Page images
PDF
EPUB

side of the parish, about one and a half miles from the church, is a Quakers' burial ground, in which are gravestones dating back to the seventeenth century. No burial has taken place here for fifty years. In the churchyard there are several interesting gravestones, some with quaint epitaphs. Just outside the wall, near the east end, are the stocks, still in very fair preservation. In the north corner of the churchyard, near the lych gate, stood the old parish school. The site is notified by a memorial stone let into the wall close by. This school was pulled down in the year 1837. The present lych gate was designed by the late rector, Rev. George Mallory, and built by him of timber from the old school.

In the year 1206 a priory was built by Sir Patrick de Mobberley, where the manor house now stands, for regular canons of the order of St. Augustine, “In honour of God, and the Virgin Mary, and St. Wilfrid"—to abide and dwell for ever in the church of Mobberley. Sir Patrick appointed a canon of the order, one Walter, to be the first prior. This priory was annexed to the priory of Rocester, co. Stafford, about 1228, by Gilbert de Barton. There is a tradition that an underground passage still exists between the manor house and the church, but no trace of it has been discovered. The cellars in the manor house are old, vaulted, and built of ancient bricks.

The church of Mobberley has much of interest attaching to it. At a recent restoration, when excavating for the foundation of the chancel arch, old Saxon remains were discovered, doubtless the foundations of the former church. But, unhappily, there are no dates or records of that church.

The present church was built about 1245. The original structure seems to have had one continuous roof covering both the nave and chancel, and at that time the

aisles were much narrower and lower than at present; and there was an engaged tower, fragments of the north and south walls of which are still standing. Probably this tower fell into decay, for in 1533 the present tower was built, by John Talbot, of Grafton, and the church repaired. Whether there were pinnacles on the tower is exceedingly doubtful, though the seats for them were prepared. At the south-west corner of the tower running round the buttress is this inscription: "Orate pro bono statu domini Johannis Talbot militis et dominæ margaretæ uxoris suæ patronæ ecclesiæ Anno domini milesimo quingentesimo tricesimo tertio. Richard Plat master mason." The rood screen bears a date 1500—and has with other devices the arms of Talbot. In 1710 the royal arms were painted on plaster above it reaching to the roof and one table of the decalogue on either side. These were removed at the time of the last partial restoration, 1888-1889, when the chancel arch was built. At the same time the chancel and vestry were rebuilt, a new roof put on the chancel, which is an exact copy, and timber for timber, of the old one. Some of the sound timber from the roof was used for the principal parts of the pulpit, the panels being those of the old three-decker. When taking down the east end of the north aisle the beautiful window head was found amongst the rubble in the wall, which is now in the staircase of the heating chamber. There are a piscina and two sedilia. At one time it is probable there were three sedilia, the most easterly one being removed in order to make room for the south window in the sacrarium.

The shields in this window were formerly in the lights at the top of the east window. They are of great age, and represent the arms of persons who have been possessed of land in Mobberley, or held the living of

Mobberley, from the year 1206. At the east end of the south aisle is a memorial window to Hamon Leycester, who was rector of Mobberley 1462. Parts of the Latin inscription can still be deciphered:

"Orate pro anima

magistri Hamonis Leycester rectoris hujus ecclesiæ qui haue fenestram fieri fecit anno domini 1492.”

The monuments in the chancel are of some interest and antiquity: one to Dean Mallory, A.D. 1636, recording the sequestration of the living owing to his being one of the non-juring clergy; one to Mr. Stanley of Alderley, rector in 1664; and a very peculiar one to Elizabeth Robinsonwell worthy of close investigation.-See Ormerod's History of Cheshire.

The bells are from one hundred to one hundred and twenty years old, and appear to have been given by Samuel Egerton, Esquire, of Tatton. They were cast at Gloucester Foundry, and are all inscribed. In 1891 two of the bells had worn through where the clapper struck them and had to be re-cast; and all the bells were re-hung at the same time. The following are the inscriptions on the bells :—

1. "Peace and Good Neighbourhood."

2. "S. Peacock Churchwarden.

Rudhall Fecit,

1792.

With louder tone again I ring,

To God's House all men to bring.
Samuel Hargreaves. Renovabit 1891.
G. Eden, J. Norbury. Wardens.

J. Taylor & Co. Founders, Loughborough."

3. "Thomas Ruddall, Glocester. Founder 1779."

4. "Prosperity to this Parish, 1772.”

I

5. "We were cast at the expense of Samuel Egerton, Esquire, 1772."

6.

"I to the Church the living call,

And to the grave do summon all.”

"Ring clearer than before

God's praises evermore.

E. of T. 1891."

The parish registers are of considerable interest, containing some quaint entries and memoranda. They date back to 1578.

[graphic]
[graphic][merged small][merged small]

THE

'HE remarkable "pardon brass" still remaining in Macclesfield Church, and the record of that which formerly had a place in the Strangeways Chapel of Manchester Church, give a local interest to the subject of pardon brasses-one which has not hitherto attracted the attention of antiquaries to any considerable extent.

A pardon brass is one which promises to the bystander, who shall offer up a certain number of prayers for the repose of those whose grave he beholds, a remission of a portion of the punishment due to his own sins and to be endured in a future life.

Dr. Fairbank calls attention to indulgences granted by the Archbishop of York at the close of the thirteenth and beginning of the fourteenth century. Thus in 1286 there is one of ten days for the soul of a man buried at Dover, one of an unmentioned term for a man buried at Kirkstall, one for a lady whose body is buried at “Byssemede” and whose heart is buried at Cambridge, and for another lady buried at Lincoln. There is also

« PreviousContinue »