Page images


In Waghene (Waghen), the Archbishop two car. and six hov. In Vela (Weel), two car. In Tichetone (Tickton), one car. and a half. In Asch (Eske), two car. In Estorch (Storkhill Farm), one car. In Weluuic (Welwick), four car. In Wideton (Wyton), two car. and five bov.

In Uth Hund' (South Hundred).

In Grimeston (Grimston Garth), two car. In Monneuuic (Monkwick), two car. In Otringeha' (Ottringham), six car. and a half.

In Mith H'd' (Middle Hundred).


In Billetone (Bilton), three car. In Santriburtone (Burton Constable), five car. In Neutone (West Newton), three car. Flintone (Flinton), six bov. In Danetorp (Danthorpe), one car. In Witforneuuinc (Withernwick), one car. In Rutha (Routh), one car. and seven bov. In Sutone (Sutton), one car. and one bov. In Sotecote (South Coates), one car. In Dripold (Drypool), one car.

In Nort Hund' (North Hundred).

In Coledun (Great Colden), the Archbishop nine car. In Rison (Rise), half a car. In Siglestone (Sigglesthorne), eight car. In Cotingeuuic (Catwick), one car. In Brantisburtune (Bransburton), one car. In Leuene (Leven), six car.

Heldrenesse (Holderness).

In Brostewic (Burstwick), four car. of land. In Pagele (Paull), one car. In Sutone (Sutton), two car. In Holm (Paull Holme), one car. In Niuueton (Newton), one car. In Nothele (Nuttles), two car. In Scachelinge (Skekling), two car. and two bov. In Camerinton (Camerton), six car. In Torn (Thorngumbald), two car. In Holm (Paull Holme), one car. In Dic (Lelley Dike?), four car. In Sprotele (Sproatley), one car. In Prestune (Preston), cne car. and three bov.

In Chilnesse (Kilnsea), thirteen car. and a half. In Tunestal (Tunstall), seven car. In Rosse (Roos), three car. and the third part of one car. In Heldeuueston (Hilston), two car. In Osteuuic (Owstwick), five car. and the third part of one car. In Asteneuuic (Elsternwick), four car. In Tansterne (Tansterne), one car. In Redeuuic ( ), two car. In Rigeborch (Ringburgh), one car. In Umeltun (Humbleton), one car. In Fostun (Fostonon-the-Wolds), three car. In Flentun (Flinton), three car. and a half. In Wiuestad (Winstead), half a car.

In Widfornessei (Withernsea), eighteen car. and six bov. In Andrebi ( ), two car. In Bortun (Burton Pidsea), seven car. In Danetorp (Danthorpe), two car. and six bov. In Fitlinge (Fitling), six car. In Sprotele (Sproatley), five bov. In Grimeston (Grimston Garth), four car. In Washa' (Waxholme),


six bov. In Tunestal (Tunstall), one car. five bov. In Holun (Hollym), one car. Field?), three bov.

In Thorne (Owthorne?),
In Redmar (Redmere

car. In Roluestun


In Mapletone (Mappleton), thirteen (Rowlston), five car. and two bov. and two parts of one bov. In Arnestorp (Arnold), one car. and a half. In Coldun (Little Colden), three car. In Widforneuuic (Withernwick), six car. Torchilebi (Thirtleby), four car. In Mereflet (Marfleet), two car. In Rute (Routh), three car.


Beverley] one car.

In Widetun (Wyton), four car.
In Coningesbi (Coniston), four
In the same place, St. John [of

In Hornessei (Hornsea), twenty-seven car. In Bortun (Hornsea Burton), two car. In Torp (Southorpe), one car. and a half. In Ristun (Long Riston), two car. and six bov. In Schirelai (North Skirlaugh), six bov. In Schereltun (Skirlington), five car.

In Cletun (Cleeton), twenty-eight car. and one bov. and a half. In Hesinton (Easington), fifteen car. In Gartun (Garton), six car. In Ringeburg (Ringburgh), two car.

In Aldenburg (Aldbrough), nine car. In Niuuetone (East Newton), one car. and a half. In Schirelai (South Skirlaugh), one


In Totele (Thorpe Garth?), two bov. In Wagene (Waghen), seven car. In Melse (Meaux), two car. In Benicol (Benningholme), two car. and five bov. In Rugeton (Rowton), two car. In Schirle (South Skirlaugh), four car. In Duuetorp (Dowthorpe), three car. In Meretone (Marton), two car. In Fossham (Fosham), three car. In Biuuich (Bewick), six car. In Niuuetun (East Newton), one and a half. In Ringeborg (Ringbrough), one Wassha' (Waxholme), two car. and two bov. In Otrengha' (Ottringham), half a car. In Totele (Thorpe Garth ?), five car. and six bov.


car. In

In Caingeha' (Keyingham), eight car. In Otringeha' (Ottringham), four car. In Halsha' (Halsham), six bov. In Neuhuson (Newsome Farm), five car. and two bov. In Rimesuuelle (Rimswell), five car. and two bov. In Washa' (Waxholme), two car. In Redmar (Redmere Field ?), one car. and a half. In Ulmetun (Holmpton), eight car. In Niuueton (Out Newton), five car. In Rison (Rysome Garth), two car. In Torp ( ), three car.

In Lessete (Lisset), three car. In Biuuorde (Beeford) twelve car. and a half. In Dodintone (Dunnington), six car. In Wincheton (Winkton), five car. and two bov. In Chelinge (Nuukeeling),

two car.

In Frotingha' (North Frodingham), twelve car. In Benestun (Barmston), eight car. In Ulfram (Ulrome), two car. and a half. In Chilinge (Nunkeeling), four car. In Begun (Bewholme), five car. and six bov. In Argun (Arram), one car. In Bortun (Brandsburton), twelve car. and a half. In Settun (Seaton), six car.

In Catefoss (Catfoss), six car.

In Catinuuic (Catwick), five car. In Chenucol (

one car. In Riston (Long Riston), three car. In Rison (Rise), five car. and a half. In Wadsande (Wassand), two car. In Haifeld (Great Hatfield), three car. In Widforneuuic (Withernwick), one car. In Lanbetorp (Langthorpe), one car. In Heifeld (Little


Hatfield), one car. [two car. and two parts superscribed]. In Aluuardebi (Ellerby), four car. In Uleburg (Oubrough), two car. In Gagenestad (Ganstead), four car. In Sutone (Sutton), three car. and two bov. In Bileton (Bilton), one car. In Preston (Preston), twelve car. and one bov. In Sotecote (South Coates), one car. Dripold (Drypool), five bov. In Carletun (Carlton), two car. In Meretune (Marton), one car. In Sprotele (Sproatley), four car. In Rosse (Roos), three car. and five bov.





THE ancient Archdeaconry of Richmond, which was erected in the year 1090, originally comprised the Deaneries of Allerdale and Cumberland, Amounderness, Furness, Coupland, Kendal, Lonsdale, Richmond, Catterick and Boroughbridge. In 1127 Allerdale and Cumberland were separated from it on the founding of the see of Carlisle. In 1541 the jurisdiction was transferred to the newly established see of Chester, under which it remained until 1836. The portion of the Archdeaconry which was locally within the County of York consisted almost entirely of the Deaneries of Richmond, Boroughbridge and Catterick, and thus covered a considerable part of the North Riding. The documentary connection between the Archdeaconry and the see of Chester is slight, almost the only records to be found in the Diocesan Registry being Visitation books and a few volumes containing presentations and institutions of the clergy to benefices; the latter, beginning in 1541, have been very irregularly kept, but they have been used as far as possible in annotating this paper.2 The Episcopal Visitations here printed are portions of the two earliest relating to the Archdeaconry now to be found at Chester, and are contained in volumes dealing with the Diocese generally; the first was made in 1548, and the other six years later in Some record of an earlier visitation of the Arch


1 Many of the ancient records of the Archdeaconry, formerly deposited at Richmond, have disappeared, and those which have come down to us are somewhat scattered, such of the wills as remain are at Somerset House, and the Index relating to these Deaneries is now being printed in "The Northern Genealogist,' in the pages of which publication also will be found notes on the records at Ripon

(vol. i., p. 167), together with notes on the Visitation books at York (ii., p. 76), and clerical wills of this period from the Richmond registry. Some of the records are also at York.

2 Whitaker appears to have used these for his lists of clergy in "History of Richmondshire," which, however, are imperfect and incorrect.

deaconry, presumably made soon after its transfer to the See of Chester in 1541, might have been expected, but if made, no traces of it can now be found, although there are fragments of a partial visitation of the new diocese in 1541-2; nor are there any of the triennial visitations which would be due circa 1545 and 1551.3 So far as I am aware, few examples of these lists of clergy with their churchwardens and sidesmen have been printed, but they are interesting in many ways; they may be regarded as muster rolls of the clerical and lay officials who for the time being were entrusted with the working of the ecclesiastical machinery of their parishes which in those days, of course, meant much more than now; to them was committed the duty of presenting to the Bishop and his officials cases of recusancy, neglect or misconduct of the clergy, neglect of the fabric of the church, offences against character and morals, and indeed from a perusal of their presentments it is difficult to say what did not come within their cognizance; they were thus the initiators of the proceedings which culminated in the Consistory Courts. There are at Chester some few records of the presentments relating to these Deaneries, but as, on the abolition of the office of Archdeacon in 1541, a Commissary was appointed by the Bishop of Chester who exercised extensive jurisdiction, such cases would be dealt with in his Court at Richmond, and the records of the same must now be sought for at Ripon. The Visitation lists here printed side by side+ relate to a period which is perhaps one of the most interesting in the ecclesiastical history of our country. crowded upon event, change succeeded change with startling rapidity between the Visitations of 1548 and 1554. The national character of the Church, for which Cranmer laboured, had been manifested by the translation of the Litany into English (1529) and its use in churches fifteen years later, and this departure had been followed, in 1547, by an order that the Epistle and Gospel were to be read at each celebration of the Holy Communion. in "the tongue understanded of the people." The First Prayer Book of Edward VI. was prepared in 1548 and used

Lists of the clergy of several of the Cheshire and Lancashire Deaneries in 1541-2, have recently appeared in a volume of the Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire by Mr. W. Fergusson


Irvine, to whom my thanks are due for assistance and information.

It may perhaps be well to mention that they do not thus appear in the originals, which are in separate books.

« PreviousContinue »