Page images

The question of the desirability of constructing, on a uniform scale, MODELS OF ANCIENT MONUMENTS, was discussed at some length, and a fine series of such models, made under the direction of the Inspector of Ancient Monuments, was exhibited. It was ultimately resolved that the archæological societies of Great Britain memorialize the Government to increase the allowance at present made under the "Ancient Monuments Act," in order that such models of other monuments might be constructed, and a committee was appointed to draw up a draft of a memorial to that effect.

The following resolutions were discussed and agreed to:

[ocr errors]

I. That a standing committee be appointed to transact such business as may be referred to it, or as may arise in the intervals between the conferences, and to make preparation, in conjunction with the Society of Antiquaries, for the annual conference."

2. "That such committee be empowered to collect subscriptions from the various societies in union with the Society of Antiquaries, for the necessary expenses of this work."


"That it is desirable that a calendar should be

prepared every year of all papers or books of archæological interest published during the year, and that such calendar should be printed and communicated to all subscribing societies, for inclusion in their volumes of transactions; and that the standing committee be asked to consider the best means of carrying this into effect, and be authorized, if they find it feasible, to carry it out for the ensuing year."

It was also resolved that the standing committee consist of the following: The officers of the Society of Antiquaries; E. P. Loftus Brock, Esq., F.S.A.; Rev. J. Charles Cox, LL.D., F.S. A.; W. Cunnington, Esq., F.G.S.; Rev. P. H. Ditchfield; Chancellor Ferguson, F.S.A.; G. L Gomme, Esq., F.S.A.; H. Gosselin, Esq.; Ralph Nevill, Esq., F.S.A.; George Payne, Esq., F.S.A.; and Earl Percy, V.P.S.A.

It was also resolved that the Council of the Society of Antiquaries be asked to summon the next conference in July, 1891.

[blocks in formation]

city. We reserve our notes of what seems to have been an interesting and satisfactory week until next month's issue.

S もの

The last quarterly issue of the JOURNAL OF THE ROYAL ARCHEOLOGICAL INSTITUTE is full of interesting and valuable matter. It opens with a paper on Burton Church, Sussex, by Mr. J. S. André. This small church is remarkable for a good rood screen and loft, and for a remarkable wall painting on the east splay of one of the north windows of the nave, depicting an unidentified female saint crucified, head downwards. This is a point that our hagiologists ought to be able to solve. A posthumous paper of the late Prebendary Scarth gives further information with regard to recent discoveries at the Roman baths in Bath.


Mr. W. H. St. John Hope gives a thorough paper, such as no one else could put together, illustrated with ground-plan and other plates, on "The Priory of the Whitefriars or Carmelites of Hulne, Northumber land." Mr. H. Longden contributes a too brief paper on English Wrought Ironwork from the Thirteenth Century. By Rev. G. J. Chester, there is a "Notice of Sculptures of Oriental Design at Bredwardine and Moccas, Herefordshire." Mr. J. Park Harrison has a short illustrated paper, but one of the greatest value to ecclesiologists, on "Anglo-Norman Ornament compared with Designs in Anglo-Saxon MSS." The Rev. Canon Raven writes "On Early Methods of Bell Founding.' The remarkable early Norman font with Celtic ornament of the church of Toftrees, Norfolk, is described and illustrated by Mr. J. E. Ball. Why is this last-named paper put in small type? Other papers of less importance also find a place in this good number.

[ocr errors]

On July 16, a large number of the members of the NORFOLK AND NORWICH ARCHEOLOGICAL SOCIETY made a most interesting excursion to Swaffham and Oxburgh, under the presidency of Sir Francis G. M. Boileau, Bart., F.S.A. The first place visited was Swaffham Church, dedicated to St. Peter and St. Paul. The leading features of this noble building were pointed out by the vicar (Canon G. R. Winter), who stated that most of the nave, pillars, and arches were evidently erected in the thirteenth century, but the two bays nearest the tower, and the elegant roof of chestnut wood, lately restored, were fifteenth-century work. The tower, erected 1507-1510, is supposed to have been at one time detached from the church. The north aisle and tower are said to have been erected at the cost of John Chapman, tinker or pedlar, who was churchwarden in 1462. Canon Winter

narrated the well-known tradition of Chapman's dream, which led to the discovery of treasure hidden beneath a tree in his garden. Attention was drawn to the old carvings now in the chancel, representing the pedlar with his pack, his wife, and his muzzled dog or bear. The church library, enriched with gifts from the Spelmans, of Narborough, contians, inter alia, the Black Book, dated 1454, and an illuminated missal. The "Black Book

was examined by some

of the party. It commences as follows: "Iste liber dicitur Gratia Dei navicula recta ecclesie Sci Petri de Swaffham Market facta in festo Exaltationis Anno Domini Milmo CCCCCmo LIIII°. Continens ut


olim in Archa Noe certa tristega," etc. The title Gratia Dei is evidently meant for Grâce de Dieu, the name of a ship, .g., one of the three large ships built for Henry VIII. The writer compares the book to Noah's Ark In it the possessions of the church were to be preserved safely in the midst of the " waves of this troublesome world" as the various creatures were preserved in the Ark through the Deluge. The "tristega" are the stories into which the Ark was divided ("with lower, second, and third stories shalt thou make it," Genesis vi. 16). The first section of the book contains a terrier of the lands belonging to the lights of the chapel of the blessed Virgin, and of the several lands of the church with their metes and bounds. The Rev. C. R. Manning remarked that the rood-loft had probably extended across the nave and aisles, the only evidence remaining being the doorways, in the north and south aisles, to the stairs leading to the rood-loft; and he called attention to a small and interesting brass of a man in armour of 1460. The Rev. S. S. Lewis, commenting on the story of the pedlar, stated that the subject of it was a common folk-tale in India which had travelled westward, the moral of which is enshrined in the parable of the hidden treasure, which is that industry leads to prosperity. The company were driven to Oxburgh, and proceeded first to inspect the church. The rector pointed out several features which have not yet been explained in the east window an image of a royal head, the figures of saints upon the screen, and some rude sculptures of a fish and a bird upon the exterior of the wall of the Bedingfeld Chapel. Attention was drawn to the handsome sedilia on the south side of the sanctuary, to the Bedingfeld Chapel of early renaissance work, and to the beautiful spire and tower. The Rev. C. R. Manning, having read passages from the Rev. G. H. McGill's paper on 'Oxborough Hall," continued in the fourth volume of the Transactions of the Society, the company were conducted over the hall by Father Bodley. By the courtesy of Sir Henry Bedingfeld, the various rooms were thrown open and objects of interest exhibited. The hall is built of red brick, and is said by Blomfield to bear a resemblance to Queen's College, Cambridge, having been built in the same reign. It comprises the four sides of a rectangular courtyard, and is surrounded by a moat 10 feet deep. The entrance is through a lofty embattled gateway, flanked by octagonal towers, access to which, across the moat, is by a three-arched bridge, taking the place of the drawbridge and portcullis, which were formerly there. The walls of the king's room are covered with tapestry of the time of Henry VII.; the coverlet and curtains of the bed are adorned with quaint devices worked by Mary Queen of Scots, and her custodian, the Countess of Shrewsbury. Adjoining this room is a small private turret chamber, through which access is obtained to a dark and secret hiding-place, entered by a trap-door concealed in the pavement. One of the most interesting bedrooms contains an old carved oak bedstead, bearing the following date and initials in gilt, "H. B. E., 1522," below which are the arms of the Bedingfeld family, a spread eagle in a gilt fetterlock, surmounted with a coronet. In the Rectory grounds are the ruins of a small church, or chapel, supposed by Blomfield to be Saxon, because a Saxon


coin had been found near it; but having no features earlier than the fourteenth century.


The third number of the second volume of the JOURNAL OF THE GYPSY LORE SOCIETY is full of interest. The first article is on "The Heidens of the Netherlands," by Prof. M. J. de Gaeje, giving a descriptive account of a peculiar people, brown in complexion, attired in strange and variegated garments, going in bands of about a hundred men with women and children, who in the year 1417 crossed the eastern frontier of Germany, coming, as they alleged, from an unknown country called Little Egypt. Prof. Rudolf von Sonea contributes “Notes on the Gypsies of North-Western Bohemia," and also a continuation of the "Slovak-Gypsy Vocabulary." Mr. Francis Hindes Groome gives a creepy Roumanian gypsy story called "The Vampire," and compares it with Russian and Croatian variants. Dr. A. Elysseeff concludes "Materials for the Study of the Gypsies collected by M. I. Kounavine," with a valuable sketch map, indicating the geographical distribution of the gypsies in the ancient world. Mr. David MacRitchie gives the first part of an essay on "Scottish Gypsies under the Stewarts." The number also contains a review of Mr. F. H. Groome's article Gypsies," in the new edition of Chambers's Encyclopadia, as well as a variety of brief Notes and Queries. The earlier numbers of the journal of this society are We now very scarce, and fetch an increased price. should advise our folk-lore readers to become subscribers. The hon. sec. is Mr. D. MacRitchie, 4, Archibald Place, Edinburgh.


[ocr errors]


On Monday, August 4, the BRADFORD HISTORICAL AND ANTIQUARIAN SOCIETY made a very successful excursion to Whitby Abbey, where a paper was read by Mr. G. W. Waddington. They then visited the museum and the old parish church of St. Mary's, with its quaint muddle of galleries and old-fashioned seats. The printed programme was illustrated by a view of the abbey as it appeared when the west window of the nave and the central tower were still standing. The next excursion of this society is to Aldborough and Boroughbridge, on Saturday, September 13, when Mr. Leadman, F.S.A., will act as cicerone.

The last quarterly issue of the ARCHÆOLOGIA CAMBRENSIS is a good number. It opens with an illustrated article on "Some Monumental Effigies in Wales." The drawings have been done by Mr. Worthington G. Smith apparently with bold faithfulness, but have, we fancy, got somewhat muzzy in the lithographic process. The letterpress is by Mr. Stephen W. Williams. The effigies illustrated in this paper (which we hope will prove the first of a complete series) are: (1) A thirteenth-century crosslegged knight in Tremeirchion Church, Flintshire; (2) a thirteenth-century civilian in the north wall of the church of St. Hilary, near Cowbridge; (3) Thomas Bassett, of Beaupré, who died in 1423, also in the church of St. Hilary, an interesting example of transitional armour; (4) an early fourteenth-century female figure at Coychurch; (5) a knight and his lady (Berkerolle) on an altar tomb, in the church of

St. Athan, Glamorgan, fourteenth century; (6) a layman of the fourteenth century, in the church of Llantwit Major; (7) a quaintly costumed lady of the end of the sixteenth century, also in the church of Llantwit Major; and (8) a sepulchral slab to Sir John de Boteler, c. 1285, in the church of St. Bride, Glamorgan. Mr. Robert W. Griffith contributes a paper on the vexed question of the identity of the "Six Episcopal Effigies in Llandaff Cathedral." An extract from the statute book of St. David's Cathedral, detailing the twelfth century appropriation of the land and church of Lispranst, is transcribed by Rev. Canon Bevan. Mr. R. W. Banks gives a paper on "Brecon Priory its Suppression and Possession." Westwood contributes an illustrated paper on an eleventh century inscribed stone at Llangorse Church, Brecknockshire. Mr. Richard Owen writes briefly on the Municipal Records of Conway; and an illustrated account by Dr. Bruce of a Christian inscription from Chesterholm is given from the Archæologia Eliana. The number concludes with an interesting variety of archæological notes and queries pertaining to the Principality.

もの もの



AND NATURAL HISTORY SOCIETY made an expedition into East Derbyshire on July 26. Dronfield Church was first visited, where Mr. J. MitchellWithers read a paper chiefly based on Rev. Dr. Cox's Churches of Derbyshire. The church has two good brasses, and various interesting structural points, such as an early ninth century treasury or vestry on the north side of the chancel, with priest's room above. The train then took the members on to the remains of Beauchief Abbey, to which Dronfield Church used to be appropriated. A brief but good paper was read on this Premonstratensian house by Mr. J. D. Leader, F.S.A. Mr. S. O. Addy, the historian of Beauchief, was amongst the party. Hence the party proceeded by carriages to Norton Church, which was described by F. Westby Bagshawe, and afterwards to the Oaks, the seat of Mr. Bagshawe. Mr. Bagshawe had placed for inspection in one of the ante-rooms an interesting series of early charters and deeds, and the original manuscript of Abraham de la Prime's diary. The Vicar of Norton also showed in the vestry of the church a beautiful Elizabethan chalice and a number

of charters relating to Beauchief, which were inspected

with much interest.

The annual meeting of the WILTS ARCHEOLOGICAL AND NATURAL HISTORY SOCIETY was held this year at Devizes on July 30 and 31, and August 1. The general meeting was held in the afternoon of July 30, at the Town Hall, when General Pitt-Rivers, F.R.S., F.S.A., delivered the inaugural address on Excavations at Bokerly Dyke, illustrated by various diagrams and models. At the conversazione in the evening, papers were read by the president on "King John's House at Tollard Royal," and by Rev. E. H. Goddard on "The Church Plate of North Wilts." On Thursday the company proceeded through Quaker's Walk to Roundway Hill and across the down to Oliver's Camp, where a paper was read by Mr. Walter Buchanan on the Battle of Roundway

Down, which was fought in July, 1643. Thence the drive was continued to Wans Dyke, where General Pitt-Rivers described the cuttings that had been recently made under his superintendence, with the result of assigning a Roman occupation date to this great earthwork. The members next visited the church of All Cannings, the interesting points of which were pointed out and described by Mr. C. E. Ponting, F.S.A. The following are the salient points: Evidence of Norman work in piers of central tower; early English doorway to north porch; nave arcades fourteenth century; roofs of nave and aisles Jacobean, resting on fifteenth century corbels; aisle and transept walls earlier half of the fifteenth century; chantry chapel added and tower raised about 1480, when the rich parapet was carried round the south transept with arms of Beauchamp and St. Amand; old glass in transept windows; chancel rebuilt 1867. Good monuments-Ernlé, 1587 and 1734; Fowle, 1770 and 1796. Etchilhampton, a chapel to All Cannings, was afterwards visited, the chief features of which are a transitional Norman font, and an altar-tomb with recumbent figures of knight and lady, with their twelve children on the sides, circa 1400. In the evening papers were read by Mr. C. Penruddocke on "Mrs. Jane Lane;" by

the Rev. W. C. Plenderleath on "The Recent Finding of an Urn in a Flint-bed at Cherhill," and by Mr. W. H. Bell on "The Geology of Devizes." The grand old church of Potterne. chief feature of Friday's excursion was the visit to the An interesting de

scriptive address was given by Archdeacon Buchanan, who pointed out the old font, which was a memorial of the former church-probably a relic of Saxon times, its inscription, it is said, being in characters which have not been used since the Conquest, those most nearly resembling them being in a copy of Cuthbert's Gospels in the British Museum. The church, the Archdeacon said, was certainly built during the first half of the thirteenth century, and possibly by the same persons who built Salisbury Cathedral. There were two opinions respecting the tower; one was that two eras are represented, and that it was originally carried up only to the string above the point of the church roofs, and completed later; the other being that the belfry is not later than the rest of the church. Of the six bells, one is very ancient, and its inscription has never been deciphered. The feature of the interior of the church is its extreme simplicity-no sculpture, mouldings simple and few, but want of elaboration entirely compensated by good proportion and refinement of detail. The old oak pulpit was of the fifteenth century, and the organ, the gift of Thomas Flower, was of the early eighteenth century. The present font was of the thirteenth and fourteenth centuries, the bowl being later than the base. The north door was no doubt the original door of the church, and was an almost unique specimen of early thirteenth century woodwork. The churches of Market Lavington, Erchfont, Chirton, Marden, Charlton, Rushall, and Manningford Bruce, everyone of which have special features, were all visited on August 1 by these energetic Wiltshire archeologists; and as each church was visited that zealous and able antiquarian architect, Mr. Ponting, was to the fore with either a paper or careful description. Space

forbids our saying a word with respect to any of these churches, save with regard to Manningford Bruce. In this little church Wilts possesses a second com. plete pre-1 e-Norman church (Bradford-on-Avon being

the other). The nave and apsidal chancel of herringbone flint work remain unaltered since Saxon days, save by the insertion of two windows in the fourteenth century. Noteworthy features are the absences of any east window in the apse, the high and narrow proportion of doorways, and the aumbries in the north and south walls of the chancel. On the whole the Wilts Society are to be much congratulated on their three days' meeting, which has undoubtedly been one of the very best held during 1890 by our provincial archæological associations.

The BERKS ARCHEOLOGICAL AND ARCHITECTURAL SOCIETY had a most successful excursion to the Vale of the White Horse on July 16, in which they were joined by a contingent from the OXFORDSHIRE ARCHEOLOGICAL SOCIETY, under their president, Sir Henry Dryden. The Blowing Stone at Kingston Lisle was first visited; it is a sarson block about a yard square, with holes at the top and sides. By blowing into one of the upper holes a discordant noise, like a fog-horn, is produced. The Rev. J. M. Guilding said the stone had been removed from its original situation on the top of the hill, and he certainly did think that it was used as a military summons, when there was any danger of a Danish incursion. No doubt, in view of such, that huge stone, which was then on the top of the hill near the Ridgeway, would be blown, and he supposed an expert blower at that height would make the sound heard a great distance off; and the house carls and other men connected with the Saxon thane would get their weapons ready and meet on the camp side. He certainly thought there could be no question that the stone was formerly used as a call for military purposes. A walk of a mile along the old Roman road of the Ridgeway brought the party to the fortified camp, which was the scene of the battle of Ascendune, which was the decisive conflict in the history of the Danish invasion. Here papers were read by Rev. P. H. Ditchfield, the energetic hon. sec., and by Rev. E. R. Gardiner. By a further walk of a mile and a half, that remarkable relic of early days, known as Wayland Smith's Cave, was reached, where a short but clear paper was read by Rev. E. R. Gardiner. Afterwards Uffington Church was visited, which was described by Rev. W. Macray, the hon. sec. of the OXFORD SOCIETY. The manor belonged to Reading Abbey. The earliest church of which anything was known was built by Abbot Fairitius in the first quarter of the twelfth century. The present edifice was entirely Early English. There are remarkable recesses for two altars in the north transept and one in the south transept, gabled roofs which were said by Mr. J. H. Parker to be believed to be unique. There is a room over the south porch with an original fireplace and chimney, but the staircase was ruinous, and consequently inaccessible. The spire was destroyed by lightning in the middle of the last century, and in falling broke the roof of the church so that the present roof cuts off the tops of the windows. The sedilia and piscina are noticeable, as also are the

octagonal tower and doorway in the south transept, as well as an ancient iron-bound chest. Over the south porch are curious figures of two animals resembling lizards. Time only permitted a brief visit to the interesting fourteenth century church of Sparsholt, where there is a wooden military effigy, a medieval wooden lectern or eagle, and a thirteenth-century transept screen. This church is now beginning to show signs of recovery from the dilapidated state into which it was allowed to fall by the late vicar of evil repute.


The annual excursion of the BUCKS ARCHEOLOGICAL AND ARCHITECTURAL SOCIETY was held on July 22, in beautiful weather. The first place visited was Gayhurst House, near Newport Pagnell, which was described by the owner, Mr. J. W. Carlile. The mansion, which stands in the centre of some grand wooded scenery, possesses somewhat of a noted history, as it is said to have been connected with Sir Everard Digby, one of the conspirators in the Gunpowder Plot, who was at that time the owner of it. The building appears to have been divided into three parts, or as if it were built in three ages. At one time it had gable-ends, and the front was in an entirely different position to the present front, as it faced the sun, and from an examination this is clearly shown. Certain portions have the appearance of the Tudor period of 1500. The new front was made about 1600, and, in order to make the ends match, the gable-ends were covered up by means of square walls, in which were dummy windows, the gables themselves, however, not being in any way disturbed. In 1715 the mansion came into the possession of George Wright, Lord-keeper to Queen Anne, who then added a large piece at the back, and also pulled down the old church standing in close proximity to the building, and built up another in the Christopher Wren style of architecture. The members next proceeded by Weston-Underwood to Olney, where they visited the church, which was described by Mr. J. L. Myers, one of the hon. secs. He said the first church at Olney, as far as there was evidence, was a Saxon church, which was said to have stood about a quarter of a mile from the present edifice, and the only relic which remained in connection therewith was said to be what was now called the Churchyard Elm, and which is thought to mark the position of the old church. Old bones had also been dug up near that spot. When the present edifice was restored in 1807 an old beam was found, which was thought to have belonged to the old church; but he did not see his way to believe that idea. The existing church was built in 1325 and 1350, which was about the best Pointed, second Pointed, or Decorated style, and the general plan was almost exactly as originally designed. Mr. Myers alluded to a legend as to the stones of the foundation having been removed at night from another spot to the spot on which the church now stands, and said similar legends applied to the churches at West Wycombe, Quainton, and StoweNine-Churches, the latter being in Northamptonshire. With reference to the church at Stowe, it was stated the stones were removed at night from one spot to another nine times, hence the name of Stowe-NineChurches. The chancel of Olney Church appeared,

Mr. Myers said, to have been built first, and in it was a recess which tradition described as having been made to receive the remains of the founder of the church at his special desire. The sedilia and piscina were combined, which was a characteristic type of the churches at Clifton Reynes and Turvey. The gallery was built in 1765 by the subscriptions of the congregation. In Cowper's time it had not been appropri ated to the general congregation, and Cowper himself, whenever he did attend church, it was said, would never sit there, but always in the nave or aisles. Mr. T. Wright, schoolmaster of Olney, author of The Town of Cowper and Chalice of Carden, read an interesting paper on "Matters not generally known concerning the Poet Cowper." The paper had particular reference to certain incidents in the poet's life upon which there was some doubt, and also as to the proper pronunciation of the poet's name, which, the writer contended, should be "Cooper." Cowper's house and the summer-house in which Cowper wrote many of his poems were next visited. The latter is situated in an ordinary garden, in a somewhat poor locality of the town, and is a low quaint little structure with red tiles. As an evidence of the large number of persons by which it has been visited, we might state that the interior walls are literally covered with names, some of which show that the visitors came not only from different parts of the country, but of the world. In connection with the visit of the society to the town, Mr. Wright had caused a temporary museum to be fitted up in a room in the house formerly occupied by Major Lochner, and kindly lent for the occasion by Mrs. Robinson. The room was filled with relics of the time of Cowper, Newton, and others connected with the town, and created a large amount of interest, and great praise is due to Mr. Wright for the labour he had expended in forming the temporary museum. Clifton Reynes Church was the next place of interest visited. The church was stated by Mr. Myers to be of the Early English period, but only a fragment of that was left. The different styles of portions of the edifice were explained, and the beautiful monuments and wooden effigies to the Reynes family described. There is a fine eight-sided font with saints under canopies, some old glass, five bells cast out of three, and the remains of a niche where the sanctus bell used to stand. Time did not permit of a full inspection of the church.

Two meetings were held last term at Cambridge of the resident members of the CAMBRIDGE UNIVERSITY ASSOCIATION OF BRASS COLLECTORS, at which various official business was transacted, and a paper read by the hon. sec., Mr. R. H. Russell, of Trinity College, on the "Brasses in Hornton Church, Bucks." All inquiries regarding membership, which is open to all brass collectors, should be addressed to the secretary.

The members of the LANCASHIRE AND CHESHIRE ANTIQUARIAN SOCIETY visited, on July 19, the newlydiscovered Roman road at Black-a-Moor, Blackburn. When the society heard of the discovery of the road, they immediately communicated with Mr. Bertwistle, and he saw the borough engineer (Mr. J. B.

M'Callum), who kindly consented to open a new section, so that the members might see it on Saturday. This section shows the inclination or curve of the road, and it was discovered that there are three distinct ancient roads. The Roman road is 3 feet from the surface, and above this there is a layer of 8 inches of blue clay and 3 inches of ashes, and there is another layer of 7 inches of clay and 3 inches of ashes. The curious formation of the different sections was noted, then the party proceeded to Ribchester. Here they were received by the vicar, who described to them the interesting features of the church. Mr. Bertwistle afterwards conducted the visitors to the Roman camp of Ribchester, and pointed out the various sections cut in 1888, the positions of the oak shingles and the old gateway, the latter being a very interesting feature from the fact that it is at the corner of the camp, the usual position being at the centre. A new trench, close to the old gateway, was cut in the vicar's garden for the special interest of the visitors, who were given fragments of Roman pottery which had been found there. Some two months ago the vicar made a fortunate find in his garden-a gold Roman coin in an excellent state of preservation-and this was shown to the antiquaries present.

The TRANSACTIONS of the SHROPSHIRE ARCHEOLOGICAL AND NATURAL HISTORY SOCIETY, Second Series, vol. ii., part ii., just issued to members, contains "Gift of the Church of Hanmer to Haghmond Abbey," papers relating to the trained soldiers of Shropshire temp. Elizabeth, and fragment of an early mystery play, probably early fifteenth century, found in the Shrewsbury School Library, etc. The Council are contemplating the preparation of a general index to the first eleven volumes of the society's transactions, and the work is already being carried out by several of the members.

The fourth part of the sixth volume of Records of Buckinghamshire, being the journal of BUCKS ARCHITECTURAL AND ARCHEOLOGICAL SOCIETY, opens with an illustrated article on St. Mary's Church, Long Crendon, by Rev. Dr. Lee, F.S. A., in which the blunder is made of writing of a lefer window." Rev. C. H. E. White, F.S.A., gives a good paper on the "Church and Parish of Great Missenden "; Mr. A. H. Cocks writes on the parish church of All Saints, Great Marlow, with a ground-plan; and Mr. R. S. Downe discourses on High Wycombe Church Bells, the only ring of ten bells in the county. Although exclusively ecclesiastical, it is a good number.

[blocks in formation]
« PreviousContinue »