Page images


GEORGE I County. Clarenceux was the second of eight sons, the issue of this marClarenceux. riage. He is well known, both as an architect and a dramatic writer.

Employed by Charles, Earl of Carlisle, deputy to the Earl Marshal, his Lordship, as a reward for having pleased him in the plan and elevation of his new erected seat of Castle-Howard, in Yorkshire, gave him the appointment of the vacant office of Clarenceux. Notwithstanding the just remonstrances and protest of the injured, superseded heralds, who justly complained, the patent having passed March 29, 1704, a warrant for creation passed on the 30th of that month. The ceremony was performed at the College by the Earl of Essex, substitute to the Earl of Carlisle. The College felt the slight put upon them in having a total stranger made a king at arms: the more, because though Sir John had great abilities, yet he was totally ignorant of the profession of heraldry and genealogy, which he took every occasion to ridicule. Lord Carlisle was very reprehensible in sacrificing the duty he owed, to private attachment. Clarenceux was knighted at Greenwich, September 9, 1714, appointed comptroller of the royal works January 6, 1714-5, and surveyor of the works at Greenwich Hospital, August 17, 1716. It was designed to have given him Garter's place; finding that the younger Anstis had a reversionary grant he resigned his tabard to Knox Ward, Esq. February 9, 1725-6, and died, March 26 following, at Whitehall. His country residence was Vanbrug-Fields at Greenwich, where he built two seats, one called the Baştile, standing on Maize, or Maze-Hill, on the east side of the Park. Lady Vanbrug, his relict, sold it to Lord Trelawny, who made it his residence the name was taken from the French prison of which it was a model. His other house, built in the same kind of style, is called the Mince-pie-house, now possessed and occupied by Edward Vanbrug, Esq. Sir John was improperly placed in the College. His architecture was like the nation he descended from, heavy in the extreme. The magnificent Blenheim, the best of his structures, is by no means free from this defect: the Mansion-house in London has the appearance of one mountain of modelled stone placed upon another; fully justifying the witty epitaph made upon him, by Dr. Evans:

"Lie heavy on him earth, for he
"Laid many a heavy load on thee."


[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]


His plays are what the refined taste of the present day would not GEORGE I. relish, being grossly indecent. He wrote the Relapse, or Virtue in "Danger; The Mistake; Provoked Wife; Esop; False Friend; and Confederacy." His "Journey to London" was left unfinished at his death. His plays of the Confederacy and sop were translations, but such good ones, that Lord Orford remarks, that if he had borrowed from Vitruvius, as, happily as from Dancour, Inigo Jones would not have been the first architect of Britain. Of his witty indecency he says,

"That Van wanted grace, who never wants wit."

Sir John's portrait, being one of the Kit-cat-club, was possessed by the late benevolent and hospitable Richard Tousin, Esq. who built a room and antichamber for the forty pencilled representations of the wits of the reigns of Ann and George I. At his death, October 9, 1772, his seat at Water-Oakley, in the parish of Bray, in Berks, came to Sir William Baker, who had married his daughter Jacoh. Their son, William Baker, Esq., now owns the seat and the portraits. There is an engraved portrait, representing him a fine, elegant, manly person, his large flowing periwig is gracefully displayed with an ease seldom seen in that kind of ornament, so totally different to our Anglo-Gallic cropt hair. The Clarenceux medal. is suspended to a golden chain, which adorns his neck. No person ever lived, or died, with so few enemies as Sir John Vanbrug, owing to his pleasant wit, and unaffected good humour. When conducted to the Bastile as a spy, from his too narrowly scrutinizing a fortification, his gaiety did. not forsake him. He did not contemplate his misfortunes, but pleased his. mind with sketching out the outlines of a comedy. His fluency in the French language, his vivacity, and the peculiarity of his pleasantry, obtained his cage being opened by the interest of the nobles, before solicitations from England could arrive.

Lady Vanbrug, his relict, died April 26, 1776, aged 90 years, their only son, an ensign in the second regiment of foot guards, died of the wounds he received in a battle fought near Tournay, in 1745.

KNOX WARD, Esq.-See next reign.

Patent June 9, 1726.






Ann.-PETER LE NEVE, Esq.-See next reign.



Will. 111-PEERS MAUDUIT, Esq.-See next reign.

Eldest son of John Mauduit, fellow of Exeter College in Oxford. B.D., senior proctor of that University in 1649, and rector of Penshurst in Kent. Mr. Hasted in his history of that county, erroneously calls him Mawaell. This clergyman had his name crossed out of the buttery-book of his college, October 20, 1648. After suffering some hardships for his orthodoxy he became a puritan, and as such had given him the pious and learned Dr. Hammond's parish of Penshurst, which he lost before the Restoration. Dr. Calamy calls him the ejected minister of Ansty in Devonshire. This! Mr. Walker proves not true, though it is far from improbable that he was from some other preferment: an extraordinary circumstance, to suffer for being the friend and the enemy of the national church. He married Eleanor, fourth daughter of Peers Robinson, alias Norris, son of Dr. Nicholas Robinson, alias Norris, Bishop of Bangor. Such were the parents of Windsor, who, by his skill, certainly deserved a farther promotion in the College, having grown old in it. He was the last of William III's. heralds. He resigned his office to his successor. His connexions were very respectable, marrying Emarantiana, youngest daughter of Sir John Mayne, of Linton, in Kent, Knt. and Bart. She was baptized at Linton, JaWindsor's son, Mr. Peers Mauduit, was treasurer of nuary 7, 1650-1. the College, and resided in it. By Dorothy-Margaret, his wife, he had Rebecca, born December 12, and baptized at St. Bennet's Church, Paul's Wharf, on the 13th, 1698. The herald was a man of great professional abilities: he wrote three large volumes in folio, of an Alphabet of Arms. The MS. being purchased at Mr. Warburton's sale, by Edward, Duke of Norfolk, his Grace gave it to the College of Arms.

Dec. 2, 1726.-JAMES WHORWOOD, Esq.-See next reign.



Will. 111.-CHARLES MAWSON, Esq.

Resigned his tabard August 5, 1720. Elizabeth, his wife, dying in 1718, was buried in the church-yard of East Barnet, in Hertfordshire, where a monument is erected to her memory.

Dec. 13, 1721.-EDWARD STIBBS, Esq.-See next reign.


Will. 111-LAURENCE CROMP, Esq.

Originally an herald-painter in Worcester, and an officer in the militia. His patron, Lord Windsor, recommended him to the deputy Earl Marshal. The lords proprietors of the province of Carolina gave him a patent, dated June 1, 1705, appointing him Carolina herald, with power to grant arms to the Casiques and Landgraves. He died, June 11, 1715, and was buried in the cemetary of St. Bennet, Paul's Wharf, on the 14th. John, his son, was buried there on the 24th of October in the same year. Perhaps he was son or relation of Laurence Cromp, of Tufley in Gloucestershire, allied to the Dethicks. Laurence Cromp, Esq. of Gloucester, died November 2, 1776.

Creation, Oct. 4, 1717.

Son of Richard Whitwick, of Whitwick in Staffordshire, descended from a very ancient and respectable family. His mother's name was Martha. His father was third son of Francis Whitwick, of the same place, Esq. living in 1663. Mr. Brooke, Somerset, gives the date of his patent as York, October 25, 1718. Dying in the College, he was buried June 20, 1722, in the chancel of St. Bennet's Church, Paul's Wharf. His arms were Azure, on a Chevron Argent, three Crosses-formée Gules, between three Pheons, Or; which bearings the Whitwicks, of Whitwick, took by permission, given April 16, 1613, instead of their ancient arms, Azure, on a Chevron Argent, three Pheons, Gules, between three Lions passant Or. Martha, the wife of Charles White, of Mapes in Middlesex, Esq. was his sister and heir.



[blocks in formation]

Was, during many years, a servant to Mr. King, Lancaster. He could not have had a more judicious, learned, or scientific master: nor would he have made him his confidential attendant, or assistant rather, had he not every way deserved it. No doubt Mr. King was the means of getting his admittance into the College. In 1707, he published a new edition of Sandford's Genealogical History, with various additions, and a continuation down to his own time. Mr. Stebbing was one of those gentlemen who met in 1707, to restore the Society of Antiquaries: they held their weekly meetings at the Bear Tavern in the Strand. The Earl Marshal appointed him secretary and seal-keeper. He died August 21, 1719. He was an extreme good herald. Collins' Presidents, &c. of Baronies by Writ, and other Honors, evince that he was also a good genealogist.

JOHN WARBURTON, Esq. F. R. and A. S.-See next reign.

Appointed June 6.-Patent June 18, 1720.-Created at the Heralds' College by Benjamin-Bowes Howard, Earl of Berkshire, Deputy Earl Marshal, June 24, following.



Ann.-JOHN HARE, Esq. F. A. S.

Was of illustrious descent, deriving his origin from the family of Hare, springing from Jervis, Earl of Harecourt, or Harcourt, in France, of which were the Duc de Harcourt in that kingdom, the old Barons Wingham, the Earls of Harcourt, of Stanton Harcourt, in Oxfordshire, and the Lords Colorane, in the kingdom of Ireland. Richmond was son of John Hare, of Bromsthorp, in Norfolk, by Susan, daughter and coheir of John Walpole, of Walpole, Esq., and grandson of Sir John Hare, Knight, and of Elizabeth, daughter and sole heir of Thomas Lord Coventry, Lord Keeper. From an elder son of Sir John Hare is derived the family seated at Stow


« PreviousContinue »