Page images

church is an ancient neat structure, situated about half a mile from the village, on the road leading to Hessay; incumbent the Rev, Thomas Beckwith. Here is a good schoolhouse, founded by Sir Thomas Slingsby, for twelve poor children. Red House, built by Sir Henry Slingsby, in the reign of

Charles I. is situated in this parish, and from the terrace is a fine view of York, its cathedral, and surrounding country. Population, 269.

Kirk John

Farmers, Cass Wm. Kirk Thomas Coates John, Rec- Morley Sarah tory house Palfreeman Thos. Coupland John Reynolds Thos. Deighton Sampson Samuel, Laund house Thickpenny nook Hare Joseph Tesseyman Robt. Hopps Richard Walkingham Thos. Hopps Thos. Red Ward Wm. house


Coupland John, vict. Board
Hopps Richard, vict. Barley Corn
Hopps Wm. corn miller, Cock hill mill
Kilner Francis, brick maker
May Francis, schoolmaster
Pinder Wm. wheelwright, &c.
Shepherd Thos. black, white and gun

smith, manfr. of all kinds of implements of husbandry, thrashing and winnowing machines, &c. Tesseyman Robert, parish clerk Tesseyman Chas. shoemkr. & sexton Tindall Richard, butcher & grocer Wilson Isaac, tailor & draper Carriers-James Fewster & Robert Burkill, to York every Saturday.

OXTON, in the parish of Tadcaster; 1 mile SE. of Tadcaster. Population, 66. J. W. Clough, Esq. Oxton hall

Cuttle Lieut. Harman

Fretwell Ann, gentlewoman Wilkinson Matthew, farmer, Ouston Varley John, gardener, &c.

POPPLETON (Nether,) (P.); 4 miles NW. of York, is pleasantly situated on the banks of the river Ouse. The church is a neat ancient structure, the living is under the patronage of the Archbishop of York, the present incumbent the Rev. T. Gilpin. Here is a school and house for the master, endowed with 107. per annum, conducted upon Dr. Bell's plan. Pop. 254. Gilpin Rev. Thomas, vicar Gould Thomas, gentleman Richardson Thomas, gentleman Spence Isaac, Esq. Poppleton Villa Farmers & Yeomen, Cartwright Benj. Cartwright Thos. Poppleton moor

Hawkins J. & W. Whitehouse Thos.
Ruddings Whitehouse John
Prince Wm.
Richardson Robt. Fairbourn Robt.
Richardson W.jun. Rider Joseph
Richardson Thos. Wheelwrights,
Sampson Wm. jun. Richardson Steph.
Stout John
Warnford Richard

Richardson John

Atkinson Wm. vict. Fox
Groves John, tailor
Hairsine Thos. schoolmaster
Hodgson Peter, vict. Red Lion
Lupton John, blacksmith & ferryman
Richardson Robt. lime & coal mert.
Rider Joseph, shoemaker
Taylor John, vict. Lord Nelson
Tindall Richard, butcher

POPPLETON, (Upper) in the parishes of Lower Poppleton and Bishop Hill the Younger, York, in the liberty of St. Peter's; 4 miles NW. of York. The lands here were formerly in the possession of the Abbot of St. Mary's, at York; given by le Osbern de Arches, to that abbey, almost at its first institution, Sir Thomas Weddringonk -ton writes, that there was a Mayor of York killed at Poppleton, in the reign of King Richard II. as he conjectures, in some controversy betwixt the monks and the citizens. Here is a small chapel of Ease, which has the privilege of christenings and burials, but not marriages, and a Methodist chapel. This village is pleasantly situated within one mile of the river Ouse. Pop. 346. Forrest Rev. R. curate Hall Christopher, gentleman Harrison Robert, gentleman Isles Mary, gentlewoman

[blocks in formation]
[ocr errors]

Gray Robert, bricklayer Hawkes J. gardener Marston Wm. schoolmaster Pinder Wm. wheelwrighe

[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]
[ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][merged small][merged small]
[ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors]

STREETHOUSES, in the parishes of Bolton Percy and Bilbrough, 3 miles N RUFFORTH or Rughford, (P.) 5 E. of Tadcaster. This hamlet took its miles W. of York; a discharged vicar-name from its vicinity to the Roman road age, of which Mrs. Thompson is the from York to Tadcaster. All the Roman patroness. Population 295. roads being firmly paved with stone, were Rev. Jonas Thompson, vicar called streets, as Watling street, &c. Stra Rev. W. L. Pickard, M. A. perpetual tum is the word made use of by the venerable Bede, quite through his work, to denote a Roman road.


Preston Edw, vict. Lord Collingwood
Wilkinson Joseph, butcher

Rev. Robert Swann, B. A. curate
Farmers & Feomen, Siddall John
Blackburn Joseph Theakston Geo.
Brown Jonathan Thompson Joseph
Clough E. Grange Ward Wm. Grange
Dodsworth John Webster Andrew
Ellis Elizabeth Webster Wm.
Hessell T. Grange
Holgate John
Jackson Wm.
Jackson Mary
Jolly John
Lambert James
Mountain Wm.

Camidge Robt. carpenter & grocer
Siddall Thomas, vict. New Inn
-Smith Wm. butcher

Thompson Robert, blacksmith
victualler, Buck
Vincent Geo. tailor
Wilstrop Robert, corn miller

Cartwright Wm.
Mitchell Wm.
Piper Geo.
Scott James

Rennison Thomas, farmer

Syning thwaite, (extra parochial) 4 miles E. of Wetherby. Formerly there was a priory at this place, founded by Bertram Haget, about the year 1160, for nuns of the Cistercian order. Catharine Foster, the fourteenth and last prioress, surrendered the convent in 1534, at which time the annual revenue amounted to £62. 6s. The site was granted in the year 1539, to Sir Thos. Tempest, Knight. The century before the dissolution of this priory, Geoffry, Archbishop of York, took the nuns under his protection, and denounced a malediction against those and who should dare to wrong them, and a blessing on their benefactors.

Scagglethorpe, in the parish of
Moor Monkton; 6 miles NW. of York.
Shewkirk, in the parish of Kirk
Hammerton; 7 m. NE. of Wetherby.

THORP ARCH and BOSTON, (P.) 3 miles SE. of Wetherby. Though situated in different divisions of the county, these two places are so closely connected as to form only one village. The river Wharf runs with a rapid stream through this delightful place, and the cascade seen through the arches of

SKIPBRIDGE, in the parishes of
Moor Monkton and Nun Monkton; 8

the bridge, with the church and houses em-
miles WNW. of York. A small ham-bosomed in wood, on the banks of the river,
let on the banks of the river Nidd, over afford a rich and varied landscape that can
which there is a good stone bridge, of scarcely be excelled. In the year 1744 John
three arches, erected about thirty- Shires, an inhabitant of the village, while
four years ago.
cutting brushwood on the banks of the river,
Atkinson Richard, farmer & butcher,
accidentally discovered at this place a mine-


Atkinson Joseph, toll bar keeper
Calver Mary, farmer, Skipbridge lane
Fletcher Wm. vict.& farmer, New Inn

ral spring, which, by its medicinal qualities,
has tended to bring Thorp-Arch into con-
siderable repute. This water, when taken
fresh from the pump, has a limpid, spark-
ling appearance, saline taste, and a slight
sulphureous smell. It is possessed of purga-
tive and diuretic virtues, and contains a
small quantity of inflammable ir, generated
from iron. The late DR. WALKER, of
Leeds, an eminent physician, from whom
we quote, submitted this water to a variety
of experiments, in the year 1784, the re
Isult of which show that it contains inflam-
mable air, fixed air, and muriatic salt, in
the proportion of one ounce to a gallon;
calcareous earth and selentical earth, sixteen

grains together in a gallon; and a small quantity of iron suspended by fixed air. As the proportion of salt which it contains is


STEETON, in the parish of Bolton Percy, 3 miles ENE. of Tadcaster, for some ages has been the seat of the truly ancient and honourable family of Fairfax, and it is now enjoyed by a younger branch of his family, Thomas Luddington Fairfax, of Newton, Esq. being the present possessor. Population 83.

[ocr errors]

Mollett Benj. farmer, Steeton hall
Robinson Thomas, farmer and cattle
dealer, Bowbridge house
Swindon Geo, farmer, Steeton Low


Todd Christr. farmer, Steeton Grange

Middleton John, farmer & victualler,
Wild Man

considerably less than that in the Harrogate water, it is taken in larger doses. The principles which compose Thorp-Arch water give it a superiority over Harrogate water in general relaxation, bilious disorders, glandular obstructions, and scirrhosities, stomach com plaints, and spontaneous vomitings. Harrogate water is to be preferred in cutaneous diseases, the piles, rheumatism, worms, ulcers, and probably in the stone and gravel. In many other cases the medical virtues of the two waters appear to be nearly equal. The chalybeate water of Thorp-Arch pretty much resembles that of other chalybeate springs; but the air here is of uncommon purity, and many have experienced its good effects who have scarcely tasted the medicinal waters. The accommodations at this fashionable watering place are extremely good;

in addition to three capital inns there are a considerable number of lodging houses,

suited to the various circumstances and condition of the visitors. Thorp-Arch is supposed to derive the latter part of its name from the family of D'Archis, who came in with the Conqueror, and had large possessions in these parts. The church,

which is dedicated to All Saints, was or


dained a vicarage by Archbishop Sewall, 1258, but in the early part of the last century the living was only of the yearly value of £24, till, by the liberality of the Rev. Mr. Robinson, of Leeds, and Lady Elizabeth Hastings, added to a donation from Queen Ann's fund, and a contribution from the Rev. Mr. Wetherherd, vicar, the tythes were purchased as an augmentation to the living. The present church is a beautiful structure, of which the Earl of Huntingdon is the patron, and the Rev. Robert Hemington the incumbent. All the houses in

Boston are of modern erection; it is said

that the first house built in this division of the village was erected by the late Mr. Joseph Taite, in the year 1753, and that Mr. Samuel Taite, the gentleman who con.

tributed the land upon which the episcopal chapel in that place was erected, seven years ago, was the first person born in Boston.

[blocks in formation]

Burnley Jonathan, corn miller, Low
Mill, Holborn
Chippendale Abraham, joiner and ca-
binet maker, chapel street
Clark Thomas, boot & shoe maker
Clark Stephen, gardener, Moor end
Clark John, Esq. Holborn
Clarkson Thomas, millwright
Cullingworth Henry, grocer & draper
Dalby Wm. grocer & draper, Holborn
Dalby Eliz. dress maker, Holmes st.
Day Wm. lodging house, Holborn
Day John, stone mason, Holborn
Day Wm. stone mason, Holborn
Dixon Miss Mary, gentlewoman, Hol


Easterby Mary, lodging house, Clif-
ford street
Ellis Thos. grocer & draper, Holborn
Farra Thos. tailor & draper, Holborn
Farrer John, vict. Red Lion Hotel,


Farrer John, butcher, Holborn
Foster John, boot & shoe maker, Clif

[ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors]

There is here a charity school, founded by Lady Elizabeth Hastings, and a neat Methodist Chapel. The population, with Clifton included, is 1360, namely, Thorp-Arch 343, Boston 677, and Clifton 340.†

ford street

Gatliffe Wm. gent. Holborn
Gibbon Stephen, farmer
Gibbon Thomas, farmer
*Gossip Colonel Randal
Gossip Mrs. Joanna, gentwn. Holborn
Green S. ladies' boarding school, Hol-

Post Office.-Letters are conveyed to
Thorp Arch and Boston from We-
therby every morning. John
Smith, the letter carrier, arrives

Hassalwood Wm. joiner, &c. Clifford at 10 o'clock, and returns imme-Hawes Richard, tailor, Holmes street diately after circulating the letters. Hawes Mary, baker and confectioner,


+ Erroneously stated in Vol. I. at 1017.

Holmes street.

and Geo



Hebden Mrs. Sarah, gentwn. Holborn | Tireman Richard, attorney Holborn "Hornshaw John, farmer Tricket Wm. schoolmaster and parish clerk

Huddleston Isaac, corn miller and
farmer, Flint Mill

Hutchinson Mrs. Elizabeth, gentlewn.

[blocks in formation]

Strickland Geo. Esq. Chesnut grove
Taite Wm. gent. Clifford street
Taite Joseph, gent. Briggate
Thackray John and Horner, corn
millers and farmers, Thorp mills
Thomas John, gent. Holborn
Thurlwell John, stone mason
Thurlwell Wm. stone mason
Thurlwell Stephen, stone mason

Turner John, wheelwright, &c. Waddington Joseph, yeoman, Clifford Waddington William Lee, yeomau, Clifford

Wells John, vict. Admiral Hawke, Holborn

*Wharton Matthew, blacksmith and farrier

Wharton Elizabeth, grocer & draper Wharton Joseph, blacksmith & farrier, Clifford street

Wilkinson Samuel, linen draper, hosier, &c. Holborn

Wilkinson Geo. Esq. Holborn
Wilkinson Rev. F. M.A. Holborn

Williamson Nancy, linen draper and

dress maker, &c. Chapel street *Wood and Dunwell, manufacturers

of brown, coloured, and glazed paper, millboards, &c. oil millers, (logwood ground, and oil cake crushed)

Wright Mrs. Mary, gentwn. Holborn

Coaches.-ALEXANDER Diligence, to Leeds, from Mr. John Farrer's, Red Lion, Boston, every Tuesday and Saturday, at ? morning, returns at 7 in the evening.

Carriers.-Joseph Jagger, to York every Tuesday and Saturday, to Leeds every Thursday. & Wetherby daily.John Lockart, to York every Wednesday, and to Leeds every Saturday.

TOCKWITH, in the parish of Bilton, 7 miles N. of Tadcaster. At the commencement of the memorable battle of Marston Moor, in the year 1644, the front of the Par

liament's army extended from the North end

of Marston Moor to this village, a distance of nearly 3 miles. Here is a small neat Methodist chapel, built in the year 1796, and a Sun

day school for 100 children. Population 436.
Farmers& Yeomen, Wilks S. P.
Fowler Joseph Wilstrop John
Hastings Timothy Blacksmiths,
Hopwood Joshua Sharpney John
Lazenby Wm. Wilson Robert
Norfolk Thos. Brewers & Maltsters
Norfolk James Abbey Richard
Ripley Timothy, Brogden Robt.
Cowthorp moor-
Spink John, Ne-
ther Carr
Tennant Henry,
Skew Kirk
Thomlinson Matt.

Gaunt Richard
Thomlinson Benj.
Earthenware Dirs,
Gray Wm.
Ward Thomas

* See page 32.

[blocks in formation]

Farmers, Cade James Farrar Wm. Farrar Bryan Hick Wm. Horner John

WALTON, (P.) 23 miles E. of Wetherby. This village was long in the possession of the family of Fairfax, but is now the property of G. L. Fox, Esq. Bramham Park, who is lord of the manor. Through this tract of ground runs the great Roman road called Watling street, from the south to the wall now called Redgate. It crossed the Wharf at a place called St. Helen's Ford, near Walton, where formerly stood a

chapel, dedicated to St. Helen, the mother of Constantine. The parish church is a

very ancient structure. Pop. 247. Rudd Rev. James, curate Fisher Charles, gentleman Goodall Agnes, gentlewoman Wright Samuel, yeoman

Noble Henry
Scott John & Robt.
Stead Wm.
Tate Bryan

Bentley Michael, wheelwright
Farrar Robert, tailor
Farrar Wm. farmer

Fletcher Jas. swine and cattle dealer
Hick Wm. vict. Black Bull
Pawson Benj. constable
Powell Joseph, vict. Royal Oak, and
parish clerk
Smith Samuel, grocer
Whitehead Thomas, blacksmith

WIGHILL, (P.) 3 mls. N. of Tadcaster. The family of Stapleton possessed this estate upwards of 500 years, but it is now the property of Richard Fountayne Wilson, Esq. lord of the manor. The parish church, which is dedicated to All Saints, and of which Mr. Wilson is the patron, and the Rev. T. M. Shann the vicar, is pleasantly situated on a commanding eminence, contiguous to the village. Population 250.

Yorke Richard, Esq. Parkgate
Shann Rev. T. M. vicar
Thompson Samuel, gentleman
Farmers and Yeomen,
Dawson John Thomlinson Matt.
Milburn Richard Easedike
Milburn Marmadk. Thompson John
Rayson Edward Warmford Henry,
Stephenson John Lodge
Stephenson Jacob Wood Benj. Park
Easterby Wm. blacksmith and vict.
White Swan

Prince Francis, boot and shoe maker Pawson Wm. and Geo. wheelwrights Young John, grocer, &c.

Carriers to York and Thorp Arch three days per week.

[blocks in formation]
[ocr errors][ocr errors]
« PreviousContinue »