Page images
PDF
EPUB

taken the twenty years claimed for it by M. Pannier, for there seems hardly a detail overlooked in any of the numerous subjects dealt with, while the footnotes (which rather overweight this work), bibliography, and pièces justificatives would alone make a fair-sized book.

At first sight some of these minutiæ appear somewhat irrelevant, but a closer perusal will prove the value of this collateral knowledge to the student of historic bypaths; and future writers on this portion of Huguenot history will do well to consult M. Pannier's volume, in which the general reader will also find much of interest.

There is a copious index of names, another of places, and a full résumé of the contents of each chapter-a partial compensation for the absence of a subject-index which would, however, have been more valuable.

II. THE REFORMED CHURCH OF FRANKENTHAL.

Registres de l'Église Réformée Néerlandaise de Frankenthal au Palatinate, 1565-1689. Publiés par A. von den Velden. Société d'Histoire du Protestantisme Belge, 1911.

THE

Société d'Histoire du Protestantisme Belge' (affiliated to our Society) has just issued the first volume of the Registres de l'Église Réformée Néerlandaise de Frankenthal,' in the Palatinate, containing the baptisms from 1565 to 1689, and due to the industry of M. Adolf von den Velden.

In his preface we find a condensed sketch of the migration of the adherents of Luther and Calvin from the persecutions in the Netherlands at the end of the fifteenth and beginning of the sixteenth centuries, when they went principally to Aix-laChapelle, Wesel, Cologne, and Bâle in considerable numbers. They were chiefly Flemish and Walloon Calvinists (Welsche), and wherever they went gave great impulse to commerce, manufactures, and the arts. Yet this very activity seemed to raise discontent in some of their new homes, compelling them to go farther, even to the sea-ports of North Germany, while the Thirty Years' War scattered their settlements still more.

The one at Frankenthal was originally at Frankfort-on-the

Main, whence they were driven owing to the severe ordinances of the Lutheran clergy against the Calvinists; but the Elector Palatine, Frederick III, a pious ruler, granted them the Convent of Frankenthal, given up by the Roman Catholics in 1562, and there they continued till 1689, when the French army devastated the entire Palatinate under Marshal Duras with brutal, needless ravages which caused indignant Europe to combine afresh against Louis XIV. The Frankenthal settlement was naturally one of the first to be scattered by the sword of that Most Catholic King.' The stately ruins of the castle at Heidelberg still stand as a sad memorial of the ruthless cruelty of the Roi Soleil.'

[ocr errors]

M. von den Velden had already published in 1908 his similar work on the French Calvinist Refugees in Heidelberg and Frankenthal in German, and we are indebted for the French translation of that part to the indefatigable Treasurer of the Belgian Society, Pasteur Jean Meyhoffer, the author of a 'Biography of Laren de Comines,' and a 'Martyrology of the Netherlands,' &c.

Miscellanea.

THE HUGUENOT CEMETERY (MOUNT NOD),
WANDSWORTH.

THE Fellows may remember that in November 1910 the then President, Sir William Portal, brought to their notice a movement that had been promoted by the residents of Wandsworth to erect in the Huguenot burial ground-locally known as Mount Nod-a suitable memorial to the many Huguenots buried therein.

The subscriptions of the Fellows, added to those of local residents, amounting to about 851., enabled the Memorial Committee to obtain a design from Mr. H. Trimnell, A.R.I.B.A., which was subsequently approved by the Wandsworth Borough Council, and carried out by Messrs. Farmer & Brindley of Westminster Bridge Road. The memorial is in Portland stone and of classical design, and bears the following inscription:

'Here rest many Huguenots who on the Revocation of the Edict of Nantes in 1685 left their native land for conscience' sake and found in Wandsworth freedom to worship God after their own manner. They established important industries and added to the credit and prosperity of the town of their adoption.'

The pediment is enriched with carving, representing the French and English shields, in front of which is resting an open Bible, the design being adapted from that on the Certificate of Fellowship of the Huguenot Society. On the plinth are inscribed the following names of Huguenots buried either in Mount Nod itself or in the older graveyard surrounding the parish church.

[blocks in formation]
[blocks in formation]

The unveiling ceremony took place on Saturday, October 21, 1911 (the following day being the 226th anniversary of the Revocation of the Edict of Nantes), and was performed by the President of the Huguenot Society, Mr. Reginald St. A. Roumieu, in the presence of the Mayor and Mayoress of Wandsworth and a large gathering of local residents, as well as many Fellows of the Society. A reproduction of a pen-and-ink sketch of the memorial and a full account of the opening ceremony appeared in the Wandsworth Borough News of Friday, October 27, 1911. It may be worth while reminding Fellows that an interesting history of the Huguenots at Wandsworth and their burial ground at Mount Nod was the subject of a paper by the late Mr. John Traviss Squire, read before this Society on May 12, 1886, and printed in the first volume of Proceedings.

(Communicated by A. Hervé Browning.)

THE ABBÉ DE FLORIAN.

THE Rev. Paul de Claris de Florian, who had died at his rectory of Stradishall, Suffolk, August 7, 1737, had his will proved (P.C.C. 223, Wake) on October 22 following by Baron David de St. Hippolyte. He gives thanks that he was born in the Christian Protestant Reformed Church, the ark of God, the door to Heaven.' . . . His brother John was detained in France by his numerous family. He had but one child of his own, Mary Margaret. To her Godmother, the Baroness de St. Hippolyte, he leaves his Plutarch's Lives.' Many other books are specified, and their bindings lovingly recorded. His friend and companion in studies had been Anthony Vezian. His benefactor was the Right Honourable and most religious Mr. James Vernon, lord of the parish, &c., &c. This can be none

[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]

other than the ci-devant Abbé de Florian, recorded in 'La France Protestante' as Pierre,' who in 1716 returned to the Protestantism which his family, at least outwardly, had abandoned. The Abbé's brother, Jean, had, it is known, a family of sixteen children (of whom five daughters were consigned to convents). The fabuliste Jean Pierre Florian (1755– 1794) was one of his grandchildren. In 1716 Paul had published 'Lettres de M. de Claris, ci-devant prieur de l'église de Saint Jean de Criolon, dans le diocèse de Nismes, à Mgr. de Nismes son évêque et aux fidèles de l'église de Criolon sur son changement de religion,' and the same year he retired to London, and became a Minister at La Patente, marrying in 1717, Marie Coyer, or (as the will-copy perhaps more correctly gives it) Conyer. It is interesting to discover this controversialist, who might perhaps, had he lived in our day, have joined the ranks of the Alt-Katholiks, in harbour in a Suffolk Rectory. H. W.

THE DE VILLETTES FAMILY AND THAT OF

SELLON.

JOHN ARTHUR DE VILLETTES (1701-1776), elected a Director of the French Hospital in 1753, being the Artus' of that year, and son of Jean de Montledier, who had become a Director in 1751, was somewhile British Minister Plenipotentiary at the Court of Turin, and later accredited to the Swiss Republic at Berne, where one may imagine him in friendly personal relations with the Minister for Würtemberg, Alexandre de Montolieu, referred to p. 160, seeing that not only had both families hailed from Languedoc, but that he must also have been on terms of acquaintance, maybe of intimacy, with the English Montolieus, his wife being a niece of Mrs. James Molinier, a daughter (a bold venture this, he being apparently his fatherin-law's senior by two years!) of Guillaume Henri Sellon of Geneva, and of her sister, Charlotte Fayolle. He was the father of two gallant sons, who respectively became Directors in 1777 and 1779, Lieut.-General Henry Clinton de Villettes, and

« PreviousContinue »