« PreviousContinue »
Siddall Wm. Wilkinson Richard | Nordass Thomas, bricklayer
Smith Joseph, vict. Black Swan
Stephenson Ann, straw bonnet maker by field house Wride Jobn Watson Francis, vict. Tiger Gawtry John, tailor
Blacksmiths, Milner John Giles Thos, vict. Boot and Shoe Blenkin John Nicholson Robert Heard Thomas, church warden
Denham Peter Postill Wm. Ransen Robert, shoemaker
Smith Wm. Slingsby Thos, Ranson Wm, tailor
Farmers, Stocks Jobn Richardson Thos. earthenware dealer Arksey Samuel Watson Thos, Smith Robert, shopkeeper
Grocers, Taylor George, shoemaker
Acklam Geo. West Thomas, schoolmaster
Bradley Thos. Robinson Widow West Geo. blacksmith
Shoemakers, Winter Jobn, carpenter
Brown Wm. Gowland Aaron Carriers—John Wride & William Bryan Thos. Jordon Thomas Smith, to Market-Weighton, every
Crook Thos. Kilvington Wm. Wed. also John Wride, to York, every
Dunn Richard Stephenson Robt. Sat. dep. at 6 mg. returns same day, Dunn John Whiteing Jobin King's Arms Inn, Fossgate.
Farthing Tbos. Surgeons,
Harland Wm. Dobson Frank Barrow Hill, in the parish of Lockington, and wap. of Harthill; 8 miles
Harper John Dunn Reuben N. of Beverley
Harper Robert Tailors,
Herbert Robert Allman Wm. BARTHORPE Bottoms, in the Hought Wm. Blashill John parish of Acklam, wap. of Buckrose, Huzard Wm. Wheelwrights, and liberty of St. Peter's ; 8 mls. S. of Jordon Richard Arksey Robert Malton. Pop. included with Acklam. Jordon Mary Blenkin Wm. Farmers,
Seller Clement Knapton Wm. Moulson R. A. Butterfield John Smith John
Carriers-Carr Thos. to BridlingFoster Wm. Whitwell Wm.
ton, on Sat. dep: 6 mg. ret. 9 evg. BARTON Dale, in the parish of Jordon Thos. to Hull, dep. 9 evg Mon. Hunmanby, and wap. of Dickering, 3 & ret. 9 evg. Tu.-Stephenson Robt. miles S. of Hunmanby.
and John Whitty, to Beverley, Sat. Varley John, farmer
dep. 5 mg. ret. 9 evg. BASWICK STEER, (High & Low,)
BEILBY, in the parish of Hayton, in the parish of Brandesburton, wap wap. of Harthill, and liberty of St. and liberty of Holderness ; 8 mls. SSĖ. Peter's; 6 miles WNW. of Marketot Driffield. Population included with Weighton. There is bere a Chapel of Brandesburton.
Ease under Hayton. Pop. 239. Ulsham Wm. vict. Sloop
Graham Rev. Charles Ryves, incum
bent curate Battleburn, in the parish of Kirkburn, and wap. of Harthill, 3} miles
Farmers, Lund Wm. SW. of Driffield.
Balderson James Richardson Wm. BEEFORD, (P.) in the wap. and Braithwaite John Rudd Geo. liberty of Holderness; 8 miles ESE. of Chaplain James Rudd James Driffield. A very pleasant village, situated Chaplain Nathnl. Smith Wm. on the high road from Hull to Scarbro'.-Farmer Wm. Steels Wm. The church, of which the Rev. W. Welbank Fenteman Saml. Yeaman Wm. Childers, M. A. is rector, is dedicated to Hill Wm. St. Leonard, and the King is the patron ; | Braithwaite Thos, vict. Bay Horse here are also two chapels, one of the In. Dales James, corn miller, coal merdependent and the other of the Methodist
chant, and vict. Gate persuasion; and a free school, conducted on Hare John, shoemaker Dr. Bell's plan. Pop. 620.
Nichols Natban, millwright, &c.
Belly, in the parish of Howden, Dunn Sarab, vict. Ship
wap. and liberty of Howdensbire; 11 Huzard Geo. gardener
mile ENE of Howden. Pop. 49. Moss Matthew, schoolmaster
Blyth Edward, yeoman Moulson Robt. weaver & parish clerk Horstler Thomas, yeoman
BELLASIZE, in the parish of East- BESWICKE, in the parish of Kilnrington, wap. and liberty of Howden- wick, and wap. of Harthill; 64 miles shire ; 5 mls. E. of Howden. Pop. 197. N. of Beverley. Here is a Chapel of Farmers, Latham Jobo
Ease, the Rev. Josepb Rigby, perpeFreeman John Robinson Sarah
tual curate, and J. Dennison, Esq. Jaques Thos. Scales Richard patron. Pop. 192. KirkpatrickJohn,surgeon &apothecary
Farmers, Doogleby Stph. Raper John, tailor
Dougleby Wm. Dougleby Thos. BELTHORPE, in the parish of Ashton Peter, vict. Fox & Hounds Bishop Wilton, wap. of Hartbill, and Dawson Thomas, corn miller liberty of St. Peter's; 5 miles Ń. of Drew John, grocer Pocklington. Population included Hall Henry, shoemaker with Bishop Wilton
Norris Wm. blacksmith Stephenson Francis, farmer
Carrier-John Drew, to Beverley BEMPTON, .(P.) in the wap. of every Sat, and to Hull every Fri. Dickering ;3} miles NNE.of Bridlington; the church is a curacy, dedicated to St. Michael; patron, R.C. Broadley, Esq. Population, 231.
BEVERLEY, (P.) Burror Edward J. curate
In the wapentake of Harthill, and the liberty Calverley John, yeoman
of Beverley; 9 miles NNW. of Hull, 10 Walmsley Geo. grazier
from South Cave, 10 from Market WeighWalmsley Elizabeth, gentlewoman ton, 10 from Driffield, and 29 from York.
Carpenters, Boynton Francis Beverley is one of the most considerable Gardener Robert Cook Wm.
towns of the East riding; the period when Hodgson Wm. Dunn James it was built cannot be ascertained with pre
Farmers, Jarratt Robert cision, but the Collegiate church, or Minster, Agars Thomas, Spike Geo.
as it is called, dedicated to St. John the Agars John Walmsley Jane Baptist, was founded, according to a MS. in Bajley Robert
Leland's Collectanea, in 126. It was afterBeilby John, vict. White Horse wards destroyed by the Pagans, and again Edmond James, blacksmith
erected by John of Beverley, the fifth archFlinton Saml. grocer & shoemaker bishop of York, from Paulinus, in 704, who Kaye John, butcher
ordained in the choir of the church a moLilley Jobn, tailor
nastery of black monks, in the nave a college BENNETLAND, in the parish of of seven secular canons, with six clerks, and Eastrington, wap. and liberty of How- in the chapel of St. Martin adjoining
to the denshire; 5 miles E. of Howden.
church, a society of religious virgins, or Gardam Wm. yeoman
nuns. About a century and a half afterBENNINGHOLME, a small hamlet wards this structure was again destroyed by in the parish of Swine, wap. and liberty the Danes, who murdered a number of the of Holderness ;8 miles E. of Beverley. monks, the canons and the nuns; but AthelPopulation, 97.
stan, king of England, raised another church
on the same spot, and endowed it with cerHarrison Jobs, Esq. Grange
tain gifts and privileges.* In the mean time Farmers, Robinson Benj.
a town grew up around the church, which Bulmer John Thompson Wm.
obtained the name of Beverlac, the place or BENTLEY, in the parish of Row- lake of beavers, with which animals the ley, and wap. of Hartbill ; 3 miles neighbouring river Hull abounded. Amongst SšW. of Beverley.
the immunities was the privilege of sanctuFarmers, Kirk Wm.
ary, the limits of which were marked here, Freeman Edward Wallis Wm. as at Ripon, by four crosses, each of them
BESSINGBY, in the wap: of Dick- erected at a distance of a mile from the ering, 11 mile św. of Bridlington. church. William, the conqueror, whose Population, 83.
army assembled seven miles from Beverley, Hudson Harrington, Esq. Bessingby from his veneration for St. John of Beverley, ball
gave orders that none of his soldiers should Soulsby Christopher, gentleman commit any spoilation upon that sanctuary. Trevelyan Rev. Walter, curate According to Stubbs, the prelate, whose Farmers,
Dunning Geo. name has been through eleven centuries 50 Archer Wm. Gray Richard
* Regist. mag. Beverlac.
closely interwoven with the history of Be-J ley, into a state of ruinous decay, and in verley, was born in that place, in the year the year 1710, a considerable sum of money 640, about the time of the second introduc- was raised by a general bries, and by indivition of christianity into the North of Eng- dual donations, with which sum it was reland, by St. Austin and the Roman mission edified and adorned ; the choir was paved aries. He was descended of a good family. with marble of various colours; a magni. And after a course of religious education, ficent arch, curiously engraved was raised under St. Hilda, the famous abbess of over the altar, under which was placed a Whitby, and under Theodore, the 5th arch- table of fine white marble; the large East bishop of Canterbury, he became himself, window was decorated with rich painted iu the year 687, the 5th archbishop of York, glass, collected from the other windows, under the popular name of St. John of amongst which are the twelve apostles. Beverley. His fame for sanctity was so Since that time, the screen between the great, that the venerable Bede declares of choir and the nare has been rebuilt of Roach his own knowledge, that the holy man per- abbey stone, curiously carved in Gothic formed many miracles. At length, grown work; the floor of the body of the church is aged and infirm, he resigned his bishoprick paved with stone from the same quarry, and to Wilfrid II. in 718, and retired to Beverley, the galleries have been re-built, and beautiwhere having lived three years in seclusion, fully finished after the Doric order, resemhe died on the 7th of May, 721, and was bling those of St. Albans, at Rome, From buried in the church porch belonging to that some cause not explained, the North gable college which he had founded.
end of the Minster had shrunk, and hung In 1188, this church was again destroyed over the foundation 42 inches; to remedy by fire, and upon opening a grave, on the this dangerous deformity, Mr. Thornton, a 13th September, 1664, a vault was found carpenter, of York, aided by Mr. Rushin which there was a leader plate, bearing a worth, a stone mason, formed a machine by Latin inseription, which may be thus ren- which this part of the building, was, in dered:
1739, actually screwed up into its proper " In the year of the incarnation of our place, and restored again to the perpendieu. Lord, 1188, this church was destroyed lar line! by fire, in the night following the feast The clergy of the Minster at present of St. Matthew, the apostle: in the consist of a curate, and two assistants, the year 1197, on the 6th of the Ides of patronage being in the Mayor, Aldermen, March, an inquisition was made for and capital burgesses. The certified value the relics of the blessed John, and the of the living is stated in Bacon's Liber Regis, bones were found in the Eastern part at £31. 68. 8d. The curate is the Rev. of the sepulchre, and here reposited; Joseph Coltman, and the Rev. James Eyre, and dust mixed with mortar was in and the Rev. William Hildyard, are the
the same place found, and re-interred." assistant curates. At the South East tranSubsequently, namely in the year 1726, sept stands the freed-stool mentioned by these relics were again taken up, and depo- Camden, made out of one entire stone, and sited in an arched vault prepared for their said to have been removed from Scotland. reception. The pious zeal which shone so On which is inscribed conspicuously in the 12th century, soon re- Hæc sedes Lapidea, Dicitur, i. e. Pacia instated the Minster in all its former gran- Cathedra, ad quem Reus Fugiendo Peruet deur, and archbishop Kinsius built the great iens Omnimodam Habet Securitatem. steeple. In the year 1421, Henry V. after In English thus:-" This stone chair the coronation of Catharine of France, at is called Freed Stool, i. e. The chair Westminster, made a pilgrimage to Bever- Peace, to which what criminal soever flies, ley, because, as the Historians of those hath full protection." times say, a strong report prevailed, that At the upper end of the body of the the tomb of St. John of Beverley, sweat church hangs an ancient tablet with the pic blood all the day that the famous battle of ture of St. John and of King Athelstan, and Agincourt was fought, and it was imputed between them this distich, to the merits of that saint that this great
“ Als Free make I The victory was won.
“ As hert may thynke or Egh may see." The dissolution of the Collegiate church Hence the burgesses of Beverley generally of St. John, took place on the 20th of pay no toll or custom in any port or town of March, 1544, in the 37th year of the reign England, and before they travel, they can of Henry VIII. The silent and almost im- if they choose, receive at the Mayor's office perceptible dilapidations of time, had in a certificate, setting forth, “ That King five centuries brought the Minster at Bever- | Athelstan, of famous memory, did grant and also, King Henry I. did grant and confirm to lings per head is paid for cattle pastured the men of the town of Beverley an ex- during the summer upon Westwood, tin
emption from all manor of imposts, tolls, shillings and sixpence per head upon Swine: tallage, stallage, tuunage, lastage, package, moor, nine shillings upon Figham, and two 1 wharfage, and of and from all and every the shillings and sixpence per head upon Hurn,
like exactions, payments and duties, through- from May-day to the races in the beginning te out, and in all places whatsoever, by land or of June; and three shillings and sixpence ti sea, within all the dominions of England the remainder of the year. : and Wales; which said grants have been The church of St. Mary, though
confirmed by all, or most of the succeeding greatly inferior to the Minster as a building, ei kings and queens of England. And these is a venerable parish church, of which the e are also to certify, that the bearer, (men- King is the patron. In the King's books this
tioning his name and trade) is a burgess of living is valued at 141. 2s. 4 d. In this the said town of Beverley, and is thereby church there are several monuments, but discharged of, and from all and every the the most remarkable of them is one dated like exactions, payments and duties." Si. 1689, which records the fate of two Danish milar privileges extend to the inhabitants of duelists, who are here interred, and whose the liberty of St. John of Beverley, who epitaph runs thus :may also, by application to the deputy steward of the court, obtain a certificate of ex
Here two young Danish soldiers lie, emption. This privilege, though of ge
The one in quarrel chaneed to die ; neral, is not of universal application ; for it
The other's head, by their own law, appears, that in the year 1803, an act of
By sword was severed at one blow. parliament was obtained in favour of the The places of worship not within the Hull and Driffield navigation, for making pale of the establishment, are :—the Indesome alteration in the bridge, called Hull pendent Chapel, Lairgate, the Rev. James ridge, by which ac vessels belonging to Mather, minister ; the Methodist Chapel, the burgesses of Beverley have since been Walkergate; the Friends' Meeting-House, subjected to a toll, or tonnage. This, how- Wood lane ; and the Baptist Chapel, Walever, is the only toll which can be legally kergate, the Rev. John Carlton, minister. exacted from them, when they are supplied The Hospitals at Beverley consist of with the requisite certificate. The right of MRS. ANNE ROUTi's Hospital, in Keldexemption from tolls has been granted, or gate, for ancient poor widows, in which confirmed by charter and letters patent to there are thirty-two inmates, who are each the burgesses of Beverley, by no fewer than allowed five shillings per week, with a gown twenty-one sovereigns, commencing with and a supply of coals yearly, arising from King Athelstan, in 925, and ending with the rents of estates in different parts of the James II. in 1688. Another privilege at- county. MR. CHARLES WARTON'S Hostaching to the free burgesses of Beverley, PITAL, in Minster moorgate, and a much more important one, is the widows, of whom fourteen are accommoright of pasturage on the fertile and exten- dated, and have each allowed four shillings sive commons belonging to that borough: a week, with a gown each, and coals yearly,
from an estate called Killingraves, between "Westwood, containing 504 acres. Beverley and Bishop Burton; the Trustees Hum......
of which charity also appreutice a number *Figham .................... 297
of boys annually, with a premium of four And Swine moor.......... 263
pounds each. SIR MICHAEL WARTON'S Total...
-1174 HOSPITAL;* in Minster moorgate, for six Each freeman is allowed to turn three poor widows, who are each allowed three head of Cattle into Westwood, six into Swine- shillings weekly, with a gown and coals anmoor, three into Figham, and one into nually. Fox's Hospital in Minster moor. Hur. For this privilege only seveu shil- gate, for four poor widows, who have each
four shillings a week, a quantity of coals • Westwood is held by a grant from yearly, and a new gown every two years, Alexander Neville, Archbishop of York and Figham, by
a grant from William from a small estate and money in the funds. Wykham, Archbishop of the same pro- TEMPERTON'S HOSPITAL, Walkergate, for vince. There is a tradition, that Westwood was presented to the freemen of Beverley, by two maiden sisters, whose “ Virgin * This gentleman contributed during Tomb" stands in the body of the chureh, his life time £500 towards the repairs of near the pillars of the little South aisle, but the Minster ; and bequeathed £4000 as a this popular error is wholly unsupported by perpetual fund to beautify and keep it in evidence.
supporting six poor persons, and square adjacent to Tollgavel. This estabwomen ; the funds arising from landed pro- lishment is of modern origin, and owes its perty. There are also twenty-two Maisons institution to the munificence of the Rev. de dieu and four Bead Houses, which afford James Graves, late curate of the Minster, accommodation to as many poor families, who bequeathed a sum of money amountwith some small allowance to each. Exclu. ing to about 30001. in the public funds for sive of these benevolent institutions, there the education of youth in Beverley. For are several other charities under the direc- about two years a temporary school room tion of trustees, who make periodical dis- was used; but in 1814 the trustees purchased tributions to the poor. Formerly there were the old play house, and having divided it by in this place a preceptory of Knights Hospi- a partition, fitted it up for schools for boys talers of St. John of Jerusalem, and hospi- and girls. Here one hundred boys from tals dedicated to St. Nicholas, St. Giles, and the town and neighbourhood receive gratuithe Trinity; and an hospital without the tous instruction, under the tuition of Mr. North Bargate, with a house of black and William Watson, on the Lancasterian plan; another of grey friars.
and one hundred girls, on the plan of Dr. The Free Schools of Beverley are the Bell, and in the afternoon the girls are Grammar School, the National School, and taught needle work by Mrs. Watson. At Graves's School. The Grammar School, the National School, which is situate in which is of ancient date, is probably coeval Minster moorgate, about 160 boys are with the Collegiate Society of Saint John, taught by Mr. G. Blyth. for it does not appear when or by whom it The town of Beverley is airy, well was founded. The patronage of this school built, and extensive. The market place, in is now in the corporation. The old school particular, is very spacious, occupying four of brick stood in the Minster yard, on the acres of land ; it is ornamented by a cross site of the cloisters and conventual build- supported by eight columns, each cousisting ings, but in the year 1816 it was taken of a single stone, and was erected at the down to improve the church, and by the expense of one of the members of the liberality of the corporation a new school borough. The market, which is held on was built in a commodious and handsome Saturday, is well supplied, and the business style, in Keldgate, with a large and con- done here in the corn trade is very considervenient house attached, for the convenience able. The canal, called Beverley Beck, cut of the master. The school is open to sons in the year 1727, from this town to the river of burgesses indefinitely, on the payment of Hull, affords great facilities to trade, by two pounds per annum for their instruction opening a communication with the Humber, in the classics, and two guineas for writing and coals are brought in large quantities to and arithmetic. The sons of non-freemen the staiths, for the supply of the interior and day scholars pay six guineas for the part of the East-Riding. Here is likewise classics, and three pounds for writing and a trade in malt and leather, and several accounts. The present master is the Rev. of the poorer class find employment in the J. P. Richards, whose stipend is a hundred extensive nurseries of Messrs. George and pounds a year, being ten pounds from Dr. William Tindall, and the mint plantations of Metcalf's endowment, twenty pounds as an Messrs. Walker, Parker, and Hall. annual gift from the members of the bo- The annual fairs are held on the rough, and seventy pounds as an annual | Thursday before old Valentine's day, on the donation from the corporation. There is no 5th of July, on the Wednesday before the 25th church preferment attached to the grammar of September, and ou the 6th of November. school, but the parishioners of St. Mary's During the civil wars this place was sometimes give the lectureship of their alternately the prey of the King's troops and church to the master. This school has two of the troops of Parliament. At the comfellowships, six scholarships, and three exhi- mencement of the quarrel, when Charles the bitions to St. John's College, Cambridge. First attempted to make himself master of Among the eminent men who have been Hull, and was refused admission by Sir educated here may be mentioned John Al- John Hotham, the governor of that garricock, D. D. Bishop of Ely; John Fisher, son, he had his quarters at Beverley, but the D. D. Bishop of Rochester; John Green, place soon fell in
the hands of the ParliaD. D. Bishop of Lincoln ; Robert Ingham, a mentary forces, and Sir John, when he fied worthy divine ; and Henry Revel Reynolds, from Hull, on
account of his treason an eminent physician. There is a select against that cause which he had originally library of classical books attached to the so much advanced, was taken prisoner la school, containing several Aldine editions. the streets of Beverley, and afterwards (k. Graves's Free School is situated in the lecuted on Tower Hill.