« PreviousContinue »
any interval in the arcades between nave and chancel. The east window contains ancient stained glass rather mutilated. The altar neat, the pulpit new, of Gothic woodwork. There is one flowered capital on the south-west respond of the chancel. The chancel is stalled, and the interior neat, well cared for, and further improvement proposed, especially by the demolition of the west gallery. The nave is ceiled, the chancel has flat original roof with panelling and bosses. The font octagonal and plain.
All SAINTS, ALMONDBURY.
January 18th, 1855.—A good church chiefly Perpendicular, consisting of nave with aisles and chancel, with chapels, western tower and south porch. The roofs are sloping and covered with stone slate. The tower of fair outline, much resembling that at Kirkheaton, but having the belfry windows of three lights. The windows are mostly of a sort common in this region, of three lights, merely cinquefoiled, without tracery. The nave is lofty and the arcades good, each of five tall pointed arches with octagonal columns having moulded capitals. The clerestory windows squareheaded, of three lights. The aisles of the nave are lofty, but rather narrow. The roof of the nave is a good flat one of wood, with panelling and bosses, and on a cornice beneath it runs a black-letter inscription all round, which the darkness of the day prevented from being read. The chancel arch is very wide, springing from channelled octagonal piers. The nave is pewed and has a gallery with a good organ. The chancel is very long and fortunately free from pews. It opens to each of its aisles which are private chapels ; to the south chapel by two late Perpendicular arches, with channelled octagonal pier, marking a late period. The east part of this aisle forms a vestry, divided from the chancel by a wall. There is only a large arch to the north chapel, and one smaller depressed one. This aisle is full of monuments, and formed into a pew. These aisles or chapels are low. The chancel extends in length considerably beyond these chapels. There are windows to the north and south of it which may possibly be earlier, apparently two lancet lights beneath a pointed arch and containing some fine stained glass. The east end presents the remarkable feature of three east windows which
seem to be Perpendicular and rather coarse. The centre one of three lights each cinquefoiled, the lateral ones with plain unfoliated mullions. In these are portions of good ancient stained glass with remains of inscriptions. The altar is of Gothic woodwork. On the south is a plain piscina with shelf and circular orifice. The font is poor, on octagonal bowl, but with fine lofty wood cover of tabernaclework.
At the east end of the clerestory is an arched opening, as for a sanctus bell.
ST. ALKELDA, GIGGLESWICK. August 17th, 1846.--A Perpendicular church, of the type common in this part of Yorkshire, comprising nave and chancel, each with aisles, and not architecturally separated, west tower and south porch. The parapets are moulded and without battlement, except the eastern gable. The nave has on each side an arcade of four pointed arches with octagonal pillars ; the chancel has two of similar character. The nave has a clerestory with square-headed late windows; the chancel is lower than the nave and has no clerestory. The windows of the aisles are square-headed of three lights. The tower arch is pointed and cut by a gallery. The chancel has an east window of six lights, and in the south aisle of the chancel are some of four lights, all squareheaded and labelled. The roofs are flat and low, and further injured by modern ceiling. There is a good pulpit with wood carving, A.D. 1660, and there is an inscription on the reading pew.
The font has a small octagonal bowl with a fine lofty Gothic wood cover suspended with a pulley, the gift of Reverend Ingrain, Vicar, 1820. The tower is low and plain, embattled, with four pinnacles, has a stair turret at the south-east, and two-string courses, all plain Perpendicular. The belfry windows of two lights, under which are single three-foiled openings, also a west doorway and window of three lights. There are three bells.
ALL SAINTS, ILKLEY. May 9th, 1862.—The plan is nave with north and south aisles, chancel with north aisle, west tower and south porch.
The whole has been lately renovated, the chancel enlarged and aisle added, and the interior fitted with neat pitch pine
The south wall of the nave and all the chancel may be pronounced new. The nave arcades, originally of three arches, are now extended to a fourth eastward, all uniform and pointed, with octagonal pillars having capitals
, of which one is ribbed. The clerestory has windows only on the south, which are square-headed, of four lights, and of rather a domestic character. The north aisle has some late squarc-headed windows of three lights without foils. At the west end of the south aisle is an original square-headed Decorated window of two lights. The other windows are reproductions of plain Perpendicular ones of three lights, merely trefoiled. There is a plain piscina in the south aisle, near what was formerly its eastern termination, and near it a sepulchral arch with a finely preserved effigy of a crosslegged knight in chain armour, with a shield bearing the arms: “Fretty, a canton in dexter chief," and a lion at the feet. The roofs are new. At the west end of the north aisle remains an enclosed pew with rather fine wood-screen work, bearing date 1633. The chancel arch is rather new, of four-centred shape on concave octagonal shafts. The chancel is stalled for the choir, has a pointed arch to the north aisle in which is the organ.
The sacrarium is neat. The east window of doubtful character, and filled with mediocre stained glass. The north-east window Decorated, square
headed, of two lights. There is a piscina on the south, low and plain, having a circular basin, also a curious palimpsest brass, with inscription of the 16th century upon the reverse side of writing of the 15th century, but in an imperfect state. The doorway within the south porch seems to be Early English, has two orders of toothed moulding. The roofs are covered with stone flags. The tower is Perpendicular embattled, with four crocketed pinnacles, belfry windows of two lights, corner buttresses, of which that on the south-east has a small niche, west window of three lights. The font is a new one, octagonal and plain. In the churchyard are three ancient shafts of crosses, sculptured with knots or scrolls and rude figures and foliage.
DOMESDAY BOOK FOR YORKSHIRE.
Translated by ROBERT H. SKAIFE.
(CONTINUED FROM P. 312.)
In so the geld of the city of York there are eighty-four carucates of land, which, T. R. E., rendered, each of them, as much geld as one house in the city. Of these, the Archbishop has six car. in s the ferm of his hall.82
In Osboldeuuic (Osbaldwick), the Archbishop six car.
In Mortune (Murton), four car.
In Stochetun (Stockton-on-the-Forest), the Archbishop three car. In the same place, three car.
In Heuuorde (Heworth), three car. In the same place, Earl Alan three car.85
In Fuleforde (Fulford), Earl Alan ten car.
In Cliftune (Clifton), the Archbishop eight car. and a half. In the same place, Earl Alan nine car, and a half. In the same place, the Archbishop thirty-seven acres of meadow.86
In Roudeclif (Rawcliffe), Sarford had two car. place, the King one car.87
In Ouertune (Overton), Earl Alan five car.
In the same
In Scheltun (Skelton), the Archbishop three car. and a half. In the same place, the King two car. and six bovates. In the same place, Earl Alan two car. and six bov.
In Mortun (Murton, in Galtres. Lost), Archil had three car.
80 Orig., fo. 379a, col. 1.-Fac. Edit., page lxxxi.
That is, "belonging to."
82 See vol. xiii., page 325.
83 These three car. belonged to Earl Alan. See vol. xiii., page 325.
84 These three car. were held by Ralph Pagenel. See vol. xiii., page 325.
Torfin 7 and Turchil held
85 See vol. xiii., page 325, where six car. are assigned to Hugh, son of Baldri, and three car. to the Count of Mortain.
86 See vol. xiii., page 326.
87 See vol. xiii., page 326, where it is stated that Torfin held one car. and Turchil two car.
Westreding (WEST RIDING).
Siraches Wapentac (Skyrack Wapentake).
In Otelai (Otley), a manor, Pouele (Poole), Gisele (Guisele PENTAC Hauocesorde (Hawksworth), and the other Hauochesord
), Beldone (Baildon), Mersintone (Menston), Burge (Burley) [and] Illecliue (Ilkley), the Archbishop sixty car. and
Item, in Gereburg Wapent' ( wapentake) there are th berewicks in Otelai (Otley) :-Stube (Stubbing Farm), Fern N lie (Farnley), Mideltun (Middleton), Timbe (Little Timb Dentun (Denton), Estone ( ), Cliftun (Clifton) [DIC) WAR Bicherun (
Archbishop [has] these.
). Among the whole, twenty [car.].
In Ritun (Rigton), three car. In Wartle (Weardley), four Half of these is Gospatric's.
In Chipesch (Kippax) and Ledestun (Ledston), Alret (Allerton Bywater), Prestun (Preston), Suillintun (Swillingto in Gereforde (Garforth), Sceltun (Skelton), Caldecotes (C cotes), Coletun (Colton), Ossetorp (Austhorpe), Manest ACLE H (Manston), Bereuuich (Barwick), Chidal (Kiddal), Potert (Potterton), P'lintun (Parlington) [and] Chipetun (Gipton), I [has] among the whole sixty-nine car. and a half of land.
In Gereford (Garforth), Ilbert seven car.
In Suillintun (Swillington), the same Ilbert nine car.
In Scipene (Shippen House) and Stretun (Sturton Grang
In Chidal (Kiddal) and P'tilintun (Parlington), Ilbert three cr
In Halletun (Halton), Ilbert six car.
In Sacrofft (Seacroft), Ilbert eight car.
In Tornoure (Thorner). Ilbert eight car.
In Bretebi (Birkby Hill) and Watecroft (
In Alretun (Chapel? Allerton), Ilbert six car.
In Cipetun (Gipton) and Coletun (Colton), Ilbert four car. and
In Scadeuuelle (Shadwell), the King six car.
In Neuhusu' (Temple Newsam), Ilbert eight car.
In Wodehusu' (Wothersome), the King four car.
ss That is, "belonging to."