cleric, as the son of his mother, or as the nepos " of his father; but such evasion was not possible when the question was one of the succession to a living. It may be remarked that although there is repeated mention in the Pontefract Chartulary of various members of this family, there is not the slightest reference in the volume to the fact that the Knights Templars were so dominant a body in Kellington Church. But a generation later, in 1239 and 1244, Abp. Gray's Register records a double presentation to the church by Robert de Sanford, master of the Knights Templars, the latter reserving to Alexander the clerk his portion therein, whion at his death is to go to the rector. This looks very much as if Alexander was the last of the old family of clerks at Kellington, and that the family was naturally dying out there, owing to the enforcement of the obligation of celibacy. I should note that an Abbot of Meaux witnessed the document as to the partition of the tithes of Whitley, and that his name as given in a second deed was Alexander; but he is too early to have been the youngest brother of this Thomas, and he tests subsequent Pontefract Charters as of Kellington.
55 Roger de Ledesham is afterwards described apparently as dean of Ledsham and dean of Pontefract; though it is difficult, in the absence of collation, to say whether he is not Roger (of Pontefract), the dean of Ledsham. In the instance given in the previous note, John was clearly "dean of Kellington." Roger de Ledesham is once described as the "official" of the Archbishop.
56 The parish of Womersley comprises the townships of Little Smeaton, Stubbs
Walden, Womersley, and part of Cridling Stubbs. The name is spelt Wlmeresleia in the Record, but appears in the Domesday Recapitulation later on (which so frequently presents an amended orthography), as Wilmereslege. It was reported as having been in the preNorman times owned by Wege, who might indeed have been the Wiga of Whitley, the bordering township, (see note 51). Wege had in Womersley a taxable area of six carucates, capable of maintaining six ploughs, and of returning a royal revenue of £6. In the time of the Survey it had fallen to Ilbert de Lascy, who had 3 carucates in demesne, while 14 villanes and 4 bordars had 8 carucates. The revenue was £5. There was a priest and a church, and three acres of meadow. The whole area was one mile long and as much broad, half the manor being still woody pasture, a considerable proportion of which remains to this day in timber. As is frequent in this part of the wapentake, the church, church yard, and parsonage are a section of the Park, intimating that its owner was the church-founder. At the time of the 1378 Poll Tax, it produced in Womersley 37s. 6d. from 53 taxpayers, each being assessed at 4d., except one webster at 6d., and Matilda, widow of Thomas Newmarch, kt., who paid 208. There was a Margaret del Hill, a Thomas del Hill, a John atte Yate, and a Robert del Wood. Ilbert de Lascy had Womersley still in his own hands at the time of the foundation of St. Clement's Chapel, and made a grant from the tithes to the endowment; which he could not have done had not the manor been in his own domain.
Out of John Roman's Register, fo. 12.
[vol. 127] 105 Adam de Novo Mercato p'sents to ye Church o Wilmersley 1287, 16 Ed. 1.
ibm. fo. 17 bis.
[vol. 127] 110 Adam de novo mercato patron of ye Church o Wilmersley 1287.
Fines A° 19 Ed. 1 .
[vol. 127] 136 Between William le Vavasour & Nicholaa his wife, complt, & William de Cevrehunt [Cestrehunt (Dodsworth)] & Elizabeth his wife disturber, of the manns of Womersley & Routhcliffe [Rawcliff].
Fines 34 Ed. 1 .
[vol. 127] 137 Between Gilbert de Stapleton, comp1t, & John de Novo mercato & Avicia his wife, disturber, of one messuage with ye Appurtnances in Wilmersley. To ye right heires of John & Auicia.
Womersley Church 12 July, 1621.58
M [vol. 160] 151 Jn the Quire East window. (Montacute) Ar. 3 fusills in fesse, g.
[Mowbray] g. a lion rampt. Ar.
[Newmarch] g. 5 fusills in fesse, or.
Vnder the North wall.
[Newmarch (Dodsworth)] A Knight in Mayle Cross legged, on his sheeld 5 fusills in fesse. 59
57 This was one of the Carlton family of Stapleton who possessed Carlton by descent from Robert de Bruis, and by right of a grant to it, recorded on a supplementary page of Domesday. The grant was probably from Henry I. The Stapletons of Pontefract had been in 1306 (see ante, STAPLETON), long extinct, and were represented in the female line by Scargills.
59 The day on which the church, which is dedicated to St. Martin, was visited by Roger Dodsworth. It is remarkable that he did not notice on the right hand side of the south entrance of the church, under the porch, the mutilated remains of a thirteenth-century inscription; all that is now decipherable is
ONE TRO THO J C DEVM
But I have met with no other trace of a Thomas de Smeaton in the first half of the thirteenth century.
59 This effigy is still in the church. The hands of the figure are raised in the attitude of prayer with the palms of the hands flat together. It is clothed in a coat of mail nearly to the knees, the head, neck, arms, hands, legs and feet being also defended by mail. The right leg is gartered. The garter can, however, have no reference to the Order, for the effigy is of an earlier date, while no Newmarch was ever admitted, nor did any early knight bear the five fusils. There is also in the church a loose corbel bearing a shield semée with fusils, 10 and 10, supported by the outstretched hands of a half-length figure. The church is mainly Early Decorated, and has a few ballflowers, the remains of a decoration, on one of the hood mouldings of the arcade separating the nave from the north aisle.
In the North Quire East window.
G. 5 fusills in fesse or.
Orate pro anima domini Richardi Aleyn nup Vicar de Womersley & p animabus parentu' suorum ac omnium Consanguiniu' suoru' ac benefactoz suoru', qui istam fenestram fieri fecit Ao Dñi mcccclxxxxiiij.
[Newmarch (Dodsworth)] Or 5 fusills in fesse g, inter 9 botony, 6 in cheefe & 3 in base, 2, 1.
g. 5 fusills in fesse or.
[Nevill] g. a X or.
Jn the South Quire East window.
g. 5 fusills in fesse or. Ar. 5 fusills in fesse g.
Jn y same window.
A Man in Armour kneeling, on his breast g. 5 fusills in fesse or. behind him 6 sonnes Armed, with the same Cote on their brest. On the other side his wife kneeling. On her gowne p pale Ar. . . fusills g. & 9 [Dodsworth] fusills or. behind her, 6 daughters all in red gownes.
Vnderneath, this Inscription.
Orate p animabus Radulphi Newmarch quondam domini istius Villæ, et Elizabethæ vxoris eiusdem, eorum liberoru' omniu' qui quidem Radulphus [occisus fuit, added in another hand in Dodsworth] apud Schrewesbery inter Domin Henricu' Regem et inter Henricu' Percy militem Anno Dni Milliessimo CCCC tertio littera
g. 3 & a chiefe or [paled with Newmarch (Dodsworth)].
On a stone in ye North Quire.
Orate p anima domini Johannis Aleyn, quondam Capellani [Capelli (Dodsworth)] de Midilhadelsay.
Fines A° 48 H. 3 m. 4 .
AA [vol. 146] 9 The King comitted to Richard Foliot the Mann's of Adam Newmarch of Wylmersley, Champsall [Campsall], Thorp, Bentleye, Archesey, in ye County of Yorke.
60 These additions to the Womersley inscriptions were probably made after
Pleas Hillary terme, 30 Ed. 1 .
BB [vol. 119] 131 Jone de Newmarch demised the Mann of Wilmersley wth the appurtnances to Alan de Thornton
the extracts had been taken for the Harlean MS., 800.
Out of Nostell Priory Coucher, fo. 250.
MM [vol. 138] 43
one acre of Land in
Cecill daughter of Maud de Oxenhop gaue to yo Church of St Oswald & Nostell for 27s of siluer ye Teritory of Wragby.
Out of Nostell Priory Coucher, fo. 251.
MM [vol. 138] 43
To all the faithfull in Christ Roger son of William de Preston greeting. Know ye that for ye health of my soule &c. J haue giuen to the Canons of St Oswald of Nostell &c. to the vse of building the Church all that Land in Wragby without any withholding with the buildings, as it lieth between the Toft of John Collock &c. in Wraggby.
MM [vol. 138] 43 Stephen Prior & Couent of Nostell gaue to Serlo de Bramham his servant 2 acres of Land in Wragby with
a toft &c. in exchange of one Toft in Brameham.
[On a fly-leaf at the commencement of these notes is entered a memorandum "Mr. Tilleysons hand."]
66 This is an almost singular example of a parish not being named after one of its members. A hamlet called Wragby has sprung up at Nostell, in the neighbourhood of the church, but the ancient parish of Wragby was composed of the manors of Hessle, Hilltop, Nostell, Ryhill, West Hardwick and Wintersett. Of these neither Hill Top nor Wintersett was named separately in Domesday, while Hardwick and Nostell appear to have been grouped with Featherstone. In the 1378 Poll Tax, there was no mention of Hessle, Hill Top, or West
Hardwick; while Ryhill and Wintersett are named under Stain cross. Ryhill was assessed at 5s., to be paid by 12 at 4d. and 2 at 6d., a skinner and a webster. Wyntersett was assessed at 10s., to be paid by 15 at 4d., and 10 at 6d. The ten were 4 souters, a chapman, a skinner, a smith, a tailor, a webster, and a wright. There are no Church Notes in 800; for Dodsworth's Wragby Church Notes, which were copious and interesting, went astray into the Agbrigg volume. They will be found at Vol. viii. 514, et seq.